Take Calculated Risks to Reap the Rewards: How Heidi Travels

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

I'm gearing up for possibly one of the most risky trips I've done yet so it seems the timing is perfect for me to cover this topic.
One of my goals in life is to see the world- the whole world, the good the bad the ugly and the beautiful. I'm starting off with a flight to South Africa this week and spending a month exploring all along the East coast and then heading to Egypt by the end of September. I'm incredibly excited for this trip because I'm going where elephants, giraffes, hippopotamuses, lions, monkeys, whales, sharks and so many other amazing animals are found.

I've got some crazy ideas for this trip which I'm going to keep to myself until I reveal them to you when I post, but no worries, it's going to be epic and you're coming along for the ride.

Traveling is amazing, especially if you're able to come back from the trip without any major injuries, incidents or robberies that can leave you with a bad taste in your mouth. But I've got to add that even a bad experience can turn positive if you're able to learn from it.

This is how I mentally and physically prepare for a trip abroad

  • Don't be Scared to Bargain & Bribe In my own experience and from the stories of my other well-traveled friends I know that many taxi drivers/merchants are open to bargain and most security guards will take a bribe if you want to get special access to a location, but the price has to be right and you have to be confident my friend.

  • Avoid Eating Street Food This is just my own rule because I'm paranoid of getting Delhi Belly/Bubble Guts in a foreign country. A great tip is to eat where the locals eat, however even this can get you into trouble (concerning street food) because often times the locals are quite acclimated to the food, and you are not. I like to eat at restaurants located a couple blocks away from the main tourists spots, I go where the locals go because it costs less and tastes better. For added peace of mind I suggest traveling with charcoal tablets. If you start losing confidence with the quality of your last meal and things are going south and you're experiencing cold sweats, getting a bit dizzy or just general pain I strongly suggest popping a couple charcoal tablets in your mouth and washing it down with lots of water and wait for the storm to pass.

  • Learn About the Water Find out what the situation is with the tap water. As provided in a comment listed below this post here is a helpful website: http://isthewatersafetodrink.com/ I always go for bottled water anyway to avoid any fluoride. I suggest buying a large 3L bottle since it should last you one day- if you're drinking the daily recommended amount ;) If you're going on a true adventure and you're not sure you'll have access to even tap water, you can easily purchase a LifeStraw from www.amazon.com for around $20. It's compact and light and could easily save your life as long as you're near a body of water. Be warned that it isn't to be used for drinking water from the ocean.

  • Check www.lonelyplanet.com I look over the survival guide for the location to which I'm traveling because they give great tips for what to expect to pay, specific safety tips and health concerns.

  • Educate Yourself on Current Events I check www.zerohedge.com for any news concerning my new destination. This site in my opinion gives the best unbiased information regarding foreign countries compared to the mainstream media. You need to be able to connect the dots between certain events and the possible repercussions of such events. For example, I have a layover in Istanbul. Considering the recent military coup attempt and now Turkey has recently launched airstrikes in Syria, I know that might mean some form of retaliation, no one can predict the future but I'm aware of the situation and will handle myself accordingly.

  • Read Reviews of Hostels/Hotels and Check the Location Before I book a bed/room anywhere I'm sure to read the reviews of the location. I'm sure to pay attention to any security concerns- if it's a hostel they must have a secured locker available for my bag. I also go on google maps and access the street view so I'll have a better idea of my surroundings and will be less likely to get lost.

  • Stay in Shape There's many reasons for people to go to the gym, but for me I stay in shape so I know that I'll be prepared for ANYTHING. I hate cardio but I do it in case I need to suddenly run a mile in flip flops with my heavy backpack strapped on. I lift weights so I have the confidence in knowing that I'm not some weakling. I also review youtube videos showing self-defense moves and practice them on my friends- which is always fun.

  • Be Smart with Money I always withdraw cash from the ATMs in the airport. The exchange fee is almost always less than if you were to go to the foreign exchange desk. I withdraw as much as I can to avoid having to make repeat trips to the ATM. I also don't keep all of the cash in one place. I fold some smaller bills and keep them in a couple different pockets and put a few in my wallet. I never keep all of my money in my wallet in case of a pickpocket or straight up robbery. I also never EVER count the money in the wide open for the whole world to see how much I'm carrying with me. Be discreet and quick about it if you absolutely have to count what you have in public, otherwise get that all sorted out while in your room.

  • Have Eyes like a Hawk Be aware. Take note of the people around you and the status of your belongings. Be sure that your zippers are zipped. I always keep a secure grasp on my backpack/purse with my hands. Especially being a female who often travels alone I am acutely aware of anyone walking behind me. I take care not to venture down dark deserted streets/alleys. I pretty much avoid walking anywhere alone at night altogether if I can help it.

