Gold Safari, you find it, you keep it! An Ecuadorian Adventure.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

img

Gold, the stuff can send people crazy! Image: Author

Gold Fever, you would think it a hiatus only found in films and outlandish documentaries about the Gold Rush.

It is in fact a very real phenomenon. Even seasoned investors get overly excited at the idea of gold and seeing the stuff coming out of the ground and nesting in their palms. I have seen it! Truth be told, it is exciting. Gold is one of the most iconic, if not the most iconic substance on earth.

img

Ecuador is incredibly lush and abundant with fresh water.

Cascada Gallito de La Pea Pacto. Image: VirtualTourist

Density, scarcity and conductivity are the principal attributes of gold, other than its colour. The colour of gold varies depending upon the region in which it is mined. Here in Ecuador it is a lovely rich deep colour.

img

Ecuador is also rich in minerals. Rule: do not trust Ecuador's mine shafts. Image: Author

As a guide, though by no means an absolutely hard and fast rule, gold occurs nearer the equator whilst silver is more prevalent as you move further away, hence Argentina (Argento is a Latin based word for silver). Rio Plata (Silver River) is the most famous river and Football Club in Buenos Aires.

img

My GM inspecting black sands through a loupe (magnifying glass). Image: Author

Back to Gold. Some time ago I started researching a tourism project I dreamed up: Gold Safaris. The idea is to go from Hacienda to Hacienda and visit gold bearing rivers during the day, amongst other activities. The countryside of Ecuador really is absolutely stunning. The soil, being fed by the Andes, is incredibly fertile to the extent that a sawn post will sprout and grow! Magic fences they are called.

img

Gold Country. Image: Author

Along the way, we demonstrate how the rivers collect gold and where to look. The incentive for the guests is that whatever gold they find, they keep. It is amazing how well people work when incentivised!

One of the difficulties with alluvial gold is that only about 50% of it is visible to the naked eye. It is found, ultimately at the bottom of your pan in what is referred to as black sands.

img

From above you get a better understanding of the erosion and hotspots. Image: Author

These photographs are from a lovely area close to Pacto in the mid-north of the country. On the way to Pacto you pass through a small township called Tulipe where there are ancient Incan ceremonial baths. Each bath in the network has its own purpose.

img

Incan baths in Tulipe. Image: Author

img

Bridge across to the Incan Baths site. Image: Author

img

Yumbo Petroglyphs, Fertility Symbols. Image: Virtual Tourist

img

Panning for gold takes you to some lovely country in Ecuador. Image: Author


Witnesses on steemit are your assurance of confidence in the system.

When you vote for witnesses, think about someone less obvious:

@timcliff is a really good steemmate of mine, a very trustworthy and dependable guy who thinks for himself and for you. He is a seasoned developer who is always looking for better ways of doing things but is not one to gloss over obstacles – he solves them.

So, go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses - you need your authorisation password

I now have my 30 votes operating (see below). I support @timcliff because of my experience, the only way of integrity. It is well worth reading witness reports!

I vote for: abit, bacchist, blocktrades, boatymcboatface, busy.witness, chainsquad.com, charlieshrem, clayop, complexring, dragosroua, fyrst-witness, gtg, jabbasteem, joseph, klye, krnel, kushed, liondani, masteryoda, nextgencrypto, pfunk, picokernel, riverhead, smooth.witness, someguy123, steempty, thecryptodrive, timcliff, wackou, witness.svk

Meantime follow @ebryans And come and Join the Party for Support at Aspriring Whales and Dolphins

Sort:  

Great shots reminds me a bit of the Jungle Cruise at Disney World!

The anacondas are real here!! Thank you my friend.

This looks like a fun adventure!

It is ... but then every day ought to be an adventure! Thank you @theocu!

I think I would really enjoy that!

I think most people would. I need to get a few things shipshape first. I might need a dry run - will let you know!

Awesome pictures!

That is very kind of you! All of that is about 90 minutes from where I sit! I am following your steemit journey as you were so kind. Namaste!

Thank you! I'll be following yours as well!

Very interesting, both the photos and your narrative.

