TRAVEL THAILAND Discover Freedom Beach in Koh Tao PART 3 : Reis Thailand Ontdek Freedom Beach op KOH TAO Deel 3

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Despite the fact that my previous articles about Koh Tao have just been ignored I prefer to go on posting for the hope that what @klye wrote on his article https://steemit.com/money/@klye/steem-whistleblower-whale-bots-are-devaluing-steem#@bendjmiller222/re-englishtchrivy-re-bendjmiller222-re-klye-steem-whistleblower-whale-bots-are-devaluing-steem-20160826t121205891zwould somehow give light to what seem to be a dimming tunnel lamp.

This is my story in the Freedom Beach in Koh Tao where I've watched the sunset several times of our two weeks stay in there.

TRANSLATION IN DUTCH: Dit is mijn verhaal over Freedom Beach op Koh Tao waar de zonsondergang zo fantastisch is.

It is in Freedom Beach where I enjoyed swimming the most. When the waves are high in Aow Leuk we've often driven there on a motor bike because Freedom beach is always calm. The road to it is worse than that in Aow Leuk Beach though and if you happen to have missed the article about it here it is https://steemit.com/travel/@englishtchrivy/travel-thailand-discover-aow-leuk-beach-in-koh-tao-part-2-reis-thailand-ontdek-aow-leuk-beach-in-koh-tao-deel-2. The road to freedom beach was steep, winding, dusty and full of small stones. However, no miniature buddhist temple so somehow it must be safe. All I remember was I hugged hub's tummy tight on every ride descending to the beach.

TRANSLATION IN DUTCH: Het is in Freedom Beach waar ik van zwemmen best genoten had. Als de golven in Aow Leuk veel te hoog is rijden we daar naartoe op een motor fiets. De weg naartoe is erger dan die van Aow Leuk en als je mijn blog over dat gemist hebt kan je het hier - https://steemit.com/travel/@englishtchrivy/travel-thailand-discover-aow-leuk-beach-in-koh-tao-part-2-reis-thailand-ontdek-aow-leuk-beach-in-koh-tao-deel-2 lezen. De weg naar Freedom Beach is steil, slingerende en stoffig. Klinkers zijn overal maar geen kleine boeddistische tempel op de weg gevonden - dus mischien is het wel veiliger dan die van Aow Leuk. Wat ik alleen weet is dat ik hield me vast aan de buik van mijn man als we op de daling rijden.

When we got there, we went through a restaurant and were greeted by very sweet Thai women. They always bow and say "Sawahdee~~". We asked if we could leave our stuff in their locker so we could go for a swim and one of them told us we could as long as we pay a 0.50 cent Baht which is not much really for a chance of being able to enjoy swimming. While hub was stuffing the locker in, I've decided to check the place out and this is what it looked like up in the balcony. We also found out that the restaurant is also where tourists check in for the hotel rooms I thought were houses nestled on rocks. You could also rinse yourself off in their shower rooms as long as you eat or take a drink in the resto. How convenient.

TRANSLATION IN DUTCH: Toen we daar kwamen, worden we door zon lieve jonge Thaise meisjes begroten. Zij buigen altijd en zeggen " Sawadee~~ " daar. Wij vroegen als we de locker aan de zijde van de balie mogen gebruiken. Dat mag - zolang dat we 0.50 cent Baht betalen. Dat's niet te veel om je spullen even kwijt te kunnen en om te kunnen zwemmen zonder te zorgen dat je spulletjes gestolen worden. Terwijl mijn Schat onze spullen in de locker deed, ging ik rond kijken. Prachtige plek met zon' mooi zeezicht . De restaurant is ook de balie van de hotel kamers die ik dacht huisjes op de zeerotsen waren. Daar kan je ook na het zwemmen in de zee deuchen zolang dat je iets eet op drinkt in het restaurant. Heel handig.

Excited as always, I ran to the beach and plunged into the warm water. As usual not much tourists are lazing on the shore. I love that fact on both Aow Leuk and Freedom Beach. No divers in sight. Hub and I took turns using the snorkel because he only had one and we just bought another later on when we found out they're selling it in the city center near Mango Beach. I saw mostly zebra fish and pineapple fish. No sight of those tiny colorful Nemo like fishes. No they're not clown fish - they're just as cute as Nemo. While snorkeling I bumped into a blue pipe which when I checked out - looked to me like a thinner version of a sewer. My thoughts sent me swimming back to the shore asking a local what those pipes actually are.

