What I Learned From Travelling Solo

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Despite me moving and starting from scratch TWICE in two different countries, I still don’t consider myself brave.


image


Proof of this is that it’s only been this last couple of years that I tried my hand at travelling alone. I’ve read about people going on solo trips numerous times and it all seems so fascinating but the thought of facing strangers, exploring strange places and just dealing with the unknown by myself have always deterred me from doing it sooner.

But I eventually found the err..balls to do it and I thought of sharing some of the things I learned from those experiences:

  • Have a plan

    I wanted to do a lot of YOLO-ing on my first solo trip – you know, because I finally did it! I was brave enough to do it so to heck will all those itineraries and schedules. I wanted to just be cool and roll with whatever comes. Big mistake.

    Yes, it's a time to relax and chill but since you’re travelling alone, it’s best to have a plan A, or B or C for that matter. Keep yourself busy because it’s not all the time that you’d have new friends to talk to or hang out with. Research as much as you can about the place and have an idea of what it has to offer. You don't want to get to a point when you’re already on the trip and THEN start searching for stuff to do or worse, just give up and be tempted to just hang around in your hotel room ordering room service lol.

  • Don't try to do it all

    It's very tempting to squeeze in everything that a place has to offer. I remember trying to fit in all the “tourist spots” in my itinerary just to check in to as many places as possible and have lots of photos for posting on Facebook and Instagram (ahem!).

    It can be okay for some, but personally, I came to realize that rushing away to hop on to the next spot takes away all the fun and would leave me feeling like I’ve not really experienced it at all. Choose your itinerary well, and know when to hop in and out and when to just slow down, breathe and really, TRULY experience it.


![image]()
  • Don’t broadcast yourself

    Try to blend in – don’t make yourself stand out by wearing the typical tourist getup. This is an obvious safety reason, but it will also help you avoid getting charged exorbitant fees by local vendors and people hawking their services. If you really don’t look like the locals, at least try to look like you’re a long-time expat living in that country.

    Also, it’s okay to be wary sometimes. I loved making new friends from my travels but try not to make yourself too vulnerable. Unless it’s absolutely necessary, don’t tell people that you’re a solo traveler.

  • Invest in a good pair of shoes

    This is such a simple aspect of a trip that it gets neglected most of the time (for us girls at least). Being a girly girl, I love having nice shoes to go with my OOTDs but I’d often get sore feet and even blisters at the end of the day. I’ve learned to invest in a good pair that would go well with most of the outfits I’ve brought and my feet have been thanking me since then! Oh and having just one good pair that I bring along on trips definitely helps me to pack light.

  • Don’t be a loner

    And I mean that in the kindest way possible. Yes, you are travelling alone to experience things solo and get to know yourself more but it doesn’t mean you have to be literally 24/7 alone.

    On my first solo trip, I booked accommodations in a hostel (all-girls room because I am not THAT adventurous) – something I have never done before. I wanted to push myself into being in a situation where I had no choice but to interact with people and it was the best decision ever. Not only did I hear fascinating stories and gained new perspective from these strangers, I also found life-long friends along the way!

Sort:  

Well written...nice look...

Thank you very much :)

Such a powerful messages. You only live once so get out there and enjoy it and live it. I think your very brave for trying new things and really putting yourself out there. It's scary at first but once you do it your whole aspect of the world changes and who you are and who you will become greatly changes and I believe for the better. You will have countless stories of what you did with your life and I bet along the way helped changed others lives for the better. Great tips for someone experienced for anyone who wishes to tackle life and try new things.

Thank you! That is so true, it took me a lot of thinking before I finally had the guts to explore a new country by myself.

I agree on the shoes 😉
I bought a pair once and wore then on our trip to hk the next day.regretted it bad.another tip- break them in first .

Haha, yes! Definitely need to break them in first, and not just once or twice! l

Going to explore the world on my own soon! thnx

Would love to read about your adventures!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hellosusu from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thank you!!

I'm traveling solo pretty much all the time and I'm quite a loner but I enjoy it. That doesn't make me anti-social because sometimes I'll mix and meet people around if I want to.

Yup, it's definitely nice to at least open yourself up to talking and mingling with others once in a while!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63