I Wear This Daily - Because It SAVES Me Daily

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I wear this survival bracelet every single day.



20046038_319249621861077_2128676014_n.jpg
(SEE - I am a real person!)
It was given to me by a friend I made while I was homeless and strung out on heroin on the streets of Vancouver last year.

He gave it to me the day before I left for rehab and told me he was headed to get help himself a few days later. I left Vancouver on December 10th a broken man, clutching this bracelet and the few belongings I had left in my backpack.

I have spent some time trying to get in touch with my friend, with no luck yet :/

--

However, my buddy who gave me the bracelet apparently is still out there ripping and running on the streets. :[

Breaks my heart to think about it, honestly. But I wear this bracelet as a reminder of a time period in life when I had nothing left and was on the verge of death. I wore it all through rehab.

In fact, I've worn it every day since the day I left Vancouver and got clean, December 10th. It's my reminder that while I made it out, others are still struggling with this insidious affliction.

I wear it to remind myself of where I've been, what I've been through, and how far I've come. And I'll continue to wear it every day so that I never forget - because addiction is a cunning enemy. I can never let my guard down to it, I have to be resilient always.

--

It also is pretty nifty to have some paracord on you at all times, especially when you're a perpetual traveler like me - never know when you may need it. So it's meaningful, but is also useful!

--

For those still struggling with addiction, just know you're not forgotten or alone. Addiction is a tough bastard, but you can turn the tables and regain control of your life.


Share your story with someone who will listen. Ask for help. Reach out to others. I didn't win my fight alone - I went to rehab, but mainly it was my family that helped me maintain my sanity and kick the shit out of this monster.

--

It's a daily battle and will be forever. Today, I'm just keeping my buddy who gave this bracelet to me in my thoughts - I hope he gets the help he needs so he can live the life he deserves to have. No one deserves to live and die as an addict. No one.
❤️

-Panda

U5dsNRDwuZUA6gtNC7EzKpWPtkoBFgZ.gif

Sort:  

Good to hear that you're doing well and safe now. This story reminds me that everyone has a past and life is a learning process. It must've been a turning point in your life that you've gone to Thailand and live a new life.

I hope one day you would meet your friend again.

Thanks brother - you're absolutely right. We all have our stories, maybe a dark past, who knows. It's how we turn those past struggles into something that can be leveraged to benefit our future lives and improve the quality of the person we are - that's what counts, in my opinion. Becoming a better human based on your past, no matter what it may be.

I hope I meet him again too, and I hope he's clean. But honestly, I fear that things may still be going awry for him, if this poison hasn't already stolen him from this life. :/

Glad to hear you're doing better bro (: It's always great seeing people overcome any obstacle! 💯❤️💥

Thanks a bunch! It's great to actually feel again.

Really glad you're ok dude.
Great post buddy. Stay strong and Steem on.
@tremendospercy

Thanks brother. Sorry for the late response - I haven't been getting reply notifications :[

Mucho love.

Hey man, I've been there before and I'm really glad to see you're still clean. It's good to have something to keep reminding yourself how strong you have been and how far you have come man. It's a shame that you're buddy is still out there... It happens to the best of us sometimes unfortunately.... Lost some of my best friends, and those still alive sometimes still struggle... Glad to hear things are well man

Thanks man...it's a dirty lifestyle and weighs you down. It's not fun losing people you care about to that shit either :/ I never heard back from my friend and it's been over 7 months now. I make sure I wear this every day so that I don't forget about him, the shit i did, and the shit i put everyone through. One of the few things I own that has sentimental value.

The other is a necklace I was given here in Thailand - think I shared that story when I first joined.

Things are well in this regard man. I trust you're still on the wagon too man? Stay strong, no matter what.

Thanks for sharing this. The best to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48