My 18 Hour Layover Experience in Toronto, Canada (About Unique Lounge with Molecular Food, CN Tower, and City Overall)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

2018-01-17-12-59-39-530.jpg


I’m sure everyone who buys tickets online have seen those long layovers, and this is a story about one of those layovers. I think long layovers are great because it is like a free ticket! And there is no need to be worried that layover will be not enough time to see anything and experience the city to the fullest because it is possible and I know I did have a lot of fun in this great city! Even through 18 hours is not a lot, I did manage to see the city, try a restaurant, and party at different places.



So , here is my story...

We came to Toronto around 10pm. We got a cab and drove to the hotel. I felt like I shouldn't waste time on the sleep, and decided to go out instead. On the way I was already getting ready, putting my makeup on and thinking what to wear. I did not need to think where to go because I specifically found a hotel near the place I wanted to party that night.

The first place we went to was Barchef!
It’s a bar / lounge that serves extremely cool cocktails and molecular food that goes well with a drink! This wasn't the first time I tried molecular food, but I was so excited like I never even seen anything like that!

07a-940x626.jpg

Here are some examples of what they serve..

DayEvening2.jpg

It’s like a mini garden on your plate with some magic going on!

1447287021664.jpg

(http://www.barcheftoronto.com/ - source for these 3 pictures)

And this is what we ordered: Sailor’s Mojito and Black Truffle

20140510_012058.jpg

Me hanging out with friends at Barchef :)

20140510_012152.jpg

These drinks with molecular food, range from $25 to $50 Canadian dollars. I know it might sounds a little bit too expensive, but I really recommend!

After Barchef the night was a blur … literally! Even pictures are blurry :)
We went to couple night clubs and had a blast!
Here is one picture from one of the clubs…

20140510_041123.jpg

In the morning we went to Loose Moose Gastropub where they serve Canadian food. After, we went to explore the city and waterfront close to CN Tower.

2018-01-16-16-26-37-755.jpg

This is an Old City Hall. From 1899 to 1966 it was a home of the Toronto City Council. Now, it is a courthouse. This building is considered as a historic site and very popular place to see.

20140510_131504.jpg

After, we went to CN tower. We didn't go up there, but we did take some pictures and just walked around the area.

CN tower is a 553.3 m-high (1,815.3 ft), build in 1976, and held the record for the world's tallest free-standing structure until 2007.

20140510_151525.jpg

20140510_150119.jpg

...and this is Edge Walk Attraction on the CN Tower. This is how it looks like from the ground.

2018-01-17-12-50-51-722.jpg

It is the world’s highest full circle hands-free walk on a 5 ft (1.5 m) wide ledge encircling the top of the Tower’s main pod, 356m/1168ft (116 storeys) above the ground. EdgeWalk is a Canadian Signature Experience and an Ontario Signature Experience. Visitors walk in groups of six, while attached to an overhead safety rail via a trolley and harness system. Trained EdgeWalk guides will encourage participants to push their personal limits, allowing them to lean back over Toronto with nothing but air and breathtaking views of Lake Ontario beneath them.
source

This is something I would want to do one day, but looks very scary!

Overall, my experience was great. I think Toronto is a very hipster city. I would definitely come back and see other places.



Pictures were taken with Samsung Galaxy s7 and Nikon D7000


DQmceErucbtPDiEkuB3H9udGPAqooEx1v6Xy8Bmdx8u61Br_1680x8400.png

@communitynews @ella-kay

promo11.jpg

CHAT Discord Channel Invite



[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 43.641541 lat -79.390554 long My 18 Hour Layover Experience in Toronto, Canada (About Unique Lounge with Molecular Food, CN Tower, and City Overall) d3scr)

Sort:  

Hey Ella I read your article and get much more about Canada soon I will be go their and go all places that you mention is your article keep doing this work (Y)

Upvoted! Go Toronto, lived there for almost two year, loved it! thanks for sharing

thanks :) and thank you for reading :)

Lived there for 15 AND Greatest place on earth!!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ella-Kay from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I have never had such a long layover before but I am pretty sure you did a good job to maximize the time over there!! :)

oh yeah! for sure lol I barely slept, but I had so much fun.

i just realized that i ve never really seen anything of toronto. i am looking forward to see it in the future. thanks for sharing your experience!

are you from Canada? or have you been to Canada before?

no not all. berlin. but just bc you hear so much about toronto, i assumed i know sth about it and how it looks like etc. just like with other big cities in the world. but i realized i dont know anything. thats what i meant.

I see. well, Canada is a beautiful country. Toronto isn't the only cool place there. I hope one day you have a chance to check it out.
...and welcome to CHAT :)

:D yeah i am starting to travel next month. so it's only a matter of time. i'll check CHAT out today. would like to connect with fellow travelers :D

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 22:07:14
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 41.80/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

@Ella-kay you did not invite me, i feel awful

invite where?

Error! Undergoing updates.

Glad you enjoyed Toronto, always nice when people leave Canada with a good experience. It certainly has a lot to do and some great little trendy places to check out.

yeah, I love Canada . every time I go there I have the best time! thanks for reading my post :)

vote me plsce sistar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54