The Nepal Diaries - #18 - Flying a drone in the Himalayans

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

DSCF0338.jpg
Ganesh Himal

Namaste and Merry Christmas!

This years Christmas, I woke up in a small village tucked in a valley on the bottom of the Himalayans. It is a very remote place in a less known area of Nepal. It took us ten hours by Jeep and another eight hours of hiking to get there. We did not only hike there for the experience of doing so, but for a greater cause. We were giving out some really special christmas gifts to a handful of chosen people. I was hired for the documentation of the process and you will soon be able to watch a documentary of the project on Steemit. I came back with around 80GB of footage, it will take some time to go through it :) It was a quite an exhausting hike with 13 kg of equipment on my back, but nothing could stop me to bring all my gear, including my drone.

I am pretty sure that this is the first ever recorded drone footage of this place.

Enjoy the spectacular view of Ganesh Himal with a mind blowing height of 7422m.

trennstrich.png


music by the xx - intro

trennstrich.png

I hope you enjoyed the views as much as I did. I had a very special time in this village. The kindness of the people living there was absolutely amazing. I know that the color grading is not perfect but I am still new to all of this video-editing as well as drone flying. In the coming weeks I will put all my energy into editing the documentary about our project and we will be able to welcome a new, very exciting community to Steemit.

Enjoy the time with your friends and family, I wish I was back in Germany with mine!

I am not getting paid for any of this, please support me on Steemit so I can keep doing the stuff I do :)

Love and light,


schwarztransparent.png

find the place on the steemit worldmap

Sort:  

This breathtaking! I really love your work and you have my full support! Also, I would really appreciate if you could check out my profile I do some photography, but on ground haha :) If its not secret, what drone are you using Mavic or Phantom? Or maybe different one :) Happy holidays and Merry Christmas to you! :D

Cheers bro :) Just read through your forest article, you told some truth there. I shot it on the Mavic Pro with Polar Pro ND Filters, it really is all abot the ND filters. Happy Holidays ;)

Ha! man this is some really amazing footage. If only you waited before botting it up lol. Nice one tho and i will be expecting the documentary

Thanks a lot! What are the disadvantages of botting it up early? Merry Christmas :)

No disadvantage really, apart from disqualifying from some curation services

Ah! I see, so some curation services require a post to not be botted up? I did not know that, thanks for the hint! Also, our profile pictures go really well together :D

That was an amazing Video. Himalayas are breathtaking! Look forward to the documentary.

Thank you, mee too :)

@geniusloci the video is just amazing, I wish I could afford a drone one day to capture adventurous moments in nature🌎.
Followed, resteemed and upvoted✌.
Do check my post about my village farm https://steemit.com/photography/@shivgre/my-village-farm

Thank you! I checked it out, you got some agroforestry going on there. Great! Thats the stuff I am studying :) Maybe I should come around and you can fly my drone :)

Thank you, sure thing 😊 @geniusloci. You can teach me flying drone too.

Where about do you live? Looks like you are climbing, this would be a nice drone project :)

Top drone footage. I have a few mates in Nepal right now, have seen the photos and all that, definitely one to add to the bucketlist.

Nice song choice ;)

Cheers! It is a spectacular country, with ups and downs ;) Hope to hear more from you!

Absolutely Stunning....looking forward to more of your work....particularly liked the shot over the rope bridge....great footage....upvoted and followed

Very exciting and very beautiful place

@crazy3 Yea its really cool specially with drone videos of a beautiful place of nature.
Followed and upvoted✌.
Do check my post about my village farm https://steemit.com/photography/@shivgre/my-village-farm

It totally is! You will soon be able to know more about the place :)

I am very impressed, it looks so beautiful

I guess they don't have any regulations there when it comes to flying drones? :) Here in Belgium you need your drone permit and get a big fine if you lift of in any urban area.

I can tell you, I wish I would have had to go through the european process of getting a permit. The lengths you have to go through to acquire one in Nepal are completly ridiculous :D

I rest my case :p

You got a 5.69% upvote from @upme requested by: @geniusloci.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a [STEEM Witness](https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56615.57
ETH 2387.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30