Preparation Is the Key, Or Is It?

in #travel6 years ago

fjkss.jpg

Me and @escapist are the type of people who prepare for anything and everything well before any travels, and during travels. Come rain, hail, sunshine or zombie apocalypse, we got it covered. We have backups for backups and duplicate tickets. Reservation numbers, addresses, bus routes and timetables are all figured out and memorised in the form of a song like in pre school. You know, just in case all four electronic appliances get stolen or break suddenly and we have to rely on our brains like some cave men, how arcade! Passport, phone and money checks happening every 10 minutes to make sure nothing gets left behind. We pack everything well in advance and communicate about the activities we might attend and need to prepare for, and decide who brings the shampoo and which one takes the toothpaste. I’m surprised we haven’t bought our own parachutes for the flights…

By preparing for every possible scenario, and saying that we do this in order to not have to stress out about anything when we travel, what actually ends up happening is that we stress about EVERYTHING!

This time something is different.

I don’t know what happened but we booked the flights at the end of last year, got the hotel a couple months back, packed and checked the bus schedule on the previous evening, without spending really any time planning and coordinating during or in between. We haven’t stressed about anything, just been having laughs and chilling all the way, and killing the dzone chat with our horrible humour.

We discussed about this yesterday evening when we both noticed that WOW, the preparations for this holiday has been very different from our norm, and it feels so GOOOD!

So why have we been stressing and planning so much on every little trip we have taken before? I truly do not know the answer to that. We both are great problem solvers and we know that what ever happens, we can easily come up with a new plan on the spot, no doubt. We have worked in high stress jobs and we don’t crack under pressure. We always bounce the ideas off of each other and end up with a good solid strategy we both agree on, and execute it with 100% success rate.

We like some luxury but we are definitely not princesses either, and are not afraid to get our hands dirty, so why have we acted like measuring how much dry shampoo one needs for a weeks stay is an important part in packing!? We are not afraid to admit it’s unnecessary, stupid and hilarious. The packing preparations are not even about saving money once in the actual destination, if we need something, we really do not give a shit how much it costs, that we can worry about later.

On our prior excursions, we haven’t stressed during the actual stay in the new town, but we have spend waaaaay too much energy and time for meaningless preparations and during transitions. Though, I do think that one should always be prepared for the zombie apocalypse.


Agains all odds, the bff is so relaxed that she is sleeping next to me on the plane, she never sleeps on busses or trains! It’s usually me who does that.

PS. In all it’s irony, I was wearing a t-shirt stating “overthinking”, as I wrote this on the plane.

We are now finishing the first day in Budapest and we think this city is very beautiful and we can not wait to explore more!

Sort:  

Wow it looks like a nice camp you've got set up for the night!

Fuck you😂

You guys are adorable, my favourite Steemit ship: escapistuncovered (um, still working on that nickname...)

I am totally amazed how you can plan everything. Last time I came to the airport, I didn't even know where I was gonna go - I just bought the cheapest tickets I found...which got me to Portugal for some reason...too bad I haven't packed almost anything (#neverprepared). Had to salvage a tent and pitch it on an empty beach. Woke up to a group of local homeless people. They didn't speak English but offered me some kind of bread...
God, I should really start planning my trips better!

Awwwww you<3 Made us feel all sorts of happy and cuddly.

But damn girl, we need to give you some pointers, you are a mess when traveling! 😂 #escapistuncoveredhomeschooling

I would totally support that hashtag, maybe you should write some kind of post with tips on how to plan your travelling. Although, in my case, the first point would have to be to find a person who can do all the planning for me :D

Join us! We are professional.

Where do I sign up? :D

@eveuncovered
@escapist

Freands Forever

I am really like it

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Travel yang indah dan bagus

It sounds likes you have become more relaxed in your travels because you have become more accustomed to traveling together and to traveling in general. It is normal to feel nervous or overwhelmed when you are newer to traveling, especially if you hear horror stories of things going wrong for others on their adventures. But, the thing about adventuring is that it is imperfect and teaches us many things. Have fun!
Ivy

I guess I found steemit a bit too late and catching up with your previous reputation in time was impossible from the start...Pity. 😉
well in that case congrats with a level up.

Lol that pic in the first comment, I had a nice laugh. Hope you will have a nice trip there.Oh and congratz on the 70 rep.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #27! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually ☺️

who cares

No.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42