ARGENTINA through my lens (episode #1) - VIDEOs and PHOTOs - La Murga Porteña, not only Tango!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

I have been dreaming of this for so many years, until I took a flight on New Year's Eve, and now I am here : BUENOS AIRES.

The first two days went by in a flash, coping really bad with my first summer in January! Coming from one of the coldest winter the USA, I barricaded myself inside my friend's apartment, chilling in the swimming pool, and trying to avoid the heated asphalt of the streets. I introduced my friend Ezequiel to Steemit, in case you want to say 'hello!'. He emigrated to my hometown Milan when he was 11 and we studied in the same medium school. Then he moved back 5 years ago. Only now I understand why: this is his natural habitat. He struggled with the hectic productive mentality of Milan. His life here moves on at a different pace. This is the only place in the world where I ever felt like I am the one who is rushing people to do things, or to go somewhere, or to meet at a certain time.

I36C0817.JPG

Yesterday we went out to Palermo, the largest neighbourhood (or barrio) of the city, located in the northeast. What I experienced there was an explosion of street life, an eruption of freedom and body movements, flirtatious looks and music, a lot of music. We were strolling along the street Avenida General Sarmiento, across the big parks surrounding this area. There I witnessed to this street performance. Dozens of young and old porteños were rehearsing some steps of Murga for the coming Carneval, which will take place in mid-February. I edited a small clip for you to get the vibes, as usual..

I36C0800.JPG

WATCH THE VIDEO BELOW

Murga is a type of traditional dance, which combines street theatre, dance and acting. It's very close to the ancient form of juggling, and there is such a strong parodistic and comical element to it that makes it incredibly engaging even for the smallest kids to enjoy. In fact, they were all over the place, and took part in the band, too.

I36C0810.JPG

I36C0788.JPG

I36C0773.JPG

Look where I am on the Steemit Worldmap : steemitworldmap 34°36′47″ lat 58°22′38″ La Murga porteña d3scr

If you want me to give you more insights of the city,
please comment below, the journey has just started!

* #steemitbloggers * - @appreciator

Let me know if you wanna meet in Argentina, I will be here for a while!

Truly yours,
Alessandro & Elena

Sort:  

i like kids playing photography...

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=elenahornfilm
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=argentina-through-my-lens-episode-1-videos-and-photos-la-murga-portena-not-only-tango


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @elenahornfilm to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Beautiful post indeed sweetie. You r a travel queen :-) . Regards Nainaz.
#thealliance

Thank you @nainaztengra I like that nickname..

Wow thats amazing. It is nice to visit a country and live such moments :)

Hello @hanen ! Yes I came back there yesterday and saw the full performance with customs, maybe I will post about it today

Ok thats cool :)

Yes @hanen and I was there by chance just passing by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56652.41
ETH 2407.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33