But I'm left a little unsure. Based on some of your comments, I take it that this is a project still in development? How far are you from actually conducting such tours? Would they be an entire day long? Less? Multiple days? These Haciendas, do they already exist? Do you own them, or would you just cooperate with existing establishments?

Yes, I've asked a lot of questions; perhaps enough for a follow-up article? ;) 😄😇😄

@creatr

I was a little economic with detail for obvious reasons - it is a project that I have been working on for a while and I have not bedded anything in. I know the essential basics like the haciendas, many of the rivers, though I would like to spend a lot more time in the field.
Is this of interest to you as a guest, operator, DMC, or or you just interested? I have been here for 5 years and have been on a number of tour trips (horse riding) and some of the hacienda owners have become friends of mine.
I have a lot of experience in managing groups and I like the idea and believe it has legs.
Happy to discuss however you are approaching this. A follow-up article was not in my thinking because of the above!!

Hi, and thanks for interacting...

Briefly and honestly, my interest is just casual, so nothing serious here; it is my nature to be curious about everything. ;)

However, in the dream phase of things, I have (for the last four or five years) thought that I would like to live in Ecuador. I say that it is a dream because the barriers to such a change are immense. The most immediate being a spouse who is not remotely interested, followed by lack of $$$ resources.

If I had the latter, I would make an initial trip to visit, followed by a "vacation" with the wife so that she could literally see the possibilities. If/when "my ship comes in," (which depends on the progress of a certain enterprise of mine), this could happen. But I don't foresee it immediately.

And so, in closing, I wish you good success; it does sound like a grand idea. BTW, I don't understand "DMC" in this context. And I certainly don't mean to pry or to attempt to extract any "privileged" information, but I certainly wish you well! ;) 😄😇😄

@creatr

I am so sorry, I forgot to explain DMC, Destination Management Company. They provide on the ground logistics for tour groups and the like. As someone who cannot abide jargon, I should know better!

Thank you for all your helpful feedback, my friend! :)

I am not sure as to where you are from but I can explain that this is one of the most popular retirement locations for US citizens owing to the cost of living, enabling an earlier retirement or a less financially stressful one; not suggesting that retirement is on your agenda right now!
Like many places, this country has its great points and it certainly has its frustrations. Holiday visas are easy. Longer term visas (6-9 months) are do-able. Longer than that can be done too but there is more involved. A $25k investment and you are done and dusted -in!
So, if you ever want any further info, I have all the lawyers you ever needed - it is Roman Law here so things are different.
THere is a lot to like and some not to - please just ask. If you want any more info, happy to swap email addresses and we can converse that way.
All the very best to you.

Hello again, my friend. I thank you for your very kindly stated offer of assistance. While I would love to retire, and am "appropriately" aged for that, it's not in the cards immediately. However, when I see any remote glimmer of a real possibility of moving in that direction, I will remember your kindness and contact you for further details. :)

Thank you again for offering to help! The $25K investment thing could become a possibility within a couple of years, God willing... we shall see... ;)

You are more than welcome - you must be older than me and I always think I am amongst the oldest here! There are many ways to skin a cat ... should you wish to enquire further I can put you in direct contact with an immigration lawyer. There are hoops to jump through but like most scenarios they are put there to see if you can jump! There are many advice boards around but I think they are load of tosh. Cuenca is the US go-to city - less altitude and less humidity than the coast. Guayaquil is a shocker and even less safe than Quito where I am at 10,000 feet up! I ramble ... all the very best!

Interesting post. I plan on doing some gold panning this summer.

May I ask where? I am following you now as I always like learning from anyone who understands the rule of 72!

In British Columbia. Following you now as well.

I am afraid I am not a geologist - just a manager of businesses. Let me know how you get on! I understand that Canada is one of the exceptions to the equator rule - more importantly there are some very considerable diamond pipes in the mid-north though you need to be a polar bear to withstand the weather! Thank you for sharing with me - replies are our only interaction!! I am trying to change that though - we are plotting away!! It could be quite good if we can slot a few things into place.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.92 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62932.98
ETH 3353.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47