No man is an island

in #travel7 years ago

Hello, dear Steemians!

Before I start publishing posts regarding current worldwide problematics (LOL), I feel like I should introduce you to the place I come from. Just because it's really amazing and I am super proud of it! I don't actually live here for the whole year, as I have mentioned in my previous post, I live near Split in Croatia. But Vis feels more like home to me.

20180125_210417.png

It's the island where my mom was born and had lived. It's the island where I spent my joyful childhood, amongst sun rays, rocks, and palm trees.

20180125_210337.png

Other than my lovable childhood memories, there are 2 other reasons why I'm in love with this island.
The first one is its undeniable beauty.

13781761_1189395501113299_6109493002614794472_n.jpg
20180125_210115.png
20180125_210231.png

Secluded beaches, crystal water and much, much greenery! The natural beauty and genuine Meditteranean atmosphere of this gem among islands will surely make anyone fall in love with it and arouse their desire to keep coming back years to come.
Jonathan Bousfield, an English writer, may have given the best explanation of what it is that makes Vis so different from any other island in southern Croatia (and also from many others around the world):

Of course, we are talking about natural beauties and traditional Adriatic architecture, but the special attraction of Vis also lies in its atmosphere. During the summer Vis is considerably different from the islands of Hvar, Brač or Korčula. The main reason for this is probably that Vis offers only a very small number of hotel beds so this island is mainly visited by people who like it for their own specific reasons and not by “regular tourists” who may have seen its name in a brochure and thought it might be a nice place to visit.

As for us who apprehend its abundant history, we recognize the main reason for its uniqueness. The secret is in its half-century isolation it endured as a military zone during the period after World War 2. It was off limits to any foreign visitors, which turned out to be the key factor for the preservation of its unpolluted sea and air, unspoiled nature, as well as of people, who are the second reason why I'm personally in love with this place.

20180126_205101.png

The second you set foot on this island, you'll find yourself surrounded by people who have not been corrupted by the touristic commercialization, but have remained friendly and hospitable in a very authentic, native way. I suggest to every romantic, amicable soul out there to pay us a visit, and enjoy the company of welcoming fishermen who will always invite you to have srdele with them! I bet then you will fully realize the meaning of the saying no man is an island...

20180125_210212.png

All the best,

FotograPixx

Sort:  

Lovely introduction and description of where you grew up @fotograpixx. I look forward to reading more from your blog :-)

Thank you very much @raj808! I'll do my best to provide you and other Steemians with interesting content! :-)

Bok @fotograpixx pridruži nam se na novo podignutom Discord serveru za Hrvatske Steemit korisnike detaljnije o ideji možeš pročitati u linku ispod
(ispričavam se ukoliko si već tamo, ovaj komentar post-am po redu svima)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@ivan.atman/official-croatian-discord-server-is-up-and-croatian-steemit-association-is-up-hrvatska-udruga-steemit-korisnika-husk

Priključila sam se već :)
Hvala na informaciji! :)

@fotograpixx samo neka ti je tamo isto ime kao i ovdje radi lakseg raspoznavanja fotograpixx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67