Much of what I "know" about Thailand was not as correct as I thought

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

After living here for so long, I started to feel like I know all there is to know about the place and I can see already that I was terribly wrong about that arrogant notion. I have found out a major part of this in regards to the rule of law and how it various from place to place.

So far the major difference is turning out to be in regards to motorbike law.


source

Where I have lived in the south in Krabi and Phuket, the road rules are all but non-existent. You kind of do whatever you want and as long as you don't crash or cause anyone else to crash, there is no issue.

I have previously posted and even offered advice to people about how if they come from a G-8 western country, they wouldn't even need a proper motorbike license in order to rent a bike here. While this is true in Chiang Mai as well it is not true about how the police feel about it. There are daily checkpoints here and if you don't have the proper credentials (international driving permit for motorbikes or a Thai motorbike license) you are going to get a ticket.


source

Now I am not going to say that I agree with this process because it does seem to be a method of stealing money from the public rather than to enforce any sort of laws, but I am just stating that it is a fact: In the south if you have a license of any sort (I had an expired car driving license) you will be just fine.

I actually feel kind of bad about this because one guy actually traveled here using my above advice and got a ticket, it wasn't a lot of money but I am genuinely sorry about that. If we ever meet i will buy you whiskey or a pizza.... or both

Now I don't want to become a huge judgy-pants about corruption because even in USA there are certain counties that are known for pulling people over for anything, not to enforce laws but to hand out tickets to people that are just passing through because they know they will just pay it by mail and not go to court because it would be more expensive for them to take a day off work and drive to the courthouse etc.


source
you do not want to give these guys a reason to doubt your credentials

In Thailand it is just a bit more obvious that this is a cash grab because you could rock up there on a rented bike with no helmet and no license and 500 Baht later you get a ticket that gives you a "3 day pass" on all other tickets even if they are unrelated to whatever this ticket ends up being for (I promise you, I am not making this up, it is well known by everyone in the community.)

So I guess the point of this article is for everyone to scrap the information I had given you in the past about not needing an international permit. It used to be that if you were from USA, Australia, U.K., Germany, Canada, New Zealand, or France (there might be others) that your home license was treated as being "better" than an international permit or a Thai license... It might be better, but the Thai police don't care and will getcha if you don't have what they want.

It isn't true anymore, so get the INTL permit before arriving here

Sort:  

Worth noting that even with the IDP you still need a full motorcycle license as well. So if you have only a car license plus IDP, you still are not legal to ride.

yep, and this is the reason why i am going to either not get a license or go to the university of Koh Sahn Road and get an amazing certification.

Bruhhh, If we had laws like the in the United States. Maaann Would there be so many accidents when it comes to bikers. I don't want to jump to conclusions but people drive crazy on bikes in the USA. I don't know about Thailand thou.
Thanks for clarifying the driving permit situation.

They drive crazy here too. The strange thing is that the ppl with the truly powerful bikes drive sensibly and the ppl on the scooters are the lunatics

Posted using Partiko Android

hahahah dang, You would have never expected that lol. I didn't :P

Thats not surprising. Everyone wants a piece of your pie and if they find out how to get a little more they will. I wonder if they did change it (and not just a misunderstanding on your part) how much more money that brings in for them a year.

LOL. To err is of humans and to correct of sages. In some countries, like mine, there is a visible corruption with the traffic laws. Every time I see images of motorcycles carrying five passengers, I wonder if it is legal or allowed. With this post I already have an idea. Nice night, @gooddream

Motorcycle riders always seem to get the shaft, no matter where they are.

Posted using Partiko Android

there's a lot of truth in what you just said there... thanks for commenting.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Here in Asia, motorcycle are the most transport of everyone since it is cheap to get and has a good fuel consumption. That is the reason why most enforcers are eyeing on motorcycle riders and always trying to look for some offense. I feel you because I am a motorcycle rider too.

This is so true! In Indai, if you are without helmet or driving license, its not a big issue, just a phone call or money works, but in thailand, there are so strict rules.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is Thailand in 100 years it will be the same and I also hope they will chang it soon. I really hope it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57517.13
ETH 3013.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35