You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Travels - Red Fort - The Pride of India

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

As a residential security expert and physical security professional, I love old fortifications like these. There is a lot involved and generations of knowledge used to build them. Attack angles, lines of fire, and number of fighting positions are just the beginning.

They naturally wanted them to be both beautiful and efficient. By efficient I mean defense capability. In my line of work, the primary objective is layered defense. The more layers, the more time. No fortification was impenetrable. The better ones just gave the defenders more time.

This one is a very good example to study. They have tons of firing positions and very few blind spots. I wonder why they drained the moat though. That would be an interesting thing to discover. Perhaps the maintenance costs were too high to keep it filled in with water.

Even the way the fortifications were laid out was important. The objective was to route attackers into kill cages, open ground, or where your defenses were the strongest. The images above will give you a good example of how they were working towards that objective.

This fort was designed well, and the architects were masters of their craft!

Sort:  

My goodness. The best comment I've seen on Steemit all day. You really seem to know what you're talking about @finnian. I never saw forts from a security point of view before and come to think of it now, everything you're saying makes complete sense to me.

Thank you for the compliment!

I'm a residential security expert and student of physical security in general. Studying old fortifications can teach a person a lot about how to secure a modern building or home. Residential security specifically is seriously lacking in most areas, and I'm planning to correct that problem.

Physical security is my passion, but I don't plan to do what most others do. They usually do the corporate work since it pays so much, but I will help the individual home owner instead! I'm currently working towards my Physical Security Professional board certification through ASIS, and I'm also a Private Investigator in Virginia.

If you have the time, check out some of my old posts about residential lighting, barriers, etc. I'll post more in the future too.

Such a cool profile you got. I am definitely following you and checking out your other posts.

Thank you! I'm following you and Tech Trends too now. :)

Interesting thoughts; enjoyed reading

Love your insight!

They don't build structures like this anymore.

Thank you! A home can be built with physical security in mind and still be your castle, but it won't exactly look like one of these. :)

For real!

Mosts modern buildings are eye sores.

You got a 7.98% upvote from @minnowvotes thanks to @grow-pro!

@finnian
Wow!!
Very well explained :)

Thank you! I'd love to be there in person. It is a beautiful site.

I hope, you visit here soon :)

Ya.....it might not be there after a while.
And even if it is, it would be modified for maintenance...😥

Regarding the moat, dengue's been a prevalent disease in Delhi for quite some time now. Maybe to prevent the breeding of mosquitoes, they drained the otherwise stagnant water?
Fun fact: You'll notice a small platform in front of the Emperor's throne in Diwane-i-Am. That's where the minister would stand to read out all the cases.
Source: The audio tour I took at the Red Fort recently. It's worth the price.

Yes! This makes perfect sense. Thanks. :)

Thank you for taking interest in the Red Fort :)

i visited here and this place is really amazing come and visit all.

You got a 38.46% upvote from @upyou thanks to @grow-pro!

I would like to also visit Red Fort

Agreed Architects were the master of their art and nice detailed comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58176.03
ETH 2475.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40