Mesa Verde

in #travel7 years ago

Introduction

For me the most magical place on earth is not Disneyland, although I have been there quite often in my lifetime and it was pretty amazing. No, the place I found magical and to strike instant yearning in my heart is a place called Mesa Verde. As mentioned in a previous post I am one quarter Hopi and another one quarter is Apache. The Apache lineage can be traced back to The Ancients.

You maybe have heard The Ancients called the Anasazi by archeologists, and another common name is the Ancestral Puebloan. To my people we are called The Ancients.

The Ancients: A Short History

The Ancients lived in small houses, larger structures that held house clans, large pueblos, and cliff dwellings. May believe that The Ancients had a large network that stretched across Colorado linking hundreds of communities. There are ties to a celestial science found in the architecture and Kivas that held sacred space. The Kiva is circular in shape, ranges in size, is used for ceremonial purposes, is the center of the community gatherings and worship.

Archaeologists debate when The Ancients came to the area known as the Four Corners. Currently, archeologists agree The Ancients can be traced back to the 12 century B.C., an Early Basket Maker II Era classification using the Pecos Classification.

Architecture

Many of the structures still in place consist of structures made from stone, adobe mud, and other local material, or were carved into the sides of canyon walls. Once upon a time, the towns and cities had many stories and outer buildings surrounding plazas. The population consisted of hundreds to thousands and these population hosted cultural and civic events and infrastructure that supported regions hundreds of miles away linked by roadways.

The Ancient's towns and villages were built in defensive positions, for example, on high, steep mesas such as at Mesa Verde. The road system was a religious one, providing pathways for periodic pilgrimages and gatherings for seasonal ceremonies. There is evidence of astronomical observations, solstice markings, and agricultural cycles.

The Ancients believe the North Road leads to the place of origination and a place where the spirits of the dead travel. This road represents the connection to the sipapu, the place of emergence of the ancestors or a dimensional doorway. During their journey from the sipapu to the world of the living, the spirits stop along the road and eat the food left for them by the living.

Many ceremonial structures are built along a north/south axis alignment. They serve as central places for ceremonial journeys. Isolated structures located on the roadsides, as well as on top of the canyon cliffs and ridge crests, have been interpreted as shrines related to these activities.

Long, linear grooves are cut into the bedrock along specific roads, but do not seem to point in any specific direction. These grooves are a part of pilgrimage paths followed during ritual ceremonies.

Visiting My Ancestral Home

After I came to a realization to my path, I was told by my father that I needed to go home to visit my ancestral lands. I had been waiting over five years before I was able to go to Mesa Verde. The experience was a homecoming. When a high sensitive does what is needed there are many rewards. For one, a feeling of completeness overcomes the soul. Tears of joy and a feeling of exaltation vibrate through the body. The birds are singing and animals that are not a typical siting appear out of nowhere.

On the day I visited my ancestral home I saw the land as it used to be. Water was flowing everywhere and the lands were covered in greenery as far as the eye could see. I spotted every sacred site visible by the eye. I felt like I could run for days and never get tired. The experience was one I will never forget. There are hundreds of miles to visit and I more than likely will never walk those miles in this human body but that is okay. I will visit other sacred places around the area and that will be enough in this life.

Conclusion

If you are in search of your ancestral lands and you feel a deep inner calling to make a visit, I urge you to take the time to go. You will never regret your choice to listen to your 'soul yearning' for its home. Peace.


Camera: iPhone 6+
Photographer: @eaglespirit
Location: Mesa Verde, Colorado, USA
Date: May 31, 2017


Sort:  

Thanks for the tour of this amazing place so beautiful

tip!

I’m so happy to share and tysm For Tip! Hugs

Your welcome :)

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

What a wonderful heartfelt description of a fascinating part of the world. I have quite a complex genetic makeup – maybe that's why I love to travel and am fascinated with history.

thank you so much for your loving comment. I’m encouraged to share more with comments such as yours. Yes, please share your complexities! 😁❤️

Mesa Verde is one of my favorite places I've ever been to! Absolutely love it!

Me too!! I’m
Off to Chaco and other areas that are untouched. Although very beautiful the land was very well traveled due to tourism and we saw many points of man made and natural destruction. ☹️

Wow, beautiful images ! I did not know that the puebloans was a mistake in telling history.

Hi there! I will say that the word “mistake” was never mentioned in my blog because archeologists and others that listen to them would argue that. First Nation on the other hand tell a different story. I tend to follow my people other than those that were not here as long. It’s a personal choice. However, I would not judge anyone who prefers to use the term Pueblan. Thank you so much for your comment and bringing up an excellent point. I also thank you for your appreciation for my photos. Yay! 😁

Its good! More knowledge comes from more perspectives... thank YOU for educating me!

I’m
Happy to share, and thank you for being open. Big hugs.

Very good post and I can see why this place is so deep in your heart, visiting your roots is for sure overwhelming and immense experience.

@dejan.vuckovic thank you so much for your empathy! I hope you too have felt a kinship to a place on earth, it is truly a gift. I appreciate your comment. Happy holidays!

Mesa Verde is super cool! I got to go there once when I was young. I didn't know all that information about the Ancients. Thats really interesting, thanks for sharing!

@derekrichardson thank you for your appreciation and I hope you had a great time at Mesa verde! I appreciate your comment And thoughts. Happy holidays. 🎄

Haven't been there yet but it's on the list :)

Do it! And don't forget to get your tix before you get to the huge circle that never ends. LOL
If you go in summer there may be some traffic. I'd recommend springtime. (:
I'll be going down to Chaco next and around Utah. Also, Ute Mountain where the land is pure. Vases and remnants are kept as they were left. Woop!

Zion was as far as I got while battling the flu in the winter. Hiked the Narrows and that did me in. Had that not been the case Bryce and Mesa Verde would have been crossed off :)

Zion is not bad! Sorry for the flu, I had a bad bout after a flu shot 2 years ago and never again. If you come back this way I would suggest ute mountain reservation. 🙏🏽

The @OriginalWorks bot has upvoted and checked this post!
Some similarity seems to be present here:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anasazi
This is an early BETA version. If you cited this source, then ignore this message! Reply if you feel this is an error.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57679.84
ETH 2442.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34