Tivoli Gardens Copenhagen Part 1

in #travel7 years ago

Tivoli Gardens is the second oldest amusement park in the world, opening in 1843. I usually go there on my birthday with my daughter to celebrate...was a perfect day yesterday not too hot ... no rain and yet not too cold either ... Just a perfect day !
The main entry is beautiful
7625253038_a19f186d70_b.jpg
***TIP ! we went in by the entrance in front of the central station (it is usually less waiting time to get in there )IMG_2226.JPG
not as posh but often faster...
The garden is stunning and very well kept
IMG_7920.JPG
Lots of beautiful flowers
IMG_9664.JPG
and birds on the grounds
IMG_4452.JPG
the garden is quite large considering that it is in the absolute center of Copenhagen... there are lots of places all around where one can sit and chill for a bit
IMG_5457.JPG
IMG_9718.JPG
The main thing for kids are the rides though
IMG_4420.JPG
there is also both theaters and concert venues
IMG_8010.JPG
IMG_8360.JPG
A good way of getting an overview to begin with of the gardens is to take the tivoli tram
IMG_3418.JPG
that is sure to give you a good feeling of the layout ...
IMG_3245.JPG
there are many details to see.. and beautiful skulptures
IMG_6341.JPG
IMG_5571.JPG
There is also a very posh hotel that also provides high end dining experiences as well as the most expensive suite in Copenhagen Nimb
IMG_8991.JPG
A beautiful Peacock resting on the balcony of the Nimb building
IMG_1999.JPG
IMG_0261.JPG
he was calling out for a friend which we believed to be this white peacock that we saw resting on the lawn
IMG_1413.JPG
you can see the cityhall tower from the garden that is situated right next to the cityhall square
IMG_0577.JPG
the crystal lamps are impressive
IMG_2277.JPG
I was taken in with the suns reflections in the crystals
IMG_1576.JPG
The Pantomime Theatre
IMG_5739.JPG
is a beautiful place
IMG_8445.JPG
it was build in 1874, it has been the home of italian pantomimes since the beginning.
Tivoli is ever evolving, As Georg Carstensen said in 1844, "Tivoli will never, so to speak, be finished," a sentiment echoed just over a century later when Walt Disney said of his own Tivoli-inspired theme park, "Disneyland will never be completed. It will continue to grow as long as there is imagination left in the world." In Norwegian and Swedish, the word tivoli has become synonymous with any amusement park.
There are many places to snack, get icecream, candied apples, candyFloss etc... and restaurants that cater to many a variation of taste... the first part of this visit to tivoli gardens we will finish with a lovely icecream
IMG_0940.JPG
and I had Churros with Softice
IMG_1563.JPG
Nomnom... In the next part we will take a look at some of the rides ...

all photo's are my own except for the main entrance which is opensource from flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/mustangjoe/7625253038)

Sort:  

Had no idea of this place! So wonderful! I must go here!

It is really a most wonderful place and not just for kids .. there is something for everyone ... I am glad you enjoyed seeing a bit of our day I will post more ... I just have way too much for only one blog so many pictures and so much to see and try there ... we didn't even get through half of the garden...mainly because my daughter and I focused more on trying the rides hihi

denmark is next on my vacation list...those pics are amazing btw, keep up the good work, you've got my follow :))

Thank you so much, I will post more about Copenhagen, I did one before showing a bit of my neighbourhood Christianshavn you might find this inspiring for your trip too .. https://steemit.com/travel/@globaldoodlegems/discover-copenhagen-with-me-1-introducing-you-to-christianshavn

Thanks for the nice overview. Never knew that Tivoli Gardens exist out there in Copenhagen.

I am so glad that you liked my article and even more pleased that you now know about tivoli ! It is a wonderful place and old and historic but still the mainplace to go in Copenhagen for a beautiful adventure day !

Have few friends Danes, including @denmarkguy. Have you spotted him here?

Yes I follow him too !

Oh, this is cool! didn't know that :)

Really great and informative post. I visited Copenhagen several years ago but didn't have time to visit Tivoli Gardens....looking at your photos, I can see I missed something marvelous.
Fabulous photos. Maybe one day.......I can dream at least.

oh sorry to hear you missed tivoli gardens ... well dreaming is good in my next post on tivoli I will show you some of the rides ... the whole place is hard to cover in one visit ... so with a little time you will get to at least see it through my lens ... then you will know where to head if you one day return to Copenhagen ...

Brilliant! I look forward to your next post. And even if I never get the chance to go back, I will see it through your eyes.

I hope you will enjoy seeing it through my eyes and maybe one day come back and experience it ...I remember Tivoli from my childhood ...I lived in a different part of Denmark far away so to go there was something I experienced like 3 times in my childhood so very special ... now that I live in Copenhagen I have made an effort to go once a year with my daughter if possible ... I would love to go a few times a year ... it is also very special at Christmas and at Halloween ...

Just looked, and really enjoyed your post, left a comment and upvote. 😀

Thank you so much, I am glad that you enjoyed my post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61797.74
ETH 2429.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64