Around the world #1 The Best Cities In The world! Toronto (15 picks)

in #travel7 years ago

I see myself as a city person and really enjoy discovering cities and learn more about their vibe!
Always when I travel at one point I just have to get back to Amsterdam because I like it so much.
Today I decided that I will introduce “My cities” to my blog.
In this series I will tell you about my time in a certain city and tell you where to go and what not to miss.
This series will include my top 15 cities I ever visited.

World city toronto 1.png

Toronto, New York, Sydney, Melbourne, Jakarta, Tokyo, Moscow, Chicago, Barcelona, Marrakech, Medellin, Paris, London, Hong Kong and Auckland

Today we will start with a city that is very dear to me and the city I fulfilled my dream in Toronto, Canada.

WHY Toronto?
Why not? Okay that’s just childish maybe, but if you ask me every big city has a lot to offer. I think you should visit Toronto because there are so many different neighborhoods and its one of the most multi-cultural cities in in the World.
There are some great parks, there is great food to discover, the City is sports minded and just outside Toronto there is great nature waiting for you.

World city toronto 2.png
“Niagara falls just a few hours away”

First impression
When I left Australia I decided to move to Toronto after my Working Holiday visa got approved. First thing I did was buying a season seat once I received the great news. When I finally arrived in the city to me it came across as any other mayor North America city, what I do noticed right from the start was how friendly everybody was.
The other thing I really liked was that the city is easy assessable. Even by walking you could cover most of the Downtown area.
So from day one I already knew for sure I would love the time I would have it the city.

Highlights
Toronto has a lot of highlights I decided to name a few you absolutely have to see once you are there.
Of course the CN Tower is a great option to go up, but to me the following list is more impressive and fun if you want to learn more about the city.

Toronto Island
When its summer make sure to go to the Island it’s a fun ferry ride to get there and it’s just really relaxing to go there, with some great option to bike, run or walk around.
And just look at that view of the city!

World city toronto 3.png

St Laurence Market
The market brings all the cultures together with great food and stalls to get your groceries. I went once a week to enjoy a bite to eat for lunch and was able to try some real nice food. It’s also the only place I know off where they sell Milka Chocolate! So what are you waiting for? Even better its indoor as well!

World city toronto 4.png

Kensington market
This area witch was located just five minutes walking from my apartment is a very free spirit place. Street Art, Hippy vibe, laidback people and unique vintage shopping make this a fun place to hang out. They even host carless Sundays in summer a place to visit for sure!

World City Toronto 5.png

Best restaurant
Because I knew I would not live in Toronto forever I decided to experience as much as I could, as mentioned I really love all the districts they have in the city and every district has it nice restaurants but for me in this review I just have to name two restaurant I really enjoyed.

Salad King
Cheap, downtown, fast, that are they key words for this Thai restaurant located just off Dundas Square, they use long tables so if you eat there don’t be surprised to have other people at the same table, it’s a great way to interact and the food is real good! Love the Curries there.
You can have a decent meal for $10 dollar, so don’t wait any longer and just visited this lovely place, I know I did around 50 times when I was living there.

Copacabana Brazilian Steakhouse
This restaurant is my favorite restaurant in the world and I am willing to Toronto only for this restaurant if I could (okay and visit the Raptors while there).
I suggested this restaurant to many friends and all of them absolutely love this place! Its not cheap but the meat and the way of serving are jus of the charge.

World city Toronto 6.png

There are servers walking around with the best meat you will ever taste and you can pick and eat as much as you can.

The Downside
Like every big city its expensive to life so that’s something I can name for all the cities I will post about. The only thing that was really hard on me the Canadian winter. People will stay insight and everybody struggles because of the cold, they make up for it in Summer. Summer is great and the city is just great.

But again that winter!

world city toronto 7.png

Hope you like my first city review! What’s your favorite city?
Keep your eyes out for the next city, coming soon!

Thanks Toronto for having me for a year and a half I will never forget! hope to be back one day

Sort:  

Great post and I love your pictures! Just upvote it :).

Congratulations! In addition to the vote from @randowhale, you also received a vote from @randowhaletrail!

Yea, our winters have been compared to Siberian winters. What year was it? They vary a lot. In Toronto, the winters are still much softer than...Montreal or Quebec. I like your pick of Kensington Market.

Thanks for stopping by, I lived there 2012-2014., i know Toronto winters are not that bad for Canadian standards, went to Winnipeg a few times in winter as well, thats to much! Queen street West is fun to, used to work there

This post has received a 1.40 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @heyitshaas.

This post has received a 0.74 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @heyitshaas. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Great post! I like the last picture eapecially (:.
I'm looking forward for Marrakech

did you book already? I loved it there great value for money and such a different world!

I'm afraid I didn't make it yet. Because I already booked flight ticket for next vacation and it is not Marakkech. But that is okay since you will show it there for readers soon. (:

omg, I have never been to any of the 15 cities that you mentioned! Toronto look amazing!

Really loved it there when I was living there, hope you like the rest of the post as well, next up New York.

Congratulations @heyitshaas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Makes me really want to go there !

Toronto is truly a world class city! Thanks for mentioning us. Also, thanks for the upvote on my post! If you're ever in the city don't hesitate to hit me up...I can give you some of the local insider tips on where to eat and drink. This wonderful city has so much to offer!
edit: sorry didnt realize you're an ex-local yourself

hahah thanks! i just lived there for 1,5 years so you know more hidden gems maybe. Really enjoyed my time there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65