Glacier National Park Snapshots

in #travel7 years ago

Lake McDonald In The Evening Light


@Generikat Unplugged


IMG_6817.JPG

I was in a no-internet chunk of the forest for the last few days. As a person who tries to post once daily it must be admitted that I missed digitally throwing my musings at you all. The break was good, yet I am glad to be back to the Steemiverse!

The last couple of days I have been hanging out in Glacier National Park in the lovely state of Montana. Ironically, I once lived (for nine whole months)in Thompson Falls, Montana, a town that isn't too terribly far from Glacier. I competed in track meets in Kalispell when I was in high school, and that town is a whole thirty some miles from Glacier National Park , but had I ever been there, nope.

As it is now, I only live a little over four hours from the park, so I figured that we would swing by for a couple of days on the drive home from Banff National Park, you know, to see what all the fuss is about. We pulled into Apgar Campground at the south end of Lake McDonald Thursday evening after a very scenic drive through Alberta and Northwestern Montana. I was tired of sitting on my rump, so off for a leg rejuvenating stroll I went. There might have also been a few kids and another adult in tow, but I didn't care, there were deer, ground squirrels, and people from all over the world swarming the woods around me, I needed to observe!

IMG_6823.JPG

A short half a mile stroll later found me on the southern shores of a crystal clear glacial lake. It was late evening so the little Apgar tourist village that sprawls neatly along the bank's southern edge was shuttered for the night, and we were the only people there with the exception of three photographers on the edge of the lake's dock that were about. As I took in the scenery I understood what the fuss was about.

IMG_6814.JPG

It's no secret to anyone that reads my blog that I grew up surrounded by wilderness and glaciers. I probably don't get as excited as other people by mountain peaks, ancient blue ice, and random fur-bedecked wildlife. What I do get excited about are random moments of serenity clad with a modicum of peace. There on the edge of that dock I experienced a moment of absolutely stillness. A bit of soul reviving peace as the sun danced off of the lake-ringing peaks that surrounded us. That moment was short lived and ruined by the sound of a particularly rambunctious bit of wildlife screeching:

"HEY KAT! They sell ice cream here!!!"

IMG_6818.JPG

Guess there's more magic at Glacier National Park besides the scenery...

IMG_6839.JPG

Good to know. I bought my ice cream at the shop down the street.

And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's WIFI sabbatical taking iPhone.

Want to read more @Generikat posts?


Click Here

Sort:  

Ahh, the completely unique stories of @generikat are back for our reading pleasure.

I must say, the day seemed odd when there was not a tail to read.

So good to hear that you found a moment of peace (albeit a short one). May your return to librarian awesomeness and homesteading hero be a smooth one.

Awe! I missed the @lydon.sipe comments a lot!

Have no fear my friend, I plan to soldier on, posting at least once daily, tales full of wackiness and weirdness for you and your wife's (hopeful) delight! You guys are totally adored by one short librarian and homesteader!

We adore you too! :)
image

Awe! You two are the bestest!!

Awesome! .... and howdy from Bozeman, MT :) I just met with a friend for breakfast this morning and she & I are planing a trip there this July. She recently moved here to work at one the local organic farms this season. If your planing a trip through Bozeman in you travels send me a message. :)

I love Bozeman! One of the best and fondest memories of my life took place in your town! I competed in Science Olympiad at MSU and let's just say that mischief occurred! lol! That might have been a while ago too.

I'm so excited that you and your friend are taking a trip to Glacier, and what a season she will have, there will need to be a break from all that farm work!

If I ever head east I will totally message you!

wow wonderfull
thanks for sharing

Thank you and you are most welcome!😊

Gorgeous shots, I would love to visit that place. Cheers

Thank you! It really is a fun place to visit, but hello, crowded! lol!

Beautiful pictures! Montana is a beautiful-- if somewhat wild-- state. Spent a bit of time around Bigfork and Polson by Flathead Lake... it's an amazingly beautiful area. Thanks for the share!

Thank you!😊 Used to compete against Bigforkians and Polsonians in sports, lovely areas, and I agree, Montana is beautiful and full of some of the most interesting people that you will ever meet, lol!

Why can't I never take shots like this?
Lovely photo of a beautiful place!

Trust me, it was total luck! Thank you for the kind words though, followed ya!

Thanks a lot bro.

great pictures, i especially love the shot of the lake and welcome back to steemiverse, steem on.

Thank you so much! I loved hanging out in the wild, but totally am happy to be back steeming on! lol! Hope you are having a fantastic night!

I could see if it said "Pooh" sold here as in Pooh Bear...
When I have lost power, being internet-less is bittersweet. Nice to spend time with the fam, but I admit the internet is my guilty pleasure.

Heh! The poo was paper made out of animal poo, but I like the Pooh bear better.

I totally understand what you mean, I don't really watch that much TV, but I really, really adore the Internet. Board games with the family are pretty awesome though, but the computer or tablets don't usually get thrown like the Risk board does, lol!!

Gorgeous photo of Lake MacDonald! I have been in Thompson Falls, Montana for 3 years now and visiting Glacier National Park is still on my Bucket List. Thanks for the inspiration and maybe we will visit this summer finally.

Thank you! It was such a lovely evening! I hope you get up the road to Glacier soon, but I totally understand. Thompson Falls is such a cool town, I lived out on Cherry Creek and still have fond memories of that place!

Oh wow! Cherry creek is gorgeous. I live on Blue Slide Road and love it. We have a monthly Blue Slide Ladies get together Pot Luck.

That Pot Luck sounds awesome! It's super gorgeous out your road too, lol! Bet you all have a ton of fun eating and chatting!

Hmmm, I wrote a big old dd comment here, much too long for words, but don't see it. Weird. Did it come through your machine there?

It most certainly did not, and now I am in mourning knowing that there is a big ol dd comment floating around cyberspace that I didn't get to behold. The sadz are real...

I'll look, but who knows where it went. This whole Internet thing...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40