You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stopping Over in the Sultanate of Brunei Darussalam

in #travel5 years ago

I know nothing or very little about Sultanate of Brunei, so I'm very happy to have come across your blog.

death penalty for the possession of drugs or for being gay

Although I'm not ok with the death penalty, I agree, drugs must disappear from out lives. Death penalty for being gay is outrageous. I understand that some religions have strict rules but we're living in the 21sth century and homosexuality exists from ancient times. I hope these countries can change in time. I'm not saying they should legalize gay marriages, I know they never would but punishing it, it's just very wrong.

Brunei seems to be in a bit of a balancing act between wanting to open up to the West and at the same time wanting to preserve its own cultural heritage, the faith into the Sultan and the religious piety of its people.

This would have been my next thought. Brunei is not alone with this. I believe quite a few countries whats to do that but somehow they can't find the way. Controlling people through religion is key for them but opening up to western influence is going to weaken that control over the people. They are going to have a pretty hard job balancing things but I believe people will have a saying in this and will decide.

... there is none -- period. As long as one abides by the rather strict moral code, a life in Brunei is very pleasant, and maybe a little boring. Even in the capital, there literally is no night life and the streets are empty after 8 p.m. There seems to be one hack for music and social entertainment, which is to get married: a wedding is the only occasion where public music and merry socializing is accepted.

Exactly what I was saying. I'm curious to see how long this is going to last. I understand that those people who know only the life what they are living, have no idea what life could be and maybe they don't desire another life but in the digital era, where we have internet, television and news are practically impossible to avoid, people can be influenced easily.

Anyway, it was nice to read your great blog post, I had the opportunity to learn something :)

Sort:  

Thank you for your feedback! I only came back across it now, this is why I didn't reply earlier.
To your first point, take Singapore as an example. They have strict rules with high fines, however it's debatable if those fines are being carried out or have a deterrence element in them. I do agree with you, I don't find that those kinds of laws fit into a modern, globalised world. Development in that sense takes time, I guess.

You're right, they need to adapt but that takes time. The good news is they can't avoid it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55