How to Travel the World Without Money!

in #travel7 years ago

When I talk to people they always tell me that they love travelling, but at the same time I always hear excuses about not having time or money. I completely understand those excuses but it has never stopped me before!

This blog will be about how to travel with none or hardly any funds. There ar many ways to travel and use very little money or to make your money while you are at it! In this blog I will name and explain four of the most awesome options.

Eve.jpg

Work Away www.workaway.com
Work away is an option that I discovered on one of my last trips through Rene @world5list. One of his friends runs a big workaway project and he was able to set me up. A hook-up like that is not necessary by any means btw. it’s relatively easy to find a host! The basic concept of workaway is that you work about 15-25 hours a week in return for food and a place to sleep.

I really loved my work away experience because it put me in touch with many locals, as well as other travelers. The possibilities with work away are endless. The concept is in place in almost every country in the world and there are many ways to contribute! You’ll almost always find a host that is looking for someone with your particular skillset! You can use work away to enable you to travel around a country, you can use it to practice a language or use it to learn new skills and meet new people.

I tried the work away concept last summer. I traveled to Las Vegas and ended up working on several projects at a really awesome ranch that was undergoing a massive overhaul. I ended up staying over two weeks, working five hours a day, in return for which I received free food and accommodation.
What a great way to travel with hardly any budget... And just look at that place!

Work away.png
Some well deserved downtime

Working holiday https://www.google.nl/#q=working+holiday+visa+australia+canada

The option that I have used the most during all those years is what is commonly referred to as a working holiday visa. This concept allowed me to live and work in both Australia and Canada for over a year.

Australia
The working holiday visa for Australia permits you to stay in Australia for 12 months from the date that you first enter the country. You may leave and re-enter Australia as many times as you wish during your twelve month stay.

If you are willing to work for three months as a specified worker in a designated area of Australia you are even able to extend your visa with another year. How awesome is that?!

During your stay in Australia you are only allowed to work for the same employer for six months. Another requirement is that you have to be at least 18 years of age and can’t be older than 31.

On this Visa I first worked for G-Star (A Dutch clothing brand) in Perth for six months and landed a job at one of the most beautiful dolphin resorts in the world at Monkey Mia, Western Australia as a bartender.

Monkey Mia.png

The best part about all of this? I ended up leaving Australia with more money than I came with! So if you are an American, Canadian or European resident (the countries that they mostly accept), then what are you waiting for?!

Canada
There is a working holiday visa for Canada as well. Citizens from 35 different countries are able to apply for this visa. Unlike the Australian visa, this visa has a quota; a limited amount of applicants they accept.

For US citizens it’s a requirement to have a job lined up in advance. For the other 34 countries, this is not required and you can start looking for a job once you arrive in Canada. This was a great option for me not only to extend my travels but to fulfill my dream!

When I was younger, I always wanted to go to an NBA game, but my father repeatedly told me that it was too expensive and not worth flying to the US for. Being from the Netherlands it’s almost impossible for me to live and work in the USA, but luckily Canada gave me the option to live and work there for a year! Fulfilling my lifelong dream, I settled down in Toronto working for the same Dutch clothing company that i worked for in Australia and got myself a season ticket for the Toronto Raptors!

Raptors.png

New Zealand
Even though I have never used the working holiday visa that New Zealand offers, it’s out there for everyone who wants to work and live in this beautiful country. The same rules as for the Australian visa apply however, for some nationalities you are eligible to apply for the visa up until you are 35!

I owe a lot to the Working Holiday visa and I think it’s awesome that these countries gave me this change. It’s the best way to travel with no money and it opens up the world to you!

Woofing http://wwoofinternational.org/
If you are more into the organic lifestyle then WWOOF might be something for you. It enables people to live and volunteer on organic properties. Like workaway, the host will provide you with food and accommodations. There are 100 countries to choose from and in today’s day and age where healthy living has been taking more of a prominent role, WWOOF is quickly becoming increasingly popular.

TEFL http://www.teflonline.com/
Okay, I admit this one is not completely free but for around $300 you can participate and get your TEFL certificate; Teaching English as a Foreign Language. The course takes around three months and after you pass the exams you are able to use the certificate to teach all around the world (except for North Korea maybe…). Japan, China, Malaysia and many more countries are waiting for you! Pretty appealing option, no?!

