Patara: the port city of Lycia, trips in unknown cities in Turkey. (EN/FR)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)
  •  I would like to share some pictures of my little trip in Turkey with you, of one of the most unknown cities today, which a long time ago was a main port city of Lycia, Patara, circled of many pirate cities but also one of the most famous of this region and the nearest being Kalkan.  
    It would have been founded by Pataro, son of Apollo 
  • Je vais vous partager quelques photos de mon petit voyage en Turquie, d'une des villes méconnues aujourd'hui, qui jadis était une principale ville portuaire de la Lycie, Patara,  entourés de plusieurs villes pirates, dont une très connue de la région est aussi la plus proche étant Kalkan. 

      Elle aurait été fondée par Pàtaro, fils d'Apollon. 

 

                                                       |  Patara Amphitheatre

  • This city is full of ancient remains and as of today, wonders are still being discovered under it. Since 1988, at the same time as the Capital Xanthos-Letoon, Patara, a UNESCO-inscribed site, draws the attention of a lot of archeologists from all over the world. The sites are well maintained, the diggings are still going on and some ruins are being renovated. You can access them freely which makes it ideal to visit every corner of the ancien city Lyciens.


  • Cette ville regorge de vestiges anciens et à ce-jour, il n'en a pas fini de nous faire découvrir sans cesse des merveilles sous sont sols, inscrit au patrimoine de l'UNESCO, depuis 1988 en même temps que la capital Xanthos-Letoon, Patara attire beaucoup l'attention des archéologues du monde entier,  les sites sont bien entretenus, les fouilles sont toujours actives et certaines ruines sont en cours de rénovation. On y accède librement ce qui est idéal pour scruter chaque recoin de l'ancienne grande ville Lycienne.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                              |  Patara Beach |  

  •  After visiting some historic sites I wanted to continue my walk and went towards the beach. There is only one entrance to the beach, the beach extends over 16 km long with fine sand. I walked at least 10 km, no one in sight, far from mass tourism, far from big hotels, the beach was protected. It's ideal for photographs, history and nature lovers. It became my crush, I could feel the sand flowing with the wind on all of my body. The symphony of the waves that I could hear. This beach was also home to sea turtles called Caretta and after sundown the turtles take control of the beach back.


  • Après avoir visité plusieurs sites historiques j'ai donc voulu poursuivre ma balade vers la plage et pour y accéder il n'y a qu'une entrée, elle déborde sur une plage immense au sable très fin qui défile sur 16km de long, j'ai marché au moins une dizaine de km, il n'y avait plus personne, loin du tourisme de masse, loin des grands hôtels, cette plage et protégée, elle est idéale pour les photographes et passionné de l'histoire et de la nature s'est devenu mon coup de coeur, je sentais le sable fin qui s'emportait par le vent sur tout mon corps, la symphonie des vagues qui arriva jusqu'à mon ouïe, cette plage étant adepte des grandes tortues marines Caretta, ils en ont fait leur lieu de ponte, après le coucher du soleil la plage doit être vide pour laisser place aux tortues. 

 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    | Me and my sarcastic smile, watching my stepbrother getting his feet burned by the hot sand

  •  We decided to climb a little on the heights of the dunes, my brother-in-law was struggling to walked bared foot, we started to run to shelter our feed under the shade of the bushes. 
  •  On a donc décidé de monter un peu sur les hauteurs des dunes, mon beau frère avait du mal à marcher pied nu, on a commencé à courir pour abriter nos pieds sous l'ombre des buissons. 

 

                               | At the top of the dune

  •  From the dune overlooking the beach we could see all the other dunes, a big part of the beach and some ruins   of Patara. 
  •  La dune surplombant la plage on pouvait apercevoir toutes les dunes, une bonne partie de la plage et quelques ruines de Patara. 


                                          | My first name on sand  before leaving beach

                                             | Better angle of view, Patara Beach

                                            | A solitary cow, In a field of Patara  | 




Sort:  

Ottoman Empire ancient city 😍

Yes, ottomans conquered after the romans :D

I like your pictures, the landscape is amazing :)

Thanks you @praticaleric, yes it's really nice locality :D

I am following you now and I have upvoted this post too! Thanks for following me. I introduced myself just 3 days ago and I do not know well how this works but reading you makes me feel more confortable because you seem to be happy here... What I am doing is to comment something to the people who upvote one of my posts, or just follow me, and, of course, I upvote them. I will try to share one post everyday, or two... I am worry about if I am doing things well here, and I would like to know how much you can earn in a year... :) Sorry if I have disturbed you, and sorry about my English, it is not my mother tongue. LOL from Andalucia (S-pain) :)

Hi !!! Im glad all time ^^ Me too my English is not perfect grrr
You come from a beautiful region nice ! I from Alsace, France.

see you soon :)

Congratulations @goyard! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks you ^^

You've made a very interesting but also a wonderful tale here @goyard ! Voted and reposted, waiting for new trips told by you !

Thank you for your appreciation, see you soon :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25