Icy Arctic Ocean Coast

in #travel6 years ago

When I was planning a trip to Iceland I came across to the pictures on the internet where there were massive Ice chunks in the ocean. From that point, I wanted to give this place a visit as well. It is located on the southern east coast of Iceland, near the Jökulsarlon. There usually is no Icebergs floating around in this part of the Atlantic ocean so you may ask why there is ice there. Next to the place I shot the pictures in this post, there is a river coming from the glacier lake. This huge lake is full of big icebergs originated from the glacier itself. See the Fjallsarlon Glacier Beach post of this lake. River coming from this lake goes straight into the ocean, therefore carrying all the ice there as well. That's why there is a black beach full of ice on the ocean shore.

DSC_0376.jpg


DSC_0372.jpg

Ice appears very blue because its glacier ice, that has never seen any sunlight before until now it cracked open. After a day open to the sun, ice turns white as you usually see it.

Waves were big and I got many great shots of this as waves crashed into the icebergs.

DSC_0374.jpg


DSC_0381.jpg


DSC_0388.jpg

Another cool thing is that this glacier ice is totally clear, it looks like its crystal.

DSC_0389.jpg


DSC_0395.jpg


DSC_0392.jpg


DSC_0394.jpg

On the photo below you can see the river and a glacier itself where these chunks of ice come from.

DSC_0397.jpg

It was so relaxing to be at the ocean shore and watch the crashing waves. Pictures alone wasn't enough so I thought I should take a couple of video clips with my camera as well. This is a short 40-second mashup, so sit back and enjoy it in 1080p and 60 frames per sec.




Untitled-4.png

Sort:  

Wow! This must be unforgettable experience! I would love to stand there and watch the waves... amazing photos as always :)

Thank you! Yes it was really calming and beautiful there!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=greddyforce
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=icy-arctic-ocean-coast


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That looks absolutely amazing! Seeing all these pictures of Iceland and Scandinavia here on Steemit makes me want to go there so badly..

Oh, you definitely should! Iceland is one of a kind place, worth going.

This illustrates the term "ice blue", which never really made sense to me before. Beautiful pictures. I'd love to be standing there as well.

Now it does, thats good :) and trust me, I would stand there too again if only I could!

My eyes just felt relaxed looking at these photos. Beeeaaauuutifuuul! Definitely going to visit Iceland if I ever get a budget for travelling.

I would definitely go back there if I had a budget again :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63