You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gold Safari, you find it, you keep it! An Ecuadorian Adventure.

in #travel7 years ago

I was a little economic with detail for obvious reasons - it is a project that I have been working on for a while and I have not bedded anything in. I know the essential basics like the haciendas, many of the rivers, though I would like to spend a lot more time in the field.
Is this of interest to you as a guest, operator, DMC, or or you just interested? I have been here for 5 years and have been on a number of tour trips (horse riding) and some of the hacienda owners have become friends of mine.
I have a lot of experience in managing groups and I like the idea and believe it has legs.
Happy to discuss however you are approaching this. A follow-up article was not in my thinking because of the above!!

Sort:  

Hi, and thanks for interacting...

Briefly and honestly, my interest is just casual, so nothing serious here; it is my nature to be curious about everything. ;)

However, in the dream phase of things, I have (for the last four or five years) thought that I would like to live in Ecuador. I say that it is a dream because the barriers to such a change are immense. The most immediate being a spouse who is not remotely interested, followed by lack of $$$ resources.

If I had the latter, I would make an initial trip to visit, followed by a "vacation" with the wife so that she could literally see the possibilities. If/when "my ship comes in," (which depends on the progress of a certain enterprise of mine), this could happen. But I don't foresee it immediately.

And so, in closing, I wish you good success; it does sound like a grand idea. BTW, I don't understand "DMC" in this context. And I certainly don't mean to pry or to attempt to extract any "privileged" information, but I certainly wish you well! ;) 😄😇😄

@creatr

I am so sorry, I forgot to explain DMC, Destination Management Company. They provide on the ground logistics for tour groups and the like. As someone who cannot abide jargon, I should know better!

Thank you for all your helpful feedback, my friend! :)

I am not sure as to where you are from but I can explain that this is one of the most popular retirement locations for US citizens owing to the cost of living, enabling an earlier retirement or a less financially stressful one; not suggesting that retirement is on your agenda right now!
Like many places, this country has its great points and it certainly has its frustrations. Holiday visas are easy. Longer term visas (6-9 months) are do-able. Longer than that can be done too but there is more involved. A $25k investment and you are done and dusted -in!
So, if you ever want any further info, I have all the lawyers you ever needed - it is Roman Law here so things are different.
THere is a lot to like and some not to - please just ask. If you want any more info, happy to swap email addresses and we can converse that way.
All the very best to you.

Hello again, my friend. I thank you for your very kindly stated offer of assistance. While I would love to retire, and am "appropriately" aged for that, it's not in the cards immediately. However, when I see any remote glimmer of a real possibility of moving in that direction, I will remember your kindness and contact you for further details. :)

Thank you again for offering to help! The $25K investment thing could become a possibility within a couple of years, God willing... we shall see... ;)

You are more than welcome - you must be older than me and I always think I am amongst the oldest here! There are many ways to skin a cat ... should you wish to enquire further I can put you in direct contact with an immigration lawyer. There are hoops to jump through but like most scenarios they are put there to see if you can jump! There are many advice boards around but I think they are load of tosh. Cuenca is the US go-to city - less altitude and less humidity than the coast. Guayaquil is a shocker and even less safe than Quito where I am at 10,000 feet up! I ramble ... all the very best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59514.13
ETH 2652.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42