Travel Siberia The Russian Steppes- My Dacha Holiday

in #travel7 years ago

Always fascinated by the vast stretches and history of Russia, how the Viking 'Rus'sailed UP the Russian rivers, built fortified towns along the way, carried their boats over the mountains, and sailed down the Dniper to Instanbul, and traded amber for silks., and led to the expansion of what we now call Russia.
I travellled to Novosibersk, in Siberia, two thousand miles away from Moscow. Travelling to the dachha across this rickety bridge was quite a problem with a suitcase
2004 Novosibirsk edied photos 050.jpg
Unsure of what my accommodation was like for the week. my guide played a trick on me...leading me up the path to what she said was my daccha...

2004 Novosibirsk edied photos 029.jpg

Fortunately it was a joke... my dacha was much more interesting...

2004 Novosibirsk edied photos 055.jpg

ansd a beer was welcome refreshment...great to find out that it was well stocked out already with beers and vodka... and some food...

2004 Novosibirsk edied photos 031.jpg

However I was a little mystified about the weights and the chains in this room, as my Russian was very limited I decided probably best not to ask to much...

2004 Novosibirsk edied photos 034.jpg

I tried the banya, I think thaty is what they call a sauna, but afterwars you have to beat each other with twigs...

2004 Novosibirsk edied photos 028.jpg

2004 Novosibirsk edied photos 032.jpg
Great scenery for miles and miles

2004 Novosibirsk edied photos 049.jpg

2004 Novosibirsk edied photos 051.jpg

but a short visit in a daccha was enough for me... time to get back intom the city...passing farmers along the way

2004 Novosibirsk edied photos 013.jpg

and back to my Novosibersk apartment -Russian traditional housing- for a few days before travelli9ng back to the U.K

2004 Novosibirsk edied photos 024.jpg
#originalworks

Sort:  

Great pictures! They bring back memories :D

Thanks Katsuri... I also visited the railway museum in Novosibirsk... it was like seeing trains out of Dr Zivago film

Really? I never have been to Novosibirsk before or the museum but I saw the film ^^ Do you have some pictures from inside the museum?

The railway museum was in the open air...unable to enter the carriages as some people...probably illegally- were living there...will post them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64605.20
ETH 3168.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53