Wonders of Turkey

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

INTRODUCTION – WHERE EUROPE AND ASIA MEET…

Turkey is an extraordinary country taking place in two continents: Europe and Asia, which is pretty amazing. Imagine that you are in Istanbul and you take a boat there. When you get on it, you are in Europe and when you get off it, you are suddenly in Asia, even though you are still in the same city! I had a chance to experience it a couple of years ago and would recommend it to everyone keen on travelling. Take a glance at one of the photos I took on my boat trip.

1059483_10201468183524248_912849776_n.jpg

Turkey embraces both modern and ancient culture, has very deep-rooted traditions and a dominant religion – Islam, which is of considerable importance to the majority of Turkish people.

THE TURKISH LANGUAGE

Its official language is Turkish, coming from the Altaic family. It is not a piece of cake to learn it for a European person as the Turkish language is very different from European languages in terms of syntax (the structure of sentences), morphology (the way words are formed), grammar and vocabulary. However, once you get the hang of how this language functions, things get much easier and with some practice, you would soon be able to engage in at least basic conversations. What is more, Turkish is not the only language spoken in this country. In the eastern part of Turkey, Kurdish is spoken by Kurds, who had and are still having some difficulties in getting on well with Turkish people because of some political issues, which will not be discussed in this article.

TURKISH CULTURE: CUISINE


Turkish people are real food lovers! They are especially keen on eating bulgur (a kind of wheat), pilav (Turkish rice), different kinds of soups, meat (e.g. köfte, şiş kebap), mantı (a kind of pasta), menemen (an omelette), lahmacun (crispy bread topped with minced meat and salad), dolma (stuffed peppers), etc.

Their famous desserts are: baklava (layers of dough with butter, sugar syrup and a variety of nuts), aşure (a pudding that includes nuts, apricot, garbanzo beans, golden raisins, bulgur or barley and some other ingredients depending on the chef), künefe (a sweet cheese pastry) and many others.

What is more, a cup of black tea is an indispensable part of the Turkish culture and a symbol of getting together and socializing. When I was living in Balıkesir (a city in the Western part of Turkey), I even saw some cups of black tea in the streets next to trees!

tea.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this article. More articles about Turkey are coming! See you soon!

Sort:  

Yes, it was fantastic when you at the boat and can see Asia and Europe at both side.

Instanbul is one of my coveted travel destinations😑
Probably it will be on of the first places I tick off my travel bucket list.
So much beautu, rich in history and dont get me started on the food and night life experience..sighs.
Read pretty much on it when I used to work at a travel company last year.
Have you been to the spice market yet?
Ah.
I already wanna pack and leave!!!!😍

Hi! Istanbul is wonderful indeed! I might write an article about it, too 😊 No, I haven't been to the spice market...
I'm glad to know there's someone inspired by Turkey just the way I am 😊 Where are you from?

Haha. You definitely should write about it and also visit the spice market. Maybe firt google abput it to get some motivagion :)
I'm from Nairobi,Kenya.

Thanks for your advice 😉

And let me know if you visit Istanbul! 😊😊

Haha. In the near future hopefully. I'll be sure to keep in touch dear.
Xo

Great! 😊

Instanbul is one of my coveted travel destinations😑
Probably it will be on of the first places I tick off my travel bucket list.
So much beautu, rich in history and dont get me started on the food and night life experience..sighs.
Read pretty much on it when I used to work at a travel company last year.
Have you been to the spice market yet?
Ah.
I already wanna pack and leave!!!!😍

I love you Pliss upvote
Post me brother,

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

thanks, your post! have a nice day.

Congratulations @ginamber! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Great article, thanks.

haydarpaşa tren istasyonu güzel bir gezi olmuş

Congratulations @ginamber! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43