Travel Japan Final Day Bye Bye Japan

in #travel7 years ago

tb.jpg
I will sorely miss Japan, the food, the culture, the people, everything. I have been to Japan twice now. The first time, I didn't do much as traveling with our friends baby was a bit difficult. Not to mention that our dear friend was sick the entire time.

This second time round, I did so much more. Fed some deer as it bows to us, climbed the gates of Fushimi, ate the best beef ever, handled a snake(more like, it handled me), discovered a green tea Kit Kat, MAID CAFE! So much more....

Also I am finally getting used to the complex but simple yet hard, Japan's train system. There are just way too many different train lines and reading Japanese is like trying to make out a word from a drawing. With each visit, experience adds up, soon, I will master catching trains.

....or avoid the hassle and stress and just get someone who can speak or read Japanese and let him guide you throughout Japan.....

Let's go home, but first, let's have a green tea Kit Kat for breakfast.
1.jpg
At first bite, it is sweet, at the end is bitter. Much like how I am feeling when leaving Japan. Good to go home to see friends and family. Going home also means going back to reality, it is sad and bitter.

No more waking up anytime, no more breakfast buffet, no more exploring and discovering new things, no more, no more...

Enough dramatics and let's head out. Decided to give my friends a go at finding the way and navigating the complex train system, that even locals get lost in.

This is my first picture as we drag our large suitcases to the train station. In the rain, a nine minutes walk turned to thirty, we got lost and soaking wet.
2.jpg

Our route that we usually took to get to the train station was closed. It was a shopping building and they don't open 'til 7 AM. Stood around while my friends look for the entrance to the station. Whilst waiting I took a photo of a man on his scooter in the rain, I know how you are feeling buddy.
3.jpg

After much debating, looking at google maps, my friends walking/running around the block to find the entrance and me being handed the reins again, we found our way to the station. Didn't really want to navigate and lead again. I was fine following, just relaxing and taking photos.

I had no problems getting lost as getting lost is part of traveling. This is something that some of my companions do not understand. They start to panic when they can't find their way.

All I had to do was open my mouth and ask one of the locals. There was an elderly lady who was walking by and I did my best at Japanese.

"Sumi mase.... Nankai Namba Station?.."
I had to repeat it as she couldn't understand my broken Japanese. She nods but didn't know where was the Nankai Namba Station so she asked her partner, that was in front of her about four meters away. He then signals with his hand and fingers pointing straight ahead then bends his arm to the left. Again, I did my best at Japanese, adding their accent.
"Arigato..... Domo"...

They nodded and went on their way. I don't know why I said "Domo", I then realized I learned that word from watching too many Anime series.

I got a clap from one of my companions who seemed impress with my broken plain Japanese. I'll take it. Walked to the direction the kind old couple gave us and here we are.

This is the main Namba station. There are two, the other one is named JR Namba, it is where JR pass holders can get to Namba without any fee.
4.jpg

This is what it looks like at 6:30 AM in Namba station, imagine Tokyo. Shinjuku station in Tokyo holds the record for being the busiest train station in the world. About one million and half people pass through that station in a single day.
5.jpg

6.jpg

Checked the board and it asked one of the staff. This time, catching the train was very straightforward. There was no changing lines, the train we are catching goes straight to Kansai Airport. Got to the platform and waited 10 minutes for the train. Per usual it was on time. Grabbed our assigned seats and went our way.

This photo is while passing the bay of Osaka. Yup, they built a rail line on an ocean. We can literally see violent waves outside, she's angry. I don't know why but every time I leave a country that I love, it always rains.
8.jpg

Also happened in New Zealand last year. Coincidence? Or, the country feels me? I smirk at the idea.

After only 40 minutes we reached Kansai Airport. As always, keep right on escalators.
9.jpg


You can also find where else I had been and other Steemit travel bugs at http://steemitworldmap.com/?author=foovler !steemitworldmap 34.5771053 lat 135.1739714 long Kansai Airport d3scr

After checking in we headed to our gate using one of the convenient trams.
12.jpg
That was so easy, got off the tram and it was only a short walk to our gate. This is something a big Airport should really look into and implement.

Waiting at the gate, struggling writing a blog on my phone, I was busting for a number one. Went looking for the toilet and what the hell is this!?
10.jpg

Are you telling me that an International airport in Japan aren't able to afford modern toilets? Or is this a way of keeping tradition? Maybe someone can make sense of this as I have no idea.

Anyhoo, that is it for Japan, for now. I will surely be coming back in the future. See you guys in the next one!
11.jpg


My Blogging Camera

©2017 All Rights Reserved @foovler

Sort:  

nice post " everytime i leave a country thatI love it always rains "

thanks for reading...

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=foovler
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-japan-final-day-bye-bye-japan


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

That was a gooooooddd read! Getting emotional here 🤗! Oh boy! I have ideas ready but soo lazy to edit pics and make a post. You're so good at this 😉.

Wow thanks, appreciate it..

I know how you feel. I suggest you keep a schedule and stick to it, no matter what. Me, I want to post at least once a day. I also tried to do a daily blog whilst traveling but Japan trains and lots of walking put a stop to that.

Being home, I can at least pump out one or more blog a day. Giving yourself a schedule or a deadline really works.

Good luck @dewdrop!

Nope? Should I?

It's very useful for me. I thought it could be useful for you too 😀.

I checked it out... what i learned is that users signing up but not active...steemit is not for everyone..

Great post! I'm going to Japan next month so your blogs really made me get excited for this upcoming trip!

Thanks, Japan is a country that I want to keep coming back to. I'm sure you will have a wonderful time.

Yes it will be my 8th time this time and I'm still finding new places and things to do

8th time!?! Was only my second.. proly c Okinawa next.. hmmm

Oh that would be so good! Summer!

It will be Winter when you go to Japan? Going to be cold! Bring extra blankets.. ehhe

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

We will miss your Japan stories, that's for sure, haha! Hope you made it home fine!

Thank you! Made it home fine... will miss Japan for sure..

I would imagine so!
@anomadsoul and me are about to start our trip hitchhiking to Steemfest, so your trip just ended and ours just started, haha!

hitchhiking to steemfest???? Wow, that's a bit adventurous.. Well, don't get, you know, ..... Be safe!

Haha, no worries I have a fair bit of hitchhiking experience!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65723.04
ETH 3470.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45