LEIRIA: MY FIRST TIME IN A CASTLE

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello friends of Steemit today I want to tell you about the trip I made to Portugal in 2013, in which I had the opportunity to know many places that I was dying to know, but I could also be in a place that was not in my plans to visit and It ended up being a complete surprise, it is about Leiria a city of Portugal of about 150 thousand habitants and located in the north of Lisbon. 

My visit to Leiria was by complete coincidence, since the original plan was to visit Porto but to arrive 15 minutes late to the bus station I lost that bus and in the short time that I had during that trip it only occurred to me to think: Where is the next bus going? Its near? And yes, so it was that as a matter of destiny I came to Leiria, and I really do not regret that bus that I lost because Leiria, despite being small, is charming and also gave me the opportunity to: enter in a castle by first time in my life!  

When leaving the bus station in Leiria I could appreciate a very beautiful square, a lot of grass and trees that always embellish any place in my opinion, the city looks very flat, but undoubtedly highlights the great rock formation and the “Castelo de Leiria” in the top. 

When I saw this landscape I did not think of anything else: "I'm going to climb even if it takes me all day" and so it was, I walked to the top without much hurry, just enjoying the landscape that was appearing with each step until I reached the final prize of the walk that was to enter to this beautiful castle and feel like in the Lord of the Rings movie.

The Castle of Leiria is a medieval construction that dates back to the year 1135, is huge construction for the time, which was sent to build by D. Afonso Henriques King of Portugal, as a defense to the Moor invasions that occurred in these times mainly in the South of Portugal, it is so decided to build strategically on the top of the mountain a castle between Coimbra and Santarém. In the midst of invasions this beautiful castle received multiple attacks, so much of its construction is damaged despite various restoration campaigns that have existed around this castle since 1915, however it is possible to see different rooms with real weapons and part of the story which makes it a great  experience.

Another of the wonders of climbing up to this beautiful castle is the great panoramic view of the city that can be enjoyed, from all angles it is possible to appreciate different points of the city, it is even possible to climb the towers which makes it an amazing experience.

This castle stands out for its construction, for being at the top of a rock formation, for its large towers and undoubtedly for its beautiful gardens that make you imagine how it was newly built. It is also possible to see multiple secret passages to which it is not possible to access, and of course to find a "secret chamber" style door is not at all difficult, where one observes is like feeling inside a movie.

When you are in Portugal do not miss the opportunity to take a road trip, which will surely come out surprised and in love with some beautiful city of Portugal. As it happened to me with this fantastic error that came out of having lost a bus, I only hope to return very soon and learn more about the beautiful Leiria.

Tell me, have you ever been in Leiria? Tell me your recommendations for my next trip, which will undoubtedly have to be longer to know everything that this city has to offer.

Hugs!

You can find me in the networks and we continue sharing   

Blog: https://fatimacarolinablog.blogspot.com 

Instagram: @fatimacarolinablog 

Twitter: @fatimacarolblog 

Pinterest: @fatimacarolinablog   


NOTE: Post and pictures are my authorship and have been taken from my blog: https://fatimacarolinablog.blogspot.com/2018/01/leiria-mi-primera-vez-en-un-castillo.html  

Sort:  

Leiria and its castle are very beautiful. And Portugal has so many interesting places to visit that it's difficult to name just one! :) You definitely must visit Porto, but Coimbra and the roman ruins at Conímbriga are great to check, Aveiro and its river in the middle of the city, Figueira da Foz for a walk at the huge marginal by the sea, and all the Minho area are also a must! :)

Wow! thank so much for your recomendation! I ´ve read so many good things about Porto, Coimbra and Braga.
Now I have on my list: Porto, Coimbra, Braga, Aveiro, Figueira da Foz and Minho. That´s a great travel :D
Thank you much!

Braga is part of the Minho region, so if you plan to visit all the Minho region you will be visiting a lot of beautiful cities - Braga, Guimarães, Viana do Castelo, Póvoa de Lanhoso, Ponte de Lima, and so on and so on... :) It's a "not to miss" region!

@gazetagaleguia percura e visibiliza posts relacionados cos territorios de fala portuguesa.
Teu traballo foi mencionado no post Castelos de Portugal // Portugal Castles
Obrigados polas túas contribucións.

@gazetagaleguia searches (and make visible) for posts related to the Portuguese speaking territories.
Your work has been mentioned in the post Castles of Portugal // Portugal Castles
Thanks a lot for your contribution.

Wow!! Thank you so much! I am really glad that you like it! :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 21:20:14
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 7.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70