At the Abandoned Rummu Quarry

in #travel6 years ago

rumm1.jpg

After doing some mild trespassing, we climbed on top of the spoil tip to get these amazing views over the now water filled quarry and the, also abandoned, prison next to it.

The water is crystal clear and you can quite easily see the building that are half, or even completely submerged in the water. @greddyforce told us that a lot of divers come here, and I have no doubt that the scenery is even more amazing underwater. I called my mom about this place, because my parents dive, and she did say that she had read about the place on a diving magazine, and she was very interested about it.

People come to swim and hang out on the beach in the summertime, many climbing to the buildings and jumping to the water from there. I also was very tempted to take a dip in the water, but I'm very sensitive to cold, so I left that to a possible next time somewhere in the future.

Shot with the Nikon D7200 and Sigma 50-100mm f/1.8.

rumm2.jpg

rumm3.jpg

rumm4.jpg

rumm5.jpg

rumm6.jpg

Sort:  

beautiful photos,.... pro skills

Clear mirror water, a tree on a building... also on this last picture the windows on the last floor are arches upside down in reality. Quite surreal.
Congratulations for the well executed post. Thank You for sharing.

I didn't actually even notice the arches being upside down in the building, thanks for pointing it out, pretty surreal for sure :)

Wow, the water is so calm and the reflection is also perfect...... just amazing.... 👍👍👍

When did the Zombies come out?

We waited for hours and they never did!

Hola @eveuncovered
Waaooooo
Que nota. Un pueblo misterioso dentro de las aguas.
En mi país hay una represa que tiene un pueblo hundido en las aguas y en el 2.010 cuando la sequia fue muy fuerte el Efecto del Niño la Iglesia aparecio de repente.
Eso es en el Estado Táchira, la Represa Uribante Caparo. El pueblo se llamaba Potosí.
Aqui pongo dos fotografías.
Saludos

Wao! What a nice shot. Your camera is perfectly lovely and I love it.

These are great, Eve,
How sad in a way. I think that old factory is crying.
We have something like that. A town submerged to make a lake. The only thing left is a church steeple.
If I go out that way I'll take some photos for you.
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

That sounds really interesting, only with the church steeple visible, would definitely want to see some pictures of it!

I missed this on my trip but many of friends post in instagram from this place. I feel very tempted to go there during summer! :)

You really should, it was really amazing! I would like to go during sunrise because then the actual quarry site would be in light, now it was in the shadow of that pile.

Looks stunning love the reflections 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66