Feeding Lizards on Iguana Island, Cuba

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

snap (1).jpg

Don't lose your receipt in Cuba. There are approximately zero electronic transactions on the island. It's all cash and paper. And if you lose the paper, how are they to know you bought a ticket for your boat ride out to Cayo Iguana (Iguana Island)?

Luckily, my taxi driver (a friend of my host family) was a smooth operator. Upon arrival to the marina, he talked to the boat guys and promised to bring my ticket to them when returning later in the day to pick me up. Just think: I would've missed out on all this...


We took a two hour ride out to the island on this catamaran.

20171231_150322.JPG

IMG_0606.JPG
Looking back at Cuba

After the relaxing ride, we arrived to Iguana Island. Yeah, there was a lovely beach under warm, sunny skies...

IMG_0616.JPG

...but the real draw was the wildlife.

IMG_0634 (2).JPG

Hmm, how can I get closer?

IMG_0618 (2).JPG

I brought crackers just for this.

IMG_0627 (2).JPG

I asked other tourists if they wanted to feed the iguanas. They sure did.

IMG_0622 (2).JPG

But I don't think any of them fed them like this.

IMG_0643 (1).JPG

IMG_0654 (1).JPG

It turns out my iguana whispering wasn't all that impressive. The animals here see people, and they think "meal time." This is because they get to enjoy all the leftovers from lunches provided by the tour. We ate under the shade of the gazebo. The iguanas waited just outside.

IMG_0682 (2).JPG

IMG_0683 (2).JPG

They weren't the only animals here for tourist food. Ladies and gentlemen, I introduce to you the Cuban hutia.

IMG_0688 (2).JPG

They are about the size of a cat, and they weren't shy about hopping into the gazebo in search for grub.

Check out the video I put together of me feeding these beasts:

And just for a bonus, here's a shot of a hermit crab.

IMG_0672.JPG

Next time, I write to you about experiences in Havana.

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fedoraonmyhead
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=feeding-lizards-and-rodents-on-iguana-island-cuba


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's TravelDigest #174

It's an honor! Thank you, @steemitworldmap.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72