Car travel with Coco!!

in #travel7 years ago


Taking a Road Trip?
Traveling with your dog isn't that easy especially if you will be driving long distances or plan to be away for a long time. Here are a few car travel safety tips to help you prepare for a smooth and safe trip.

  1. Prep your pet for a long trip.
    Get your pet geared up by taking him on a series of short drives first, gradually lengthening time spent in the car.
  2. Bring your pet's rabies and other vaccination record. Coco has Banfield Wellness plan so I don't have to bring copies of his records. You can download Banfield App and get his vaccination record anytime and anywhere!! ( so convenient)
  3. Keep your pets safe and secure in a well-ventilated crate or carrier.

    I put the crate in the trunk and traveling bag in the front. 30 min into car ride, Coco threw up because he was nervous. I had to put him where he could see me. 7 hrs of driving was okay for him because I was there with him!

    Prep a pet-friendly travel kit. Bring food, a bowl, leash, plastic bags, grooming supplies, medication and first-aid. Pack a favorite toy or pillow to give your pet a sense of familiarity. Be sure to pack plenty of water, and avoid feeding your pet in a moving vehicle. Your pet's travel-feeding schedule should start with a light meal three to four hours prior to departure, and always opt for bottled water. Drinking water from an area he or she isn’t used to could result in stomach discomfort.

    Never leave your animal alone in a parked vehicle. On a hot day, even with the windows open, a parked automobile can become a furnace in no time, and heatstroke can develop. In cold weather, a car can act as a refrigerator, holding in the cold and causing the animal to freeze to death.

If you love Coco and want to see more photos of him, please check out my previous posts!
https://steemit.com/photography/@firstveterian3/life-of-coco-miniature-dachshund
https://steemit.com/pet/@firstveterian3/30-min-diy-bench-makeover

Sort:  

Great photos, I love Coco, he is so cute! This will help me a lot when next time I get to travel with my dog. Thanks for sharing and Steem on!

Very interesting tour and cute dog!

I need a good puppy!

This is my travel cooking set up right now!

https://steemit.com/camping/@blackbook/living-out-of-my-car

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77