Hi! We are shooting a TRAVEL DOCUMENTARY series to the BALKANS for STEEMIT!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

Thank you so much for the warm welcome in this wonderful community.

We are Alessandro and Elena - two documentary filmmakers from Italy and Germany. We never thought that we could make a good team due to our clashing work ethics - but until now, it works great.
Elena_Horn_Alessandro_Leonardi_Filmmaker.jpeg

When @soldier, @sirwinchester, @timsaid, @sandroieva, @mrs.steemit told us about this community, we soon realised that this can be a fabulous place for our new travel documentary series. We are going to share it with you, and with no one else.Here, we feel less bound to conventional ways of storytelling. Unlike when we produce for television, we will keep all the failures, awkward moments and funny scenes behind the camera in the film. WE PROMISE! There is no broadcaster breathing down our necks now, so come with us on a real journey on the road. Next destination: the Balkans!

So, this is our story...

Alessandro, the cameraman: you may not believe it but I’m actually Italian. Also when my red beard suggests something else. I was born in Milan into an incredibly loud but very loving family. My father always told me that I could become whatever I wanted. When I revealed to him that I intend to become a Philosopher, he probably regretted his encouraging words.
Refuging into philosophy books was my only way out from the constant noise and never ending drama in my family home. At some point paper was not enough to protect me anymore, so I picked up the camera and started a masters of Documentary Filmmaking in London. There I met Elena, who shared the same dream of mine, turning travelling and filming into a full-time profession.

Alessandro_Leonardi_Romania_Filmmaker.jpg

Elena, the host: I am a real countryside girl. Just to make you understand - my mum used to pick my sister and me up from kindergarten on horseback - this much countryside. The first love of my life was gymnastics. I spent six days a week in the gym, all my friends were there and I just loved how the trampoline made me fly. I went to university in Cologne and Paris where I slowly understood that I wanted to become a documentary filmmaker. But the way there is not easy so I started to work on big TV shows like Dancing with the Stars and the Bachelor. In order to come closer to my dream, I moved to London where I eventually produced my first documentaries.

Elena_Horn_Rwanda.jpg

In this very moment we are editing the film for Steemit. So let us give you an idea about what it’s going to be about. We are travelling for two month through Eastern Europe using only Public Transport and are encountering truly fascinating people with their unheard stories: The Serbian plastic surgeon who gives you the Balkan Look for a cheap price, the lumberjacks in the Carpathian Mountains who live in solitude without any woman around, the magical female choir in Bulgaria who enchanted already the Russian Zar and we spend a day in the Gypsy capital of the World: Shutka. These are just few of the curious personalities we met on the road.

We are so looking forward to posting the first episode. This documentary series will hopefully spark your curiosity and longing for travel, overall to off the track destinations and not very comfortable routes. The Balkans are synonym of trouble, magic, vampire watermelons (we will surely explain that later) and so much more.

Any questions, propositions, advices about future destinations are more then appreciated. We are here to confront ourselves with you about EVERYTHING. In case you want to embrace this lifestyle, capture great footage, travel on a budget, found a new country (yes, we witness to that, just stay tuned and you will see!) then we are happy to share our very personal recipes to achieve that! And please instruct us on how to be good Steemers and how to make use of this platform to the fullest, because we are newbies here...

Elena_Horn_Bulgaria.JPG

Elena_Horn_Turkey.png

Elena_Horn_Oil_Wrestling_Edirne.JPG

Elena_Horn_Guca.JPG

Elena_Horn_Bosnia.png

Sort:  

Welcome! Very informative ! Thanks for sharing! Are you enjoying the Balkan food? Are you in Serbia now? Try their "kyufte" a big meat burger!

Beautiful nature indeed! Stay safe 😃 all the best!
Followed you! Cheers!

@sunnylife thank you very much for your dear wishes.

I go crazy for the Balkan food. They simply know how to prepare amazing meat.! Being vegetarian must be the most difficult thing in Eastern Europe. xx

Enjoy it and try everything!
I can relate! My husband is vegetarian (almost vegan) the veggies and fruits in the market they are really cheap compare to euros!
Looking forward for your adventures!!!
Cheers!!

Oh yeah..and you can make a tomato salad out of one tomato. And nothing like the plastic taste that I get in London. But for some reason Serbians are madly in love with meat and seem to despise healthy food!!! ...there are more vegans where fruits and veggies are expensive and not very appealing...weird

The best tomatoes I've ever tasted is in Bulgaria!!
It's a land of tomatoes and peppers here. They are really cheap!
No meat on the table is a big NO NO in Balkan. 😀😁😀 they want the real meat!
You wont see much vegetarians here😀😁

What again is this amazing paste called that is being made out of peppers. Ahh! I forgot! It was so good!

@sunnylife .

Favoulas introduction.
Like it.
Like your lifestyle.You people follow your dream,you Passion.
Would love to welcome both of you to India.
You may get some fantastic stories to document.
Best of luck.
And welcome to steemit..:)

@sandipmondal

Thank you for your heartfelt message. We have never been to India. I truly is a dream destination for us. The amount of stories must be endless.

Which area in India is the least visited in your opinion?

North East are is least visited in India.
But as of now some political tensions are going on that area.
But other places are here where you can do your filming on a specific topic.
You can go to hampi,a historical place.Can go to varanasi.Here you may get some quality materials for your documents.
Can visit tajmahal in Agra.
A lot of foreigner used to go to Babaji cave.It is in uttarakhand.So if you are a follower of Kriya yoga you can go there.
Can visit rajasthan as well.

Thank you for all these recommendations @sandipmondal .

I guess travelling by train would be the ideal mode of transport? x

Hi @elenahornfilm,

Congratulations! You have been chosen to appear on another amazing edition of "Who to Follow Daily". Thank you for adding so much value to the Steemit community. Steem on!

Hi @cem ! Thank you so much for your wonderful words on "Who to Follow Daily" !
It's so nice to experience such positive feedback and see that people enjoy the stories and pictures.

I will read who else caught your attention now.

xx
Elena & Ale

Welcome to Steem @elenahornfilm I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you! This is truly a warm welcome @bottymcbotface

Welcome Elenahornfilm! Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit !! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure !! Here you can win money while bloging ! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Wish you much luck! Greetings, @khunpoom!

@khunpoom This is very good advice!

Love the picture! Welcome to the steemit community :)

@sandroieva Thank you! Great to talk to you earlier! Sending you a big hug! Have a wonderful evening!

Welcome to Steemit. You two are certainly talented, I look forward to your posts. I'm sure you will be able to add value to this amazing platform. Wishing you the best and Following your blog. :)

@dheerajdj thank you - I'm excited about sharing the first films soon and am looking forward for your feeback. Seems like this is a good place to learn.

I'm glad you decided to join Steemit!
This platform is perfect to release all of your exciting footage - as well as the bloopers and behind the scenes stories!
You have so much to share and I'm looking forward to watching your travel documentary.

@sirwinchester thank you! Its thanks to you that we heard about this exciting page. And i know in you we have an absolute travel lover. We are sending you a big hug!

Welcome Elena! Great first post, can't wait for your next ones :)

Hi beautiful @mrs.steemit - I hope you're having a great time in Spain!

I'm excited to catch up on your posts from the last weeks. Have a fabulous day! xx

An exciting trip to watch, keep exploring share other places of interest, in waiting for the next posting @elenahornfilm

@dihoa - thank you very much! Have you ever been to the balkans?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68