  • Try Not to Look TOO Much Like a Tourist Yes I am a blonde female who clearly looks either American/Australian/Eurpoean, so it's pretty much a given that I'm a tourist when I go to South America or in this case, Africa. But I never wear makeup, jewelry or particularly nice clothes when I travel. I'm not trying to draw any more attention to myself than my blonde hair already achieves. I keep my camera in my backpack as I walk around and when I see something I want to photograph that's when I discreetly take it out and keep the strap on my shoulder with the camera tucked under my arm. I never have it dangling around my neck- that just screams "I'm a tourist".

  • Put All Valuables in Carry-On Bag Very important one. Yes checked baggage is great, you leave it with the airline and don't worry about it until it's getting spit out of the spinning carousel. Question- have you ever had a bag lost? Have you ever opened your checked bag to see a friendly note from the TSA that it's been searched. These are the reasons to always keep your valuables like cameras, laptops, electronics, money and jewelry with you at all times. A friend of mine flew to Bali and on the way her bag was "lost" and was returned to her over a week later and her GoPro was missing.

Sort:  

Nice thank you for sharing @heiditravels I have loved hearing about all your travel adventures since I joined Steemit in July! You are true Steemit inspiration!

All the best for your trip—no risk, no return!

Another tip: Check out http://isthewatersafetodrink.com/ to see if you can drink the tap water in cities around the world while you travel. It's a site a I made a while back for travelers just like you.

You are beautiful. Lovely form on the pull ups.

All really good tips. I am sure you will be perfectly safe. You would be surprised, the media tend to blow things up (no pun intended) for the sake of ratings.

The world is a beautiful, beautiful place, and there are a lot more uplifting stories out there, than there are negative/sad stories.

Don't forget, on September 11, 2001 about ~20 people brought down those towers. Hundreds were running up the stairs to help. Thousands, millions mourned together, and rebuilt in the aftermath. I will take those numbers any day.

It's just that the only ones that sell newspapers, are sad stories.

Let's change that. I look forward to seeing more of your posts.

#upliftingnews #turnoffyourtv

Many good advices here, some of these were hard lessons to me.
Thanks for sharing and good luck in your travels!

Ok... @heidtravels Nice Workout clip:) Very informative post thanks for the traveling tips, cheers!

i hope i can see all the world in the future, keep it up @heiditravels you're an inspiration for much people 8]

Couple of tips which takes practice, but can make a huge difference:

  1. Always know your escape routes (primary and secondary are fine), this includes at restaurants, hotels, shopping areas, etc. Any enclosed places. Look for them when you enter and burn them into your mind.
  2. Have your serious don't-mess-with-me game-face practiced. Works wonders when people you don't want, approach you. A smile might be natural, but game-face tells them you are not an easy victim. Stand tall, turn your shoulder towards them, put your hand out in the 'halt' position, and look them in the eyes and state 'no' in local language
  3. Know a few basic words in local language. Yes, no, police, please, thank-you, help is a good start
  4. Know where the closest place you can get help: US embassy, hospital, police station, airport, etc. No use in running, if you don't have a safe-haven to run to. Even places like a bank can provide shelter and give you time to request for assistance.
  5. Have a guardian-angel. Someone whom you communicate with to tell them where you are, where you are going, and when you will check in again. If something goes wrong, you WANT people to raise an alarm and look for you. Have your phone configured to send a geo-tagged alert to this person if you get into trouble. Use it as a panic button. Several apps out there for this.
  6. Have the US embassy on speed dial. Also have a local map downloaded on your phone (for use even without service)
  7. Practice situation awareness, for single and multiple threats. This takes practice. Watch those who are watching you. Then see who they look/talk to. Add them to your list. Move away and see if they follow. Use reflections/mirrors, peripheral vision, obstacles, perches, and over-the-shoulder talking viewpoints to your advantage.
  8. Blend in. Look at local attire. Buying a scarf, shirt, or hat is a cheap way to blend in, especially with your golden locks.
  9. Learn practical defensive moves to quickly disable and disorient an attacker with a single strike, so you can quickly egress. Also learn disarming techniques from hair-grabs, chokes, and blades. Remember the goal is to egress to a safe location.
  10. Don't be overconfident and listen to your inner-voice when it is telling you "something is not right". Your subconscious picks up a lot more than your conscious. Listen to it.

Hope this helps. I have traveled to a few hot-spots as well in my time. Be smart and safe. Happy travels.

These are on point, thanks for supplementing.

The "Into The Wild" movie is a must for all rebel hearts like you (and me!)

The movie was good but I enjoyed the book more!

I love to travel too and i have already compiled my bucket list. I was in Europe for more than 20 days last year and was in Tokyo for 9 days in February 2016. I just got back from a 10 days trip to China. Thanks for the tips which are helpful and pratical.

Where ever you go make use of local guides. Just my 2cents.

Yes you're right, local guides are the best way to ensure that you won't miss out on what makes the place unique.

@heiditravels, would you share me some of your fairy dust luck? your travel blog is always a hit - would like to get infected with whatever charm you have!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35