Difficulties of Studying Abroad and Moving On

in #travel7 years ago

I have decided to write my first Steemit post about the complexities of my study abroad experience in Japan.
I studied and lived in Japan from June 2016 to January 2017

IMG_6183.JPG

It has almost been a full year since I returned from my study abroad experience.
So why am I still talking about it?
IMG_6210.jpg
Good question. I have done a lot of reflecting on my time in Japan and decided that I want to be done discussing this subject. During the end of my junior year in college as well as the start of my senior year, I have done 2 lengthy presentations and 2 lengthy papers on my time in Japan. To be frank, I know I will have many more travel experiences in my lifetime and this is definitely not one to dwell on.

There were a few things however that I would like to write about. I have written in academic papers quite a bit about all of the culture shock and descriptions of negative experiences I had while in Japan, but not much about what I learned from it.

I believe that people experience countries differently, an aspect of the country that I viewed as difficult, another person could be neutral about. I went into my experience with a naive attitude, that lead me to have more difficulties than others in my same exact situation.
IMG_5892.JPG

On my flight to Japan I was feeling a lot of emotions, but mostly I was ready to leave. I was so desperate to leave the US, and I was feeling so discontent with the life I was living in the United States. I read many articles online about how this was not the right mentality to go about studying abroad or living/moving abroad in general. I thought that because I was aware of this and that I could acknowledge the fact that I running away to another country and away from my problems, that I would end up being okay. I found out, however, running away to another country is not going to solve any of your problems. If you are miserable and frustrated at home, you will be miserable and frustrated and have a cultural barrier to deal with while abroad. I wanted to leave the US so badly, I wanted new and exciting experiences. To be honest, I was naïve in the sense that I expected to find my second home. Watching videos or reading about a country and actually living there are two very different things. I thought I knew so much about Japan. I saw extremely glamorized versions of Japan and couldn't fathom that it wouldn't be a magical place that I would want to live in forever.
IMG_6173.JPG
I have spent many months reflecting on my time in Japan and pondering the question “would I ever go back?” I definitely know I love Japan, it holds a special place in my heart, however my initial answer was “I could travel there but never live there.” I still hold that same mentality today, however, I find myself wanting to spend a lot of time exploring the parts of Japan I never got to see. Being a well informed tourist instead of a temporary resident would be a lot less stressful and hold less pressures from myself. When I lived in Japan, I really expected to become part of society. I really wanted to be able to adapt and eventually be able to work and live in Japan. My expectations were shattered when I found out that it wasn't something I would want after all.
IMG_6371.JPG
Japanese society is one that I didn't find to mesh with my own ideals and values. However, with all the bad things, there was a lot of good. Despite my less favorable experiences in Japan, it is still a country that I want to revisit one day. I developed a stronger sense of what I want to do in the future and how I want to travel. My time in Japan has encouraged me to experience many locations all over the world before simply watching a video and deciding that one place is going to be my second home. Through the trial and error of living in a foreign country by myself, I was able to gain more independence and confidence in my abilities. If I am able to survive by myself in a foreign country for six months, what else can I achieve? I encountered many obstacles and was able to use problem-solving skills and interpersonal skills to overcome them. I learned many things about travel and about the people you meet while traveling. I learned about the difficulties of trying to adapt to another culture that is so different from your own.
IMG_6532.JPG
Even though this is the first post you're reading about this subject, it is a subject for me that has been dragged out for too long. I didn't feel as though I could do a post about an overview of my study abroad experience. I wouldn't do it justice because of the lack of passion I feel for the subject.
IMG_6765.JPG
From this whole experience, I learned more about myself and how I want to travel. I hope to make more travel posts in the future, but as of now I am finishing up my degree! After that I'll be free to put the lessons I learned into action.

                                                                                       Thank you for reading!
Sort:  

Thank you very much for your insightful Post about your experiences abroad. Id love to learn more about your time in Japan.
I spent 4 months in spain when I was 20 and I didn't even get to know one Spanish Person except of my Spanish teachers... (To day this might be different, but I was very shy back then...)

Thank you for your post. I went to South Korea straight after college to teach and to live. (back in 2005) It was a traumatic kind of culture shock that I doubt I will ever forget, but the pain of the complexities, (fear, terror, panic, loneliness, confusion, frustrations, and all the rest that you are fully aware of) as you put it, has mostly faded with time and reframing the memories with new perspectives given more knowledge, etc.

Those new (brain/heart altering) experiences do change you forever, but they don't have to define your future forever. I lasted 6 months out of the year I was supposed to finish there. (I was financially trapped for that long before I could afford to return to the USA.) The initial month was when I was basically crying myself to sleep every night. But I decided to fight as much as I could to hold it together in public and at the school, etc., and I did.

About six months later, I did return to South Korea to teach again and had a much better (full) year because I didn't have the major culture shock the second time around. I went on to teach there for a few more years and one year in Taiwan. At the end of 2010 in Korea again, I decided that teaching was not my preferred career path and returned to the USA and have been here ever since. (for better or worse, this is my "home" country for now)

I just wanted to write to let you know that you are not alone in your feelings and that you can find joy again even after all of the pain. Fully grieving over the loss of your former self-image (pre-Japan) and grieving over the painful times in Japan, and then finally grieving over the reverse culture shock you have now are fascinating things to think about and feel and I don't have any set answers that will work for you personally. (your current changed self that others likely can't understand or relate to very well in regards to the changes that Japan created in your mind/heart is what I mean by reverse culture shock)

One thing I will say though about your time there is that I hope you continue to embrace whatever your feelings are, because, even if they are full of pain, they are YOUR experiences and your feelings and they can only control you in negative ways if you decide to let them. Choices define who we become and even if we make a few that hurt us to the core, those choices are what make us the individuals who we actually want to be in the long run.

Take care of yourself and be gentle with yourself, most of life is worth the (hopefully only brief and manageable) pain. :)

Thank you for your insightful comment! Its hard to put into words exactly how hard it is to live in an Asian country and you do it so well! I'm glad I'm not alone in this and I know I do want to go back one day! :)

You're welcome. :) Hope you have a wonderful new year!

Congratulations @hannahrrr, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that @originalworks will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @hannahrrr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi. I am @greetbot - a bot that uses AI to look for newbies who write good content!
Your post was approved by me. As reward it will be resteemed by a resteeming service.
greetbot's stamp of approval

@greetbot evaluated your post's quality score as [56.24] points!
Good Job!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @greetbot
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Congratulations @hannahrrr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64202.90
ETH 3439.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59