Wish You Were Here!: Postcards From Orlando FL

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!

DSC_0103.jpg

I know it’s been a little while since my last travel post because all of my travels have been keeping me busy. However I wanted to share a little bit about my trip so far and show you guys a few pictures.

IMG-20170506-WA0000.jpg

So firstly I must say that getting to Orlando from where I live is not the easiest thing to do. It requires hours of travel which, of course, leaves you feeling jetlagged for at least a day afterwards. It’s been worth the hassle though, as my family and I have had a great time so far. The doughnuts my sis bought in the airport probably helped (p.s. Sorry for the horrible photo it was taken on an old phone.)

()

It’s not just me and my family here either. My aunt, some cousins, and even my grandmother are also here so we’re staying in this large vacation home that’s plenty big enough to accommodate the whole gang. The bedrooms are excitingly decorated with different themes. There are…..(haha, I just had to stop and count because there are so many) 8 big bedrooms.

)

Some of them are a bit more generic with the decor but some are catered to younger guests and the kiddos are just loving such fun spaces. One room has an Indiana Jones theme. Then there are my two favorites themed after Lion King and the other after The Little Mermaid.

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

It’s got a screened-in pool and a fun game room.

PicMonkey Collage1.jpg

There’s also an in-house theater, large dining room, and multiple group rooms.

PicMonkey Collage0.jpg

Then in the middle of the resort neighborhood is an awesome family center with an arcade, some really fun pool areas, and even a fully equipped gym.

PicMonkey Collage..jpg

Dining options are so diverse here too. Oh my goodness, the first night we ordered way too much Chinese food but the guys had no problem with the fact that we had leftovers.

DSC_0061.jpg

Oh, and don't forget to check back soon for the next posts coming up. I'll be sharing pics from the rest of my trip. Can you guess what I've been up to???😉

IMG-20170510-WA0012.jpg

Sort:  

That's one big house. Great for you :)

Thanks for photos and the report. Yes, wish I were there too :)


Your post was upvoted, resteemed and featured on Steemit Appreciation Friday No. 15 - thank you for contributing to the community.

Wow, thanks so much for the Steemit Appreciation Friday No. 15. I wish there was a way to see where you've been mentioned, here on steemit.

Yes, you are right, this is a big house we are staying in. 5 more days. Thanks again for the mention, resteem, upvote and the comment. Just fantastic!!

You are welcome. You are doing a fantastic job, congrats.

There is a way to find out about the mention. It is not ideal, though.

You can turn on browser notifications for steemit.com and when you are mentioned a popup pops out in the tray to let you know. You can see this popup if you are behind the computer at the time.

I do hope there will be a menu option one day that will show the list of mentions.

Have a great weekend.

That menu option would be fantastic. You have a great weekend also!

Look at you stomping around in my backyard! Ok, well not exactly my backyard as I'm about a 2 hour drive down the FL turnpike from there, but close enough! :-)

Enjoy Orlando, so many things to do there. Have been there a bunch!

Hey @scaredycatguide, I did not realize you were in Florida. Glad to know we're close at the moment. Been super hot here, not normai?

Actually, it's been cooler than it usually is, but I'm speaking for West Palm Beach. It tends to be sizzling hot by May around here.

I love the photograph of you in the yellow blouse. You're a beautiful woman. Always a topshelf post.

Ahh, that is so sweet @runridefly. Thanks so much for your kind words

Thank you for being beautiful. Never been to florida, but my mom's dad is from Georgia. @gringalicious, steem on

Great post & pictures
Looks like a nice vacation home.
I am a Floridian and haven't been in a while to Disney or Orlando itself
Makes me want to go now lol
Enjoy!

I didn't mention it in the post, but it has been super hot. Today touched 100 and of course, that's with Floridian humidity. And, the parks are surprisingly busy. It's best to go in early November. Thanks so much for taking the time comment @jcsteem

It was hot down in miami where I am as well. Not quite 100 tho and not as humid today. I remember the parks were always busy when I was a little kid going there almost yearly I could only imagine now.
Look forward to seeing your post from the parks.

Have a great time on your trip @gringalicious! The weather in your pictures looks sunny and warm.

Very sunny, very very warm and very crowded. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @rebeccaryan

Enjoy your time. It is so important to detox from digital devices once in a while and just enjoy the wonders life throws at you!

Well, I was really considering a detox during this trip, but now with steemit getting way more exciting, I think I will delay my detox till later. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @amy-goodrich

I know, crazy isn't it... it is not only interesting on steemit but all other crypto projects we are involved in! Exciting times. Nonetheless, we are going down to the coast in a few days too, but just like you, it will not be a digital free trip!

My next stop is Idaho and while I am there, my sister and I, and probably my Dad are going camping up into the mountains for a few days. That will be digital free for sure, well, except there will be digital photography, but no cell service

Sounds great! Enjoy!

Thanks @amy-goodrich. Thanks for commenting. When I discovered I was going to be going on this trip, I didn't think a lot of my fellow steemians would appreciate these kind of posts, but the response so far has been very pleasant. Of course, it helps with steem being up, I guess that kind of helps a lot.

that food in the 2nd to last pic looks amazing

I am so glad you thought so @doitvoluntarily. My family loves Chinese take-out and this place was great. In fact, we had it again last night. The place is called Bamboo Wok. Their food was great both times. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment

How happy are you to be back in the US?

My mind is being blown actually. It is more than I can process at the moment. I am sure I'll be talking more about it in the future. @kotturinn, thanks so much for taking the time to comment

Anytime! Enjoy your stay!

Disney World, Chinese food, Gringalicious & the family? That sounds like fun times just waiting to be experienced to the max. Have the best of everything while you're there @gringalicious :)

That is so incredibly nice of you @sandstorm. I have to tell you, I thought some people would be turned off by my 'vacation,' but the response has been the opposite. Thanks so much for your continued support

I'm glad you were wrong then :) Your travels and your cooking, it all has a place, keep being awesome and all the right folks will be supportive.

Great words of encouragement, thanks so much

Your welcome, It's what I do amiga. Have a sweet ole' time in sunny Florida, get those updates posted up when you aren't out having a blast.

Great vacation!

Hey @darthnava, great to hear from you. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

No problem, lady.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44