Rollinia the lemon meringue pie fruit!

in #travel7 years ago

20170812_070415.jpg
We are currently housesitting very near Cairns, even nearer to a beach!, so we visited Rusty's market and had a look at some of the more exotic fruit and veg. As we were nearly leaving I spotted this Rollinia...well actually I saw the sign that said Lemon meringue pie fruit! Lemon meringue pie is one of my all time favourite desserts so I had to try it!
20170812_073226.jpg
Rollinia is a relative of the custard apple and doesn't travel very well after being picked because it bruises easily so is unlikely to be found anywhere in Australia outside the tropical regions. It is originally a native of the Amazon rainforest .
20170812_073244.jpg
You don't eat the skin or the seeds, there were quite a few seeds in mine but I scooped the flesh out with a spoon and discarded the seeds.
Did it taste like lemon meringue pie?..Well theres a definite lemon tang, quite like lemon sherbet but not overpowering, very pleasant! I will have to try a few more just to make sure!

Sort:  

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @unprovoked. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fernweh to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

WOW! Thanks For Share :)
I will follow your account, please follow me at @nikunjo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61