#21 NBA Basketball Surprises Week 23 (Haas News)

in #travel6 years ago

The best performances Weekly! It’s Sunday and like every Sunday it’s time to discuss the NBA Surprises.

Welcome back to my weekly list! Can’t believe it’s week 22 already and the play-offs are just weeks away! There are so many teams tanking really bad! But luckily there are teams giving it them all to make sure the end up in a good seed for the play-offs or even trying to just squeeze into the play-offs! Who will just make it and who will be disappointed and just miss out? In a few weeks we all know!
Like every week I would like to share my take on the most impressive performances and players that surprised me.
I always take in consideration the teams play and winning streak, playing well individually but your team is not does not earn you a spot to the Haas picks list! This week’s list is dominated by the East! Boston, Philadelphia and Detroit are all on nice winning streaks when it really matters.
Here are my top performances.

NBA Ball.png

Quin Cook
Can injuries by a good thing sometimes? I was really lucky I could watch all the starts of the Warriors when I was there a month ago, nut as we all know the last weeks they are battling injuries and lost all the star power.
It means they will be second in the West and don’t have home court when they play the Rockets but it also means they found a reliable back-up point with a lot of confidence in Quin Cook.
Sometimes a opportunity is all a player needs to show his potential, fair enough the Warriors lost many games in the absence of the stars but having a player ready for the play-offs in Quin could be very important in the offseason.

I case you missed his week, scoring 17 points on average with 5 assist just great numbers, I am super happy for him after his time in the G-league it looks like he secured his NBA future, maybe not with the Warriors long term but there will be teams interested.

NBA week 23 pic 2.png

J J Redick
The 76ers are really showing great basketball and moved into a half game behind the Cavaliers, currently they are on a 9 game winning streak! Last week Belinelli made it to the Haas list. This week I just have to pick a Sixer again, it if very hard to choose because they have such balanced play, so there are multiple players that deserve it Saric? Fultz? Redick? I think I have to go for Redick who made the list before, Scoring 20 points on average this week and as mentioned in previous post his leadership is key!
Very good to see Fultz back on the court as well would be interesting to see how this young team does in the play-offs, hope Eimiid will can come back sooner as well.

NBA week 23 pic 3.png

Terry Rozier
Like the Warriors the Celtics miss players as well, but they are still battle ling for the best seed in the East. The beat team they have to beat in the Suns and Kings but had key wins in games against the Jazz and especially Raptors.
The Celtics are on a six game winning streak even without Irving, this week I want to give a small shout out to Marcus Morris who had a 20 and 25 point game but the selection of this week goes to Terry Rozier, he scored 33,21,16 and 13 points, witch really helped the Celtics winning. I still think no team in the East can challenge the Western Conference winner but it will be fun to watch who makes it out of the East.

NBA week 23 pic 4.png

Andre Drummond
Too little too late for Detroit? I do believe so, they are too far behind to sneak into the 8th seed in the East but they are playing great Basketball lately witch they can continue to do next season and really make some noise I hope. This week Andre Drummond was a rebounding beast again, collecting 58 rebounds in 3 games and scoring 61 points to make it even more impressive

NBA week 23 pic 5.png

Gerald Green
The way I see it is that we all know the stars can play for their teams and come play-offs they will step up and really need to show their potential, but many times role players make the real difference if you can find something extra that can be the difference between winning or losing a series. I still believe Gerald Green was a very important pick-up for the Rockets, would he see much action in an close series? Don’t think so, can he win a game for you when they really need something, for sure!
This week he scored in double figures every game and he can really give instant offence at times!

NBA week 23 pic 6.png

Hope you liked this week’s picks, I will be back next week! How is your team doing? Please don’t tell me they are tanking? Few more weeks until the play-offs!

Sort:  

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @upmyvote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-04-05-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Nice! thanks for letting me know, just upovted their curationpost

Love the post-

Terry Rozier has impressed me the most as of late. I always knew he was an elite defender since his time at Lousville, but the offensive skill was underestimated. I always think the best way to measure a young player is by what current Hall Of Famers in the league think of them.

CRIS.jpg

Would love for you to check out my page sometimes, I focus exclusively on Hoops Talk. Heres a link to some of my previous posts.

https://steemit.com/nba/@toddcast/the-3-best-glue-guys-in-the-nba

https://steemit.com/nba/@toddcast/re-drafting-the-2017-nba-class

Like what you are doing, dont know how I missed your account, do follow some other people that post about NBA but some off them already quite again. keep up the hard work, enjoy the play-offs!
Followed

Point of view is so good

Thanks! I am trying, Who is your favorite?

Interesting updates
Golden State Warriors all the way.

Would like to see that! just visited two games of them, really played great, Had a season seat when i lived in Toronto, so would love to see them win it to, but they are not strong enough I think

Yes i agree with you and if they continue in their present form i don't think they would make it they really have to step up their game.

I would not be surprised if the Raptors or Warriors get bounced in the first round.

Warriors should be fine in the first round, Raptors always struggle in the Play-offs, so could be

Hi Heyitshaas,

I would like to address you as you are quite an experienced sports blogger.

My name is Andrei, I am a sports journalist and part of Scorum project team. Here at Scorum we are now developing a new sports blogging platform. The core idea of it is that authors will get cryptocurrency for quality posts.

What do you think on this? Would you be interested to write for us?

Here is a post on our platform, where you can learn more on the project: https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@scorum.community/attention-sports-writers-join-the-bold-new-sports-media-platform.

It is important for us to create a community of journalists and bloggers in order to make our site as convenient and user-friendly as possible for authors.

If you have any questions, I'll be happy to answer) You can contact me at [email protected]

Best regards,

Andrei

Thanks for reaching out to me!
Saw you even have Mozgov in your advisory board, tried contacting you on the website provided, but didn't work. Can you use Steemchat? I would be interested to write for you, lets connect and talk about it. Lets keep in touch, thanks for stopping by. Next weeks post in only days away

Hi, great to hear that! To follow the project as an author you can add yourself into the authors list: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdeIzSehPRI9uaDfkVJ9Bz9Jvsp1IS1cKuS1SqyJwK0zVvzaQ/viewform
In order to follow the development you can also join the Telegram chat for authors: https://t.me/scorumAuthors
There you'll know all the news of the project until its launch in May.
Thank you very much for your interest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61888.55
ETH 3400.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50