First Solo Trip, what was I thinking?! Blog #4 (Year Old Blog Entry)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 16.48.50.png

So there I was looking back at my family as I was about to go through the departures gate at Dublin airport, my travel journey had just begun. My first time being completely independent, doing what I wanted to do after weeks of searching for volunteering opportunities online. Was I crazy? Did I underestimate how difficult it would be to actually go through with this? Sitting in the departures lounge I was beside myself with fear of the unknown coupled with overwhelming anxiety. But the minute my plane took off, bound for London; all my fears and worries melted away. I was free, liberated.

After a Three hour nap in one of London's airports it was time to catch my plane to Sevilla, where I'd be staying in a hostel for a few days. I would be lying if I said my experience in Sevilla was perfect, although it is one of the most beautiful places I have every been in my life, I was very lonely. I had jumped in at the deep end, knowing embarrassingly little Spanish, having basically no cooking abilities and, finding myself in a hostel where I only found 2-3 people who spoke english. It was true that I was in Spain, although I felt that I wasn't experiencing what Spain had to offer. I spent my days sightseeing and exploring in random directions to purposefully get lost.

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 16.49.52.png

The next stop was Cordoba where I would be volunteering, 20 hours a week for a bed in a typical Andalusian house. my stay was the polar opposite of my few days in Sevilla, I found the style of travelling I was looking for. I was still a little anxious about meeting people but within hours of arriving in Cordoba I was already out for drinks with one of my fellow volunteers; a bad idea with work at 8:00 AM the next morning... The work was varied although I spent the majority of my time chipping tiles off of the walls, finding out where the old copper water pipes where going, and levelling the floor to be concreted in a what would (eventually) be a small bathroom.

3271329260_2_12_OEGvPYd6.jpg

3271329838_2_2_XSpdkAuu.jpg

3271329602_2_6_kkEOGusJ.jpg

The Spanish have a very different culture to ours in the UK. They have something that I like to call ' plaza culture ', people of all ages enjoying the sunshine in a communal area together; it gave me a real sense of community. Imagine if after work each day it was customary to go for a drink or 'caña' after work and share some food together basking in the sun. This is southern Spain. Another trait I picked up on was that 99% of people where super laid back without a care in the world, maybe it's the weather?

IMG_0570.JPG

The last stop on my adventure of many was Granada. Granada has a reputation for being very generous with their tapas portions, few with every drink at most bars (That's dinner sorted). I wasn't in Granada for very long so I had to make the most of it! The main attraction is the Alhambra Palace, the last Moorish fortress to fall during the Spanish reconquista. It's worth a visit! When I first arrived in Spain I couldn't understand the most basic of phrases in Spanish, by the time I had reached Granada I was the one placing orders and asking questions for my group. I'm amazed on how quick I picked it up!

IMG_1043PS.png

My previous blog entries:
#3 Breaking into the annual vintage car show
#2 The Rise and Fall of the Knights Templar In Portugal
#1 Eery Underground Prison Tunnel Built in 1850

Sort:  

Great post, I think any of us that have traveled alone before can relate to that initial anxiety. Sometimes though, being on your own is the best way!

Yes, the benefit is that you can do things on your own schedule without worrying about what everyone else would like to do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70855.94
ETH 3844.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49