You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel Update: Fellow Steemians Make my Last Day in Mexico Very Special!

in #travel7 years ago

I love this girl! I read all your various posts about this meetup and I'm sure I cannot begin to compete in Bangkok. I want to go to that spring though. Mexico in that area was high on my list before I came here. But I'm still happy with my choice.

Sort:  

I see you resteemed that post. Thank you! You've done well regarding choosing Thailand, it can't be beat, especially for food and culture. Looking forward to steemit meet up Bangkok. That will surely be fun.

You're welcome. It's part of my new strategy to resteem multiple posts on various themes. Today was travel and meetups :) This girl with a million ideas already is going nuts now! Idea overload....

Did I mention I cannot eat Thai food? I have insulted the entire country with my pickiness. My Thai friends have this certain look they give me when I refuse food. No chilies, eggplant, noodles, tomatoes, or garlic to name the top reasons I do not eat normally here.

I eat market produce and BBQ meat on a stick for the most part. Thanks to the good old USA for my autoimmune disease. I'm actually really happy with my food here but it is not typical by any means. I have some videos to post that show you all the food I cannot eat as I walk through the vendors. It smells great though :)

Wow what a pisser! Not being able to eat the delicious Thai food. That's one of the main attractions for me coming there. Unbelievable what you mention in your other post regarding your experience in the USA.

Thanks for the advice regarding my post. If I keep writing and writing and it seems like I am. I'll certainly break the post into two or three posts. Like you were mentioning would be cool if we can get a group together while I'm there. Regardless I'd be thrilled if it's just you and I for an afternoon. I'm probably going to stick to the title I originally had, keeps the insulting nature of the post on me not on the country it's self. This is the original title I had.....

Travel Update: First week back in the USA after a three year absence! In Depth Report! Mind Blowing Culture Shock! Stranger in my Own Land!

Yes, my son is so mad at me. He loves Thai food and is still in California. He constantly asks me to just try it, but I really react badly to those ingredients. It's like a full body cramp (charlie horse way inside my body) for 24 hours and then a few days to recover. It's kind of like a horror movie but I'm in it. So I try not to eat the stuff that hurts me and try to eat all the "anti-inflammatory" foods.

I actually do really well here for food - especially compared to San Diego.

I could not find food at all in Laos the first time I was in Vientiane. Luckily I travel with seeds and various potions. The second time I was with a girl who found me some Indian food which is pretty much ok.

I can imagine the shock of seeing all the changes. It came on slowly while I was there so I was kind of used to it. I'm talking to a girl on here who just moved back home to Northern California after 3 years and she's having the same shock. I have some horror stories I will put on here.

For the moment I am commenting like a fiend. I got $41 for 1 comment yesterday!!!! Visions of relaxing about money are dancing in my head.

Yes, definitely let's get together no matter what. We have to post photos here anyway and I could really use a break :) Do you know what area you will stay in? BTS or MRT?

Wow, that's intense I feel for you with your food sensitivities, but I commend you on your positive attitude! I can imagine how hard it can be for you. 41 dollars for a comment. Incredible! I'm not sure where I'll be staying. I'm in a toss of up of the traditional Ko San Road Backpacker experience (actually like a block or two outside the heart so it's more calm) or not. Have any recommendation?

Yeah it's hard not to be weirded-out when returning to such a satanically socially engineered society. Peaceful Thailand seems very normal to me compared to the mentally deranged I see here. Anyway bit strong language. I've got get steemin. Tomorrow.....manana lol!

I see it's getting to you! I did not even want to get into the people and their attitudes. I was more concerned with protecting you from poison!

"No one needs anyone, they don't even just pretend." That's from "I'm afraid of Americans" David Bowie - the first song I put on my blog here lol. (Happy 4th!) I have blasted that song for years. I will analyse the video here one day maybe. But the key takeaway is that no one smiles in the video except for the psychotic guy and even he is sneering more than smiling.

I have a many-part series on my "real" blog about trying to smile at people in California - it did not go well and I stopped after about a year of agony. I should have moved to Thailand where every single person is delighted to see me. The joy I can cause at 2 am in my 7-11 is overwhelming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60603.53
ETH 2702.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44