Hiking Caribou Hill

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

One of the most common sights to see in Colorado are its old mining towns. If you have never been to an old abandoned mining town it is definitely an eye opener into American history. In some towns, you can actually see or feel the vibe of what happened in the town. You may even feel the deep sense of loss for the time or energy they had put into while making the trek across the country to discover gold. Nevertheless, many of the areas I have seen are quite spectacular and that overshadows these feelings of loss. One of these old mining towns I hiked up to is now on USDA land, and can be seen while hiking on the Caribou Trail. Let us take a look at some of the history of the area.


Caribou History

unnamed.jpg

Caribou is an old silver mining town and is now considered a ghost town. It is quite an eerie experience. The town was founded in 1870 by an old time prospector who had discovered gold downstream. By 1875, the town had a population of 3,000 people. The town was home to a church, three saloons, a brewery, and a newspaper company. The silver mine was bought and sold a couple of times. In 1879, a fire burned the town down and by the 1920’s the population was approximately 50 people. Eventually, the town was inhabited and the USDA took over and created the trail we see today.

Caribou Trail

The trail is approximately 4 miles one way and has moderate traffic. The trail is close to Nederland, Colorado and is said to have been the main meeting place in the area before it burned down. There are still some old stone ruins from an era of a time gone by. While hiking the trail you can see beautiful wildflowers and birds. The trail is best accessed from March through October. You might see some horses, but if not still keep an eye out for the horse poop!

Once you reach the top, near Caribou Hill the view is magnificent at 500 feet above the old ghost town. You can see the mountaintops of Indian Peaks, Arapaho Peaks, Mt. Neva, and Mt. Jasper.

There are lovely Aspen trees and most of all the Continental Divide. Off in the distance a slight view of Mt. Evans and Mt. Bierstadt with a full view of Nederland, Baker Reservoir, and El Dorado Canyon.

If you are ever in this neck of the woods, make sure you come up to this lovely spot. You will not be disappointed. Peace.


All photos are property of @eaglespirit, do not use without Permission.
Map generated using Google Maps.
Graph generated by GPS Visualizer.

DQmNuF3L71zzxAyJB7Lk37yBqjBRo2uafTAudFDLzsoRV5L.gif

Sort:  

Your post has been personally reviewed and was considered to be a well written article about history!
You received a 10.0% upvote since you are not yet a member of geopolis.
To read more about us and what we do, click here.
https://steemit.com/geopolis/@geopolis/geopolis-the-community-for-global-sciences-update-2-higher-base-votes-new-logo
If you do not want us to upvote and comment on your posts concerning earth and earth sciences, please reply stop to this comment and we will no longer bother you with our love ❤️

Yay, Thank you so much. I have not heard of your group and will most definitely join. I write a lot about history so this is a fit for me. xx

Beautiful! I have never been to this spot, but love the eerie feeling of the ghost mining town mixed with the natural beauty of the area. I like wondering about what happened to old abandoned mining towns/cabins, so it was cool reading about the history! Definitely on my map for epic places to go. Thanks for sharing :)

@falseyedols interesting! yeah its a great spot, and the eerie feeling is definitely here! the natural beauty is amazing, and ya gotta wonder about the abandonment thing because its nicer than Ned. Sure thing for sharing, anytime! :)

nice post

Thank you Sir!


  • English

Helloo @eaglespirit
Me, @menulissejarah (writing history)
I see articles and photos on your post, have a historical and cultural value of an area. This post is certainly very interesting to add insight in the field of history.
If you do not mind, I will resteem this post in my account. Thanks.
Date: January, 24, 2018


  • Indonesia

Helloo @eaglespirit
Saya, @menulissejarah #menulissejarah
Saya melihat artikel dan foto pada postingan milikmu, memiliki nilai sejarah dan budaya suatu daerah. Postingan ini tentunya sangat menarik untuk menambah wawasan di bidang ilmu sejarah.
Jika kamu tidak keberatan, saya akan resteem postingan ini di akun saya. Terima kasih.
Tanggal: 24 Januari 2018

Thank you so very much for your beautiful comment, believe it or not I love that you also said it in Indonesian. I am happy that you read my post and appreciate my photos. Also, that you found this post to have historical and cultural meaning. I greatly appreciate your resteem.

Article posting history of a gold mining relics is so meaningful. Moreover, you say in your writing if the city was inhabited by up to 3,000 people in its time before it became a haunted old town. As a reader of history, the article about your trip to Caribou Hill is truly amazing. At least I got knowledge about your history. Thank you @eaglespirit.

Regarding the use of the Indonesian language that I also wrote in previous comments for the world community to know the language of my country.

Hi @menulissejarah, yes the area is quite interesting and beautiful and creepy all at the same time. LOL
I am happy you were able to learn of a new place and thank you so much for reading and commenting.
I love that you make the post in two languages, it is so nice!

Yeah, thank you very much. Thanks also for the article, hopefully you are not bored to write or post articles about history. @eaglespirit

hi @menulissejarah ... why would I be bored? I love to write about this stuff, I definitely would not write them if I did not love them. :)

Very cool! This is now on my list for hikes in Nederland, can't wait to venture around there :)

Excellent @colinhoward, let me know what you think about it! It is a sweet spot for sure. :)

The view is just mesmerizing Cass! Mines I've never tried visiting on one though