MUST SEE place! My experience in Banff, Alberta, Canada (Banff town and Banff National Park)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I went to Banff at the end of this Summer and I thought it was the most beautiful place in the world. I personally live very close to the mountains and I’ve seen a lot of similar places with high mountains and beautiful lakes, but compared to Banff it is nothing. When I was going to Banff I knew that this place is beautiful. I’ve seen a lot of pictures of those bright blue and turquoise lakes, but I guess I didn't realize how amazing it actually is until I saw it in real life.

Banff is located in Alberta, Canada. It is the area in the Rocky Mountains. Banff was first settled in the 1880s, after the transcontinental railway was built. The town is pretty small (about 8000 people living there), but it doesn’t feel like the place where you don’t know where to go or what to see. There are a lot of outdoor activities (anything you want to do!) and lots of restaurants and bars in the downtown area.

We were there only for two days. When I planned the trip I thought it would be enough time to see several lakes, do some kayaking , and go out to some nice restaurants, but I was very wrong that it would be enough time to actually experience Banff to the fullest. While I was there I realized that there are a lot more activities that I am interested. There are multiple gorgeous locations that are great for hiking, but to see them you need at least 3 day vacation because it is impossible to see those turquoise lakes, go out at night and do hiking in under 2 days. I’m thinking of coming back next summer and do a 4-5 days vacation.

So here is what I did on my trip…

We were doing a road trip, so we had an opportunity to see beautiful nature around the Banff town , lots of animal bridges on highways, and stop on the way at the baby blue rivers and take cool pictures.

Here is one of the rivers on the way …
It was a lot of fun to walk on the white clay sand with bare feet by the river. It was like a free mud treatment! My skin was so soft after.
20170823_155634.jpg

This is one of the animal bridges on the way. We don’t have that many of these in USA, but I think this is amazing that Canada are building them. It saves a lot of animals and reduces car accidents.
20170824_111642.jpg

We finally arrived to Banff Downtown (pictures taken next day when it was very cloudy, so it might look like not a very sunny and happy place, but when it is sunny, it is a really fun place to walk around). Downtown area had a lot of people walking around, which was kind of a surprise to me because it was on weekdays.
20171210_171226.jpg
20171210_171703.jpg

First, we went to Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel. This hotel looks like a castle! Probably the best Fairmont hotel that I’ve seen.
20170824_103414.jpg
(This picture was taken from Surprise Corner viewpoint; Address: Buffalo St, Banff AB T1L 1H5)

2017-12-11-01-13-41-255.jpg
20171210_185149.jpg

We went to an event there, had some wine and Hors d’oeuvre.
20170823_184526.jpg

Later, we decided that we want more wine, so we went to a very small but cozy wine bar/ restaurant called Grapes at the same hotel. Mostly they serve Charcuterie and other small plate dishes. We ordered some rabbit pate dish and venison carpaccio, both dishes were great!

Grapes at Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel - $$

25052030.jpg

20170823_193922.jpg

We hanged out more at the hotel and later went to downtown bars. Even though it was on a weekday, all bars were open and playing loud music. Next day, we decided to drive up to Peyto lake. To get to the viewpoint we had to do small 15-20 minute hike up to the hill. Sadly, weather wasn’t so good, so pictures are not that bright as I hoped it would be, but I have to say this lake is the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. This lake is very bright baby blue color with a turquoise hint. I really wanted to do kayaking there, but I couldn't find any place by that lake to rent the kayak. I think the only way to do this is to have your own.

20170824_125649.jpg
This picture was taken from my phone, so its not the best quality and doesn’t show the real color, but believe me it is very bright in real life, a lot better than on a picture.

After Peyto lake we went to Lake Louise where we rented a kayak for an hour and had a super fun time. It cost us about $100 which might be a little bit pricey, but believe me it is totally worth it! The water and view is just amazing! We also brought some wine with us, so we had a lot of fun.

20170824_170918.jpg
20170824_171020.jpg

After that we went to The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel, which is right by the lake Louise. There we went to Lakeview lounge for late lunch. I really recommend you get a table at the patio. Food was good and they serve great Canadian flavored beer.

Lakeview Lounge at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel - $$$


96491a55-21c1-4e6b-9d3d-01227d715f44.jpg

20170824_151608.jpg

We cruised around Banff town for some time and later went to our last stop, Moraine Lake. At that lake they have a place to rent kayaks and I know it's cheaper than at Lake Louise, but the lake is twice smaller. I really recommend to see this lake because of the cool landscape. There are huge rocks that you can climb to the top and take a cool picture. Also lots of driftwood for a unique photography and this lake’s color is bright blue, it is not like other lakes. This lake is definitely a must see!

20170824_191757.jpg
20170824_185709.jpg

We climbed the rocks to the top, lost our car keys there, but somehow found them later. The view behind us is the one that on Canadian $20 bill (old one).

Overall, my experience was very pleasant and exciting, but I do recommend everyone to go there during the warmest months of the year which are June, July, August if you want to do outdoor activities. The rest of the months are better for skiing and indoor leisure.


DQmceErucbtPDiEkuB3H9udGPAqooEx1v6Xy8Bmdx8u61Br_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Terrific post once again Ella-Kay! The team reckons we really lucked out when we stumbled across your travel blog.

COMMUNITY NEWS

Thank you! sorry , I wasn't able to post these last weeks. I was very busy, but I will try to catch up and post everyday this week :)

glorious narrative of the journey

... and thank you for resteeming my post :)

no prob :))

Amazing photos! Looks like an amazing place! I live in BC and never been. Looks like you had a great time :) Thanks for sharing with us!

thank you! :) you should definitely check it out. I've been to most top places in Canada, follow me for more of my stories :) hopefully you will find something useful for yourself.

very beautiful photography. it will be amazing to see these locations in person! thanks.

thank you :)

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 48.27% Upvote

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 6400 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.100 Steem or 0.100 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

фотографии очень классные :)

Спасибо :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ella-Kay from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

What beautiful photographs. I bet it was amazing to see these locations in person!

thank you! yes! it was! It is even better in real life. Can't wait to go back there next summer and continue my adventure there. so many more places to see there!

Absolutely love the pictures of down main street with the mountains in the background!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43