My 2018 Summer Experience

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello, beautiful people!

I'm sorry for being MIA lately, it took me a while to gather up some photos, adventures and stories to share with you guys! And also, my internet hasn't been cooperating with my schedule in posting new stuff. That's enough chitchat and here goes my new adventure.

Summer here in the Philippines is almost over. Well, in the case for those who are in public schools and has been following the old June to March calendar. And I go to a public school so, summer's almost over for me. My summer may not be as interesting as of the others but it was at least interesting for me. Learning new things have always been fun for me. But not so much when it comes to academics. I guess that's the purpose of summer, you learn things you don't learn in school. Well, a Filipino public school to be exact. Like, swimming, new tasks at home, climbing up mountains, meeting new people outside the school, the list goes on but difference applies to each and every human. Whereas for me, during my summer vacation, I learned to wash clothes. I know I should already been doing that ever since considering my age. Surprise! The first time I washed all of my family's dirty clothes was just this summer! And it's one exciting experience!

My adventure didn't stop there! I conquered a secluded waterfall of Bacolod, Lanao del Norte on the 20th of May 2018. It may have been the most dangerous, risky, and life on edge (literally) experience I took for the 16 years of my existence. But it was the coolest so far. I'm proud to say that I survived the said to be technical tracks of Pagayawan falls.

2018-05-20 10.59.43 2.jpg

This is the Pagayawan Falls of Bacolod, Lanao del Norte. I failed to take a picture near the waterfall because the way to get there got even harder, you had to climb a big root to get closer and seeing it up to just this close (as seen on the picture above) is fine with me. I was contented with how the air felt even if I was just this close.

2018-05-20 10.59.50 2.jpg

It may have been hard to get there but it was all worth it. I got bit by a lot of red ants, accidentally held onto thorny rattan plants commonly known in bisaya as "uway", went into the wrong way, had scratches, slid on the dirt, and got my shirt wet without even going for a swim. The next morning, my muscles were so sore it felt like I went to the gym for 7 days straight. But despite all these down sides, it was still worth it. I got to see the most amazing view which not everyone have seen yet since it's secluded. I got to be with my distant relatives and to test my endurance when it comes to these kinds of experience.

2018-05-20 10.59.49 2.jpg

2018-05-20 10.59.47 2.jpg

2018-05-20 10.59.53 2.jpg

That sums up my Pagayawan Falls experience. I cannot be thankful enough to have the opportunity to go to places like these, with the right people. I am honored to be talking about my adventures also here in Mindanao which commonly is not recommended to some tourists due to it being dangerous. I just want to clear it out and say that Mindanao, is not as bad as you think it is. There may be parts of it that could be very dangerous for tourists but there are places too that you will love and be hard to leave without you leaving a piece of your heart. I must say if you'll give Mindanao a try, you will be coming back. You just gotta explore.

Yours truly,
@gwyntheexplorer

Sort:  

Congratulations @gwyntheexplorer, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Thank you so much for featuring my post!

Congratulations @gwyntheexplorer! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @gwyntheexplorer! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69633.73
ETH 3805.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74