✈EARLY SUMMER ROAD TRIP 4/5: CYPRUS - KOURION

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I never heard about the archeological site of Kourion before to come to Cyprus. Maybe you have not either. But you should! Because what I discovered up there on that hill facing the sea is amazing and a rival to all the ancient city states of mainland Greece, Troy, Egypt and the Middle East.

According Herodotus, the antique kingdom of Kourion was founded by colons from the Greek city of Argos. However, from that time nothing much remains, and the oldest parts you will see in the area belong to the Macedonians kings who swept through the island after the conquests of Alexander and integrated the island into the Hellenistic world.

I went to that beach afterwards. Splendid!

The site of Kourion is huge and, had it not been for the scorching sun, I would gladly have spent five hours there walking around those remains of a once formidable and prosperous city, which, as you can see, had an enviable control over the sea and over the fertile plains below.

Entrance of the site

As soon as you pay your ticket and enter the site, you are confronted by a huge canopy, which protects the visitors and the ruins of the so-called House of Eustolios.

It dates from the early Roman period (IIIrd century BC) and Eustolios seemed the master of the house, as indicated by a mosaic inscription, and his abode had nothing humble: it had its own drainage and sewage system and was richly adorned with mosaics representing christian and pagan symbols at the same time.

As soon as you go out, you will be attracted by the Amphitheater. A small one, by all account, which can host 3000 persons. However, it has almost nothing left from the original amphitheater, destroyed at regular intervals (like many buildings here) by the earthquakes which rock the island periodically.

Then, it's up to you. As you can see, the site is rich. Kourion under the Macedonian and Roman rules was a self-sufficient city, with its own agora, baths, stores and houses.

Due to the earthquakes and the socio-political changes, Kourion changed a lot over the ages, hence the christian basically. You can still see its foundations and walls. It proudly faced the sea.

And its ground was covered with rich and intricate mosaics.

The baths were donated by the same Eustolios as before. You can see them there: the flat bricks pillars supported the ground of the baths.

At the far end of the site, you can also find the House of the Gladiators. It was maybe really a house to train gladiators, or maybe just a private house decorated with the striking mosaics of gladiators.

All in all, an amazing place which you have to see absolutely if you like History and right after that you can hit the beach :)

And with that visit, it was the end of my days in Cyprus and (almost) time to go home - but not without a stop first in Sofia!

Sort:  

nice place. I hope to be able to visit him one day ...

Oh, what a pity, I missed this place. I love everything that is connected with the ancient Rome and especially with the gladiators.

I have never heard of this place before ... but I know ... on my next trip to Cyprus I will visit this place.
The historical buildings and amphitheater interest me so much.
I visited amphitheater in Spain, Italy and Greece ... it's fantastic ... I can not miss this!
Your travelogues are gigantic!!!

Thanks @bellaibiza! I cannot recommend enough to visit this place, in autumn or spring preferably because the heat is exhausting :)

Thanks for the tip ... yes in Cyprus it can be very warm in the summer ... think the fall would be ideal.
I would be happy to learn more about your homeland!
I think your country also has a lot of interesting places.
Have a great day 🤗

Well done @herverisson! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Serbia vs Brazil
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
Do you want to know your current ranking? Read this post

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Do you like the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Wow, an international man. 😂

Something that catches my attention a lot of your photos is that I always see everything completely solitary, your photos transmit beauty but a lot of tranquility or it will be because I am used to living in a completely messy and dangerous country.

Well, it's true that in this case I was lucky to wake up and arrive there early. By the time I left, the first buses started to arrive and my photos would have been spoiled by scores of tourists everywhere ^^ I'm glad i'm an early bird.

ah ok.... bueno como dicen en mi país... el que madruga dios lo ayuda, o el que madruga coge agua clara. 😜

That trip seems more like a school tour hahaha is a joke! But I must admit that the photos are amazing, and the architectures are the same thanks for sharing that excellent job :D

haha yeah, i'm like a teacher showing you the best around :) Thanks!

you give a chance to travel with you through your photos;)

I'm glad you enjoy the travel with me :)

beautiful and so historical place,i hope you did lots of fun there sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76