Watching Thai Boxing in Hua Hin

in #travel6 years ago

thai1.jpg

One of the most exciting and exotic things, and a great photo opportunity, was when I got to see Thai boxing for the first time in real life.

My travel companion has been training Thai boxing for years so of course we had to go see a match. It was on a small gym and on a Thursday night, so it wasn't a big event and most of the fighters were pretty inexperienced, but for me it was still very interesting. So not ask me anything about the actual sport, I know nothing about it.

From a photographic point of view, it was an interesting challenge for me, something very different from what I usually do. I want to teach myself more and more about photography every day, so I was really excited to get a new kind of subject to point my camera at. I think I nailed it on the first and last picture, those are definitely my own favourites, I hope you like them too.

Shot with the Nikon D7200 and Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6.

thai2.jpg

thai3.jpg

thai4.jpg

thai5.jpg

thai6.jpg

thai7.jpg

thai8.jpg

thai9.jpg

thai10.jpg

thai11.jpg

thaivika.jpg

Sort:  

very nice picture. personally i love taekwondo as im a student of this wonderful martial arts. Thai Boxing or muay thai is quite hazardous as your knees and elbow injuries are for life. but then again its with every martial arts or any sort of sports.
you got an eye. love watching what you see and how you capture them on your lens. beautiful. keep them coming.

That's pretty bad ass! I can't imagine myself ever even trying anything like that, don't want to get my ass kicked😅

Thank you very much, it always makes me feel a little fuzzy inside when I get compliments like that🤗

shooting procedures look like people who are experts in the field of photography, but the color is a bit dark. good luck my friend ...

Brutal sport and a brutal martial art. Especially considering how many of the practitioners are raised for the sole purpose of competing.

thai boxing always made me remember about muai thai,
is that same?

Yes, it's the same thing.

I need to learn how to take photos! I’ve been using my iPhone haha

Most would say that it isn't about the tools, but that is a lie :D Though you can take some pretty decent shots with a phone if there is enough light.

So true, i'll just use a filter lol

i'm jealous!!! I would love to start going to fights with my hubby, its the only event we would both be interested in :)

I try learning as much as I can about photography also but, with kids its pretty much quick tips here and there. I want to learn photoshop and lightroom. I started last year, but then I got unexpectedly pregnant and well that book had to be read first :)

That is one quite surprising interest to have for both of you, very random! :D

I'd actually advice staying away from Photoshop and Lightroom, when just starting to learn more about photography. My philosophy in photography is that Photoshop is only to enhance a little this and that, but if the photo itself is already bad, no amount of photoshopping will fix it. I also happen to be lazy, so if I can manage to get the picture just right without Photoshop (other than raw conversion), I'm a happy camper!

Yes it is :) I don't know many women who like to watch fights.

Me too. I reevaluate the photo over and over again, through the lens, before I take the picture. Pictures I am going to keep as they are I usually do nothing to. I like them raw. However, if I was to do it professionally with sittings; a lot of people want photoshop or lightroom done photo's. Plus I want to take several of my photos and make them into a different picture.

'uncovered, but topless men don't count : )
Good choice - black and white images. Small crowd of spectators, but all seem European. Do they put on contests for tourists?

Sorry to disappoint ;) The gym was near a popular touristy area so maybe that’s why there were so many tourists watching, but there were locals too, but you can’t sed them because they were sitting on the same side as us.

Nice Eve! Shit is looking good!

Thank you Ruben! 😊

Wow....
These pictures are incredible. That second photo....
I don't know the right words. You have just done a really nice job with these. There is a future for you in photography if you want it. Well done.

Thank you so so much, I'm so happy to hear that you see that there just might be something to it in my photography. I still consider myself very much a rookie in it but I'm very passionate about it.

I see you have changed your avatar, hi for the real you! :)

You are making it happen and have a great eye and style. It will be cool to see how you keep progressing.
Ha ha! Thanks. The weird puking monkey thing had gotten old.

Huh, synchronicity.

I have an Everlast Cardio Bag on the way. Punching the shit out things is just the ticket after a stressful day of trading.

Those fighters look tenacious, I like the tattoo on his back.

I get distracted by things like that, beautiful tattoos. Many of the fighters had those traditional tattoos, I assume with a lot of religious meanings to them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57014.79
ETH 2478.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29