TRANSLATION IN DUTCH: Erg blij rende ik weer naar de water te om te zwemmen - weer niet zo veel touristen aan het zonnebaden op de kust. Dat is een ding over Aow Leuk en Freedom Beach die ik ben erg blij over. Schat en ik namen ons beurt om te kunnen snorkelen. Wij hadden alleen een snorkel meegenomen en wij kochten nog een andere daar bij de stad dichtbij Mango Beach. Ik had alleen maar zebra en ananas vissen gezien in het water. Nemo en zijn vriendjes waren niet te zien. Ik praat niet over clownvissen - ik vind kleine vissen gewoon heel heel schattig zoals het karakter Nemo. Ineens, bots ik tegen een blauwe buis die op een riool lijkt. Ik zwom zo snel mogelijk terug naar de kust toe en vroeg een Thaise man om mijn verdenking te bevestigen.

He told me - they are sewer indeed but I don't have to worry because they've made sure it won't spill in the beach itself - otherwise it would be stinking. I sniffed my seawater kissed skin - it just smells like sea. He told me, too that the houses on the sides are actually hotels and so as curious and having such adventurous feet as Dora the Explorer, I didn't bother asking whether it's ok to check them out, I just bid him Sawadeekap and headed for the trail to the left. The houses seem steady enough even if the water rises, I think they would hold and not flood inside. I bumped into a few dark green shelled crabs being flushed by every wave splashing on the rocks back into the huge sea.

TRANSLATION IN DUTCH: Zij zijn inderdaad rioolen maar zei de man ook - "geen zorgen" want zij waren erg goed gemaakt om niet te lekken anders stinkt het daar overal. Toen snuffel ik mijn zee gekuste huid - gellukig het ruik alleen naar de zee. Hij vertelde ook dat de huisjes waren eighenlijk hotel kamers en zo nieuwsgerig rende ik zoals Dora The Explorer naar hun toe om de plek te checken. De kamers stonden daar stevige vast verankerd op grote rotsen. Ik denk niet dat het gaat stromen binnen als het water omhoog gaat. Verder kwam ik tegen een paar donker blauwgroene krabben die worden terug gegooid naar de zee door de golven.

I went back to the shore and took another swim just till where the water touches my neck. Back then I couldn't swim that well yet so I dared not go very deep. Unfortunately, that's where the corals are and probably Nemo and his friends, too. I noticed a topless French Lady sunbathing. She joined me playing with a school of zebra fish later and that's how I found out where she came from. We chatted and she liked it a lot that I gave her a chance to practice English with me. She told me she was staying in one of the hotels exactly beside where the Koh Tao sign is and asked me where I'm staying and whether there are vampires in our hotel. Seeing that I didn't get a grip with what she calls vampires she told me - mosquitoes. I told her it's the same everywhere, there are mosquitoes in hotel rooms that don't have air conditioner and netted windows and doors. Later on, she bid me goodbye to talk to her bf about moving to checking out our place.

TRANSLATION IN DUTCH: Ik ging terug naar de kust en zwom ik in de ondiep. Toen kun ik nog niet zo goed zwemmen dus ik durfde niet naar de diepe te gaan - wat jammer want daar zitten de koralen en meer of minder Nemo en zijn vriendjes. Ik zag een toploos Franse vrouw aan het zonbadden die later ging ook zwemmen en met mij met de zebra vissen in het water meegespeelde. Dat is hoe ik het weet dat ze Franse is . Wij kletsen en ze vond het zo leuk om Engels met mij te kunnen oefenen. Zij vertelde dat zijn hotel kamer is die naast de boardsign Koh Tao en vroeg me waar de mijne is en als er daar vampiren. "Mugen" - legde haar uit - "Dat bedoel ik met vampiren." Ik zei dat volgens mij zijn daar overal dezelfde. Zodra dat een hotel kamer geen net voor zijn ramen en deuren hebben kan je zeker mugen binnen verwachten. Wat later, ging ze weg om met haar vriend te pratten over naar ons hotel te verhuizen.

I followed her and trailed the long concrete bridge anchored to huge rocks and bumped into mangroves growing on concretes. Seeing this plants again reminded me of what I thought of - the day I bumped into them.

TRANSLATION IN DUTCH: Ik volgde haar en toen liep ik op een lange brugje van beton verankerd op rotsen. Toen kwam ik tegen deze mangroven. Ze laten me iets herinneren.

I just find it amazing at how these mangroves have managed to grow despite the fact that nature has made it tough for them. Mangroves are supposed to be growing in the water but these two were on concrete and rocks. Pretty awesome. At the end of the concrete bridge I found the first hotel room.

TRANSLATION IN DUTCH: Vet~ ... hoe deze mangroven hier kunnen overleven ondanks het feit dat het lijkt dat de natuur het voor hun zo mooilijk gemaakt hebt. Zij moeten eigenlijk in het water zijn maar deze twee groeien op een beton en de andere op een rots. Zo cool. In het einde heb ik de eerste hotel kamer gevonden.

I went on and they almost all look the same. I headed back to the shore and called hub to join me for a drink in the restaurant up there. I'm allergic to alcohol and by drink I actually meant - iced coffee. They make really delicious iced coffee up there for a very affordable price they taste better than that famous coffee in green cups that I've ordered it often the Laos waiter knew what to bring me. They also happen to have the best fruit pan cakes up there and their Thai dishes are also delicious, the restaurant gets full during dinner. Most of the afternoon, we have it all for ourselves and we love the peace and quiet up there.

TRANSLATION IN DUTCH: Ik ging verder maar alles ziet dezelfde uit dus ik ging terug en aan mijn man vroeg om samen met mij naar het retaurant boven iets te drinken . Ik ben allergisch voor alcohot dus ik had iced koffie daar besteld. Het is beter dan die op de groene kopje ...dat... ik had het vaker besteld de ober van Laos wist al - wat ik wil als ik daar gaat . Zij maken ook daar lekkere fruit pannenkoeken en de Thaise gerechten die zij verkopen zijn zo lekker de plek wordt een vol huis s'avonds. Ik ga daar voor de stilte. S'middags hebben we de plek allen voor ons twee.

One day, hub had to attend to one of his clients so I was left watching the sunset and making sure I captured each moment. That day, I thought am half way to sun setting ... and so do I now - I am 38 and looking back at how I lived my life I wonder, would I be able to descend proudly when it's my turn to set? What good thing have I imparted to the world? Have I left a legacy?

TRANSLATION IN DUTCH: Een dag moest mijn Schat met een klant praten dus ik ging aan de kust zitten op de zonsondergang in mijn eentje te bewonderen en wat fotos te maken. Toen dacht ik - ik was dichtbij mijn eigen zonsondergang ... en nu ook dus .. dichterbij nog - ik ben achtendertig en als ik terug kijk over hoe ik heb geleefd dacht ik, "Zal ik ook zo trots als de zon ben als mijn beurt van ondergang komt? Heb ik iets nuttig voor de wereld gedaan? Wat kan ik hier achterblijven?

Yes, I get emotional when I watch the sunset alone but there's one thing I sure love about the sunset aside from the color it brings. It's that ...

TRANSLATION IN DUTCH: Ja, ik word altijd emotioneel als ik naar de zonsondergaan in mijn eentje kijkt en er is een ding dat ik over de zonsondergang zo van houd behalve de kleuren dat hij brengt en dat is dit ....

Next time, I'll take you snorkeling with me .

TRANSLATION in DUTCH : Volgoende keer, neem Ik jou met me aan het snorkelen.

Thank you for reading!
Dank u voor het lezen!

Sort:  

would love to visit there

go! it's safer than in the city there these days

Thanks for the story and the beautifull images!

graag gedaan! Ik ben blij dat ik niet meer alleen bent @oaldamster - mischien wel - in Arnhem of niet?

Nee, er zijn meer uit Nederland hoor @englishtchrivy. Uit het hoge noorden, ik in Winschoten en ook uit Amsterdam. Soms wat lastig te herkennen omdat de meeste in het Engels posten. Maar van her en der.

Maar er zijn NL tags: #nederlands, #nld en #nederland geloof ik ook nog.

another beautiful blog and great pictures -love following your travels

@Lady Penelope ... Thank you - I'll be posting soon. Have a fun weekend!

Thank you to everyone who up voted this article! My good karma find you all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44