You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2017 Europe Summer Trip Breakdown: Open to Meeting Steemit Members in Cities I Visit

in #travel7 years ago

Wow @hustletoparadise - that sounds like quite a trip - you can't go wrong here in Europe - so many great cities and regions - you will just have to come back and fill in those gaps on another trip as you suggest. As per @vanderict there are truly wonderful cities in the east too - my personal favourite is Budapest - fabulous. However I can honestly say that you are leaving the best to last - Iceland blew me away when I visited for a week about 4 years ago - it is absolutely stunning particularly its waterfalls. Enjoy! Following you now as I really want to hear how you get on...

Sort:  

Thanks greenstar! I've only heard amazing things about Budapest, over and over again. When I do these planned trips, I know the downside is that then when people come across suggest other areas ... usually difficult to change my plans (unless the city/location is close by). But since I work remotely, it's important that I have my stays and known internet connection be planned. I've moved beyond the nomadic backpacking to needing proper work/stay locations. When you were in Iceland, did you explore the island by renting a car or did you use any tour services? I'm trying to figure out with my limited amount of time, if booking tours might be better since I'll just let someone with more expertise handle all of the sites that I should see.

We did a week fly drive and did a return trip from Reykjavik to Hofn along the whole of the southern side. It's a big island but driving is a pleasure as once you leave the capital there's hardly anyone on the roads. If you have time the highlights would be the golden circle (easily doable as a day trip from Reykjavik), Selandjafoss and Skogafoss waterfalls and Jokulsaron (really impressive but a long way to drive). I plan to do a post with my Iceland photos over the next couple of weeks - this should wet your appetite!

Yes please do post Iceland, and ping me. Just followed you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50