My travel to Cartagena de Indias - Colombia!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello friends of Steemit! Today I am writing to tell you some details about my travel to the City Cartagena de Indias, capital of the Bolívar department, located on the Caribbean coast of Colombia, and also about what I learned in my visit to that beautiful and warm city, not only because of the high temperatures, but also because of the kindness of its people. I visited the city the second week of December, in the company of my mother and my uncles-dads. It was an incredible trip, because although I met her as a child, this time I had the opportunity to learn a little more about their tourist sites, about its importance for Colombia, and also enjoyed its beautiful beaches.

The City of Cartagena was founded on June 1, 1533 by the Spanish Pedro Heredia and since 1991 is a Tourist and Cultural District. I leave the link to the source, where you can learn a little about its history, and where I extracted some of the historical data that I show in the post. Other historical data were given to me by my uncle Osvaldo, whom I greatly admire for his extensive knowledge.

Its historic center, called The Walled City or The Old Walled City, which corresponds to the part of the city built during the Spanish colonial period, and which receives that name because it is sheltered for more than 11 km of walls built by the Spanish to protect the city from attacks by pirates. It was declared by Unesco World Heritage in 1984.

In the following photograph, I show one of the streets of the Old City, where you can appreciate the two-story houses of typical Spanish colonial architecture, very well preserved by the way, and in the background you can see the cathedral of the city, beautifully illuminated by the holiday season.



In this other photograph, I appear with my mom Miladis in front of one of the oldest buildings in the city, where today a famous jeweler works.



The city of Cartagena, offers for tourists, a service of ride in colonial carriages through the streets of the Old City. If you visit Cartagena, you can not miss a carriage ride, it's like traveling to the past. My mom Yake and dad Osvi did not miss the ride, and they look like lovebirds.



In another of the representative buildings of the Old City, one of the first hotels in the city operates. I could not stop photographing myself in front of his facade.



In addition to the walls, the Spaniards built the Castillo San Felipe de Barajas in 1657 on a hill called San Lázaro. The castle is a beautiful place, and is one of the most visited places in the city by tourists from all over the world and from the same country. You can not stop knowing him.




The San Felipe de Barajas Castle, still conserves the cannons and turrets used during the defense period of Cartagena from the cruel attacks of English, French and even Dutch pirates. I took advantage of the moment when my uncle told me details about the castle so they could take some pictures of me.




As Cartagena has some beautiful beaches, besides a chain of beautiful hotels, I could not stop enjoying them. I show you some pictures where I appear enjoying my beach day in Cartagena.




I hope you enjoyed my trip to Cartagena de Indias, historical and cultural city of Colombia and the world. If you have the opportunity to travel to Colombia, you can not miss Cartagena, enjoy its colonial architecture, its beautiful beaches and, above all, its people.

Many kisses for all and I wait for you in my next adventure in Colombia!

The pictures were taken by my mom, my uncles and by me.

Sort:  

You speak English well :) Cartagena is such a beautiful place, that sunset over the water is spectacular.

Hi @adventurerider! I do not speak English well jejejeje, I'm just doing a course to learn it well. Helped me with an online translator.

You're right, Cartagena is beautiful, very beautiful. Thank you for your support of my post, you are very kind. :)

Cartagena is a nice city. I liked it. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

You're right @choogirl, it's a nice city. Thank you for wanting to see my post on http://steemitworldmap.com. Yes, I'm interested, it would be an honor. I will go to the page and, if I have any questions, will I be able to consult you?

@choogirl, I managed to follow the procedure without problems. Thanks again for the invitation!

That's bringing back lots of happy memories of my recent trip to Colombia :) I'd wanted to see Cartagena for a very long time and it didn't disappoint. Absolutely stunning city and very friendly people!

Good thing @holothewise, you met Cartagena. You're right, it's an stunning city and friendly people!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 14.0% @reggaemuffin christmas upgoat, thanks to @adventurerider
Want a christmas boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @embohor to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=embohor
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-travel-to-cartagena-de-indias-colombia


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65