Always remember; coming back is not the same as never leaving.

I hope you liked my first travel blog, please feel free to comment below in order to share stories and learn more about each other. If you have any questions or require additional information about any of these options, be sure to hit me up too!

Sort:  

Thanks for this informative post! I've never thought of working and traveling at the same time. Maybe Steemit can change this for me!

You should go for it! I loved it

Very informative! We need more people like you sharing this on Steem! Will be following you :)

Thanks, will try my best.
We are here to help each other

Very nice and informative post. I'm a budget traveler/ backpacker too. I've been living out of a backpack for over 10 years. I had a successful business Teaching English in Korea. Now I travel the world living on like 500-700 a month, that I earn through investment and little work online. I love how you are sharing your experiences and are realist about the fact that yes, it does take money to do what we do and the complication is a normal job keeps you in one place.

What I don't like on steemit are travel post that are like "travel with me!" wooo hooo. Then they talk abut their trip to Disney Land Paris and how wonderful everything is.

I think you'd really enjoy my posts. I analyze locations, I do "WorldTravel Reports" from a budget traveler perspective. I too am new here, only been about 3 weeks.

My post that blew up is on Ecuador I gave it good reviews, and the one I posted tonight on Panama I reviewed in a quite negatively with reason. I hope you find my info valuable. Here you can see my latest on Panama https://steemit.com/travel/@world-travel-pro/world-travel-report-panama

Up voted and following you. After experimenting on this platform, I've decided I'm only going to reach out to people that are fellow travelers. Kind of build a backpacking community of my own. I go by World Travel Pro on here, but my name is Dan. Looking forward to learning more about your adventures! Have a great evening!

"After experimenting on this platform, I've decided I'm only going to reach out to people that are fellow travelers. "... That's exactly what I wanna do with this platform!

Yes, it's nice to socialize with the like minded. I feel they will have a greater appreciation for my travel reports. Yet on a second thought I do have some great followers that would not consider themselves travelers. They are more intrigued with my lifestyle. Regardless it's all good. Glad that you have found interest in my blog! I certainly like yours!

I've been to Thailand and elsewhere and would be up for writing a piece in similar fashion of your trip reports. No worries either way. Perhaps I'll write it soon and give you a shout out. Anyways, thanks for the good work on your blog!

Somehow I missed you comment. So I just threw a 20 cent up-vote! ha ha.
Yes go ahead and do so. After a week all these post become old news anyhow! lol.

That being said I just posted about a little backpacker hot spot in Nicaragua. I think you'd enjoy.

https://steemit.com/travel/@world-travel-pro/backpacker-hot-spot-report-2-san-juan-del-sur-nicaragua

Have a great day! and thanks for checking it out!

Thanks for your post, i love your story. Very inspiring to hear from people like yourself. Also very impressed by the fact that you are traveling for 10 years already.
Will follow you!

Thank you, you guys are super cool, and I enjoy learning about how you go about things! Keep on Steemen!

It's you local World Travel Pro. I just published another great report on little backpacker hotspot n Nicaragua, I think you'd enjoy it! Thank you!

https://steemit.com/travel/@world-travel-pro/backpacker-hot-spot-report-2-san-juan-del-sur-nicaragua

I have to get my passport first then i go travel for free the world

Go for it! always welcome in Amsterdam

Great post. Thank you for sharing your experience. While I really like when people travel with a purpose, like to build a business, to find customers, to learn the audithory and market segments, etc. I also like your position. If you plan to travel somewhere by SF want to invite you to visit our Coliving Club Network where you can find a comfort to work, to rest and a get in touch with the like-minded.

Thanks for your response! when i am close to SF i will look into that for sure, love steemit and how people connect like this, make sure to visit Amsterdam as well, will be the tourgiude
Take care

Thanks for the great tips! Definitely something to look into. Unfortunately for the Work Holiday Visa there's an age range.
upvoted and resteemed for you!

That's pretty awesome! Never knew something like this existed. Thanks for sharing and good luck!

Great job on your first actual post buddy!!

Thanks for all the help!

Interesting series.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52