Travel - Blog - Munich, Germany

in #travel6 years ago

Hello my fellow Steemians,

I left my second home Australia for a few months to travel overseas, visit family and friends in Europe and enjoy the summer over here.


I am in Munich at the moment and yesterday I spend the day with the rest of the @sitersartlab visiting the Lenbachhaus Museum at the Königsplatz which is the former City villa/palace of the 19th century painter Franz von Lenbach that was designed in an Italian renaissance style. The museum has a beautiful collection of works ranging from 19th century to contemporary artists.


I had the chance to see some of my all time favourite paintings in real life and it was just amazing.


1AED1258-4A38-462C-A2A6-3DC24878700C.jpg

We were sitting in the little garden sketching the facade although nearby there was the soundcheck for the Iron Maiden open air concert that night, so not much peace and quiet but still I managed to do a sketch. :)
I hope to find more time for further city sketching in the days to come.


IMG_4446.JPG


After that we walked through the city centre towards Schwabing and into the Hofgarten, where we sat down for a drink in the 'Biergarten' (beer garden') under the shade of the big trees, a typical Bavarian tradition on hot summer days . I love that Munich has that many parks and gardens so that the city feels green and everybody is outside to enjoy the nice weather.


Here is some more info:

(Franz Seraph Lenbach, after 1882, Ritter von Lenbach (13 December 1836, Schrobenhausen - 6 May 1904, Munich) was a German painter; known primary for his portraits of prominent personalities from the nobility, the arts, and industry. Because of his standing in society, he was often referred to as the "Malerfürst" (Prince of Painters)
Source


See you tomorrow for another travel story.


IMG_4258.PNG

Sort:  

Oh cool, I will try and make it!

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85