Day Out in Uppsala

in #travel6 years ago

up1.jpg

For our Saturday during the midsummer in Sweden, we decided that we would spend the day in a smaller city called Uppsala, only about a half an hour train ride away from Stockholm. We had a pretty late start to the day, and we did some work before leaving, ended up missing one train and picking up a friend to come with us to work as guide number two. It took us probably three hours to get to our destination and I think it was closer to 5pm when we finally arrived to Uppsala, oops.

Uppsala has a small town vibe, but it's a big university city and the archbishop of Sweden sits in the French style gothic cathedral you see in these pictures. The cathedral is one of the biggest landmarks in Uppsala and because it's the highest church in all of Northern countries, the towers can be seen from all over the city. I think it was a lot more peaceful on Saturday than it would normally be, because most people flee the city to summer cottages for midsummer festivities. Our guide number two was very familiar with Uppsala and was telling us all sorts of little facts about the town but I'm bad at listening and I zone out often when I'm looking for something to take a picture of. And I'm always trailing after everyone else because I see something I want to shoot and run around the corner.

I had a hard time photographing because the weather was dull grey at first, and then went to full sunshine, neither of which is good for me in terms of photography. I was first trying to shoot with the Sigma 50-100mm but I ended up discarding all the pictures I took with it because I was not feeling it at all. I ended up changing to the 35mm Nikkor lens, and went for a black and white approach and started to get more into it.

I wish we had more time to roam the city, we couldn't even get in to the church or any other building because everything was closed by the time we got there. I am definitely heading back one day.
up2.jpg

up3.jpg

up4.jpg

up5.jpg
One thing I remember was that this tower in a university building used to be a pathology operating theatre in the olden days because this is where you could get the best light.

up6.jpg

up7.jpg

up10.jpg

up9.jpg

up11.jpg

up8.jpg

Tune back in later for the part two from Uppsala, with more street photography type of shots

Sort:  

You made the right choice on turning it b&w, @eveuncovered. It adds emphasis on the subject of the shots, and highlights the gothic architecture.

Great work!

what an amazing place this is! Just amazing.

Love the way you document things! Just started a dedicated travel guide with aims to encourage locals to write about their home countries / places they have made home. Would love to have you involved if your keen! https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@thetravelseries/introducing-the-travel-series-the-community-initiative-by-yasminep

nice pictures! I ve never been there but i think Stockholm is a place to visit!

I definitely recommend Stockholm if you ever get to Scandinavia :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58913.67
ETH 2640.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42