Driving From Estonia To Southern Germany

in #travel6 years ago

Some of you have heard that I recently went on an unexpected trip to Germany. This was very unexpected because 24 hours before diving away I didn't know I was going to Germany. On the morning of 23 August when I was still asleep, I got a call from my workmate. Hey, dude let's go to Germany, we are driving away tomorrow morning, to Munich. I was like dude what fuck ?? Yeah yeah, no problem, all the expenses will be paid, you don't have to pay shit. Then I was like eeeh oke, wait a minute, I'll call you back in a sec. After a half an hour I called back and said that I'm in but on one condition. We will go to the German Alps because we are so close to there anyway. He agreed!!

Basically why they needed me was there was one more driver needed. We had to cover 2100kilometers. Not so much? It isn't much but we had to cover it in one day. 23hours to the only drive, that's not so easy but since everything I wanted to do and eat was going to be paid, I didn't care. So the next day together with one other guy at 10 AM we hit the road.
The reason why we had to drive there was that we had to carry 15k EUR worth of art to a gallery in Munich with a Mercedes van.

Of course, I brought my camera with me to take shots along the way and in Germany. These first 2 photos are captured when we had driven 600 kilometers in at the time we were in Lithuania.

DSC_0119.jpg


DSC_0122.jpg

After that the sun set and we crossed the border to Poland. We had to drive 800 kilometers to reach to Germany border. Not sure how long we drove that but be arrived at Poland at the sunset and crossed Germany border at the sunrise.
By that time we were pretty wasted and we still had 500 km to cover to reach to the south. Pretty soon I threw my co-driver behind the steering wheel so I could start taking photos of the landscapes in Germany.

DSC_0133.jpg

This was really interesting for me because I had never been to Germany before.

DSC_0134.jpg


DSC_0132.jpg


DSC_0136.jpg

Oh if there only was Autobahn roads in Estonia as well. As I understand there is a speed limit but at the same time, there isn't. Usually, there are 3 lanes, one for slow grandmas, middle one to overtake grandmas and the left one for people who push the pedal to the floor. We usually used the middle lane and average speed was about 160 km/h because our Mercedes started to vibrate badly when we pushed speed higher. That's not rare when cars overtake you driving 250km/h there.

DSC_0143.jpg


DSC_0145.jpg


DSC_0147.jpg

To me, Germany looked so yellow. Probably because Europe was suffering in a kind of severe drought this summer and all the fields are in need of water. Still, these hilly landscapes were absolutely beautiful and I got some nice photos even when captured from a car while driving.

DSC_0149.jpg


DSC_0156.jpg


DSC_0159.jpg

And 9 AM at the local time there we were. We were really tired and needed to sleep fast, thankfully we soon went to sleep. Next 2 posts will be the pictures and stories from Munich and then I will move to the Alps, stay tuned!




Untitled-4.png

Sort:  

Best adventures are unplanned! Thanks for the hitchhike (story.) I was getting a little disappointed seeing all the one line steems. I was glad to find an actual trip (paid for) with a story behind it.

Thats the problem here on steemit yeah! Im glad you like the post :)

Congratulations @greddyforce! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15