Country by Country 11: Bosnia and Herzegovina

in #travel7 years ago

20140818_134506_HDR.jpg

This series will go country by country through my two-year trip. I plan on sharing some experiences, thoughts, and photos of each country that I visited.

Country by Country 11: Bosnia and Herzegovina

baby flourish.png

While traveling through Croatia with my dad, we went through Bosnia and Herzegovina twice. Our tour group stopped in Mostar for lunch, as well as a smaller town for photos. I know that I probably shouldn't include this country on my list because we didn't actually sleep there, but I'm going to count it so that I can show off some of my photos.

Here are some of my photos of the town of Počitelj.

20140818_120728.jpg

A town with a mosque and a ruined fort on a hill.

20140818_121159_HDR.jpg

This looks like a nice place to have a beer.

20140818_121420_HDR.jpg

An interesting house on a hill.

20140818_122053_HDR.jpg

A nice valley view.

20140818_122201_HDR.jpg

A view of Počitelj.

20140818_123134_HDR-Edit.jpg

I spotted this mural under a bridge when we were walking back to our van. Considering the history of this region, it seemed like a powerful message.

baby flourish.png

After taking some photos in Počitelj, we went to Mostar for lunch. Mostar is famous for its bridge and the conflict that the city went through. The city is divided by a river with Christians and Muslims on opposite sides of the river. During the war, the bridge was broken.

20140818_133812_HDR.jpg

The Mostar bridge. Local stuntmen jump off the bridge for tourists.

20140818_134337_HDR.jpg

I got sick when I ate in Mostar. I had their specialty food which is meat and raw onions. I don't like onions, but I was trying to challenge myself a little bit. I ended up being sick and puking in a canoe later in the day.

20140818_133230_HDR.jpg

A beautiful, clear blue river runs through town.

20140818_133249_HDR.jpg

20140818_145105_HDR.jpg

The bridge.

baby flourish.png

And that's my post about Bosnia and Herzegovina. It was a beautiful place with a complicated history. I enjoyed my time there and sort of wish I had tried jumping off the bridge.

Be sure to keep an eye out for my next post when I'll visit Greece with my brother @doctorcrypto.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for posting in #travelphotography.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 19:43:29
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 13.15/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

It is so beautiful, both rivers and valleys here. Although I do not hate onion, but raw onion is quite terrible. Let's get better soon

Congratulations @fronttowardenemy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I ate (and drank) at the Sarajevska Brewery in Sarajevo a few times when I spent a couple weeks there. The food was phenomenal. The pivo, too.

This is my Notification List. If you would like to be added or removed from this list, please reply to this comment.

@iddm1dm
@grr8-one
@doctorcrypto
@beatseb
@achraf7b
@surfdog
@originalworks
@steemchiller
@loveliness0427

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fronttowardenemy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71