The Art of Travel #7 - Hiking in Dalmatia

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

DSC07708.jpg

I used to live in city named Split in the south of Dalmatia for four years. I've already made a post about Split and it's curiosities. Split is located right beneath this hill called Marjan that elevates 178 meters above the clean and refreshing sea.
It's completely surrounded by city on the one side and by sea on all other sides. I actually lived five minute walking distance away from the main gate that secured the entrance to the hill, making sure no cars enter.
Given this restriction on vehicles it was a perfect sanctuary for someone immersed in studies looking to blow off some steam by jogging, sprinting, riding a bike or simply by walking.
Needless to say I've spent countless hours there and it provided me with unique opportunity to take some great photos mostly with my smartphone.

Although I'm happy to share these photos with you I have to say that non of those really capture the essence of that place. In that I have failed, but I hope I'll convey the part of it. It's beautiful pine forest, beautiful forest paths and breath taking views once you ascend at the top.

DSC07452.JPG

One of the charms are that there are so many paths to take. Just as in life, you chose one every day and see where does it take you on the end of the day. I seldom threaded the same path twice, always choosing the path that seemed interesting. Transfering the same mentality into life produced, I think, much more diverse and interesting experience for me. Routine is the killer of lives.

DSC07456.JPG

You may end up on the sunny side or in a shade. Doesn't matter. It's all experience that can benefit you if you have the right mindset. Your mindset is the most powerful tool in the universe. Capable to turn every calamity to it's advantage.
DSC07650.JPG

The interplay between pine forest, rocks and stones and the sea as everpresent background whose silent breaths can be heard if you are present in the moment. The rocks are often filled with rock climbers crawling like little ants when viewed from distance. I myself never did it here and it's one of things I regret. The feeling of being suspended by thin rope, gripping intensely on small protruding rocks under the heat of sun and beautiful saturated colours of sea. It must have been quite the experience.

But don't lose your sense of scale when you get there. Even though you are mostly wondering how beautiful the views over the sea and city are, if you look around yourself you'll find small gifts of nature waiting to be captured by your memory and your shutter.

DSC07495.JPG

That's the beauty of macro photography. Makes us apperciate all the things that miss our perception.

DSC07472.JPG

As you progress more and more, deeper and deeper into the woods, following the less beaten path you start upon beautiful plants and views on sea through the canopy of the surrounding trees. By following these less known paths I was able to find myself few locations for meditations which I practice for 7 years now. Finding a nice stone, sitting on it, surrounded by wild vegetation and occasional sound of some bug and wind blowing through the canopy.

DSC07466.JPG

Place of power

DSC07458.JPG

One of my meditation places

The climb to the top can be pretty demanding. The road is well kept and pretty wide if you take the longer route, but in that case you miss out on all the little things you get while taking the less known roads. However, all the way along the main road there are spectacular views I wouldn't miss. I've often ran up to the top and it took me on average 45 minutes with good pace. The views from the top were reward in themselves.

DSC07664.JPG

One the one side your sight falls on the city of Split itself. Poljud football stadium to be precise. It might not be the best looking football arena, but the place it find itself in is as you can judge by yourself -beautiful. Locked between sea and mountain in the background.

Should you look to the west and south you shall be greeted by endless sea. Waves creating hypnotizing texture on the surface of Adriatic sea and birds doing their acrobatic moves in flight are more than enough to fill your heart with deep appreciation for being alive. It's one of the places I could always run to when I felt like escaping. At least for me I would say that it was a spiritual experience. Especially in the dusk with the sky coloured with red and pink on the one side and purple and deep blue on the other.

DSC07656.JPG

DSC07653.JPG

I wish I could show you night photos. Sky is littered by little specks of light and the moon rises over rustling city. I've spent one of my best days and nights on that little hill. Hope you visit it if you come to Split.

Good night Steemians

DSC07468.JPG

Thank you for your time

All content is original content
Cheers,
Matt

Sort:  

Wow! It's gorgeous! I will definitely need to put that on my bucket list!

The photos don't do it justice. You should see it during summer when day passes into night. Magical.
Thanks for the comment :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 22:32:15
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 129.66/200.00
Total Photos: 12
Total comments: 44
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.51 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Beautiful photos of a gorgeous place. I need to put this on my bucket list of places to visit.

looks like a lovely place :)

It really is :)

wow it looks really amazing and the way you walk and describe the pictures almost makes me feel like I just visited the place, I really enjoyed this post doc.

Thanks :)

I love how you use the views as metaphors to relate in life! Thanks for sharing this post with us! And by the way, nice pics! Love it! 😀

Thanks Andy

The first picture is breathtaking. Basically pulling the viewer into the frame!

Thanks, it's one of my favorite :)

outstanding, such a breathtaking view.
Good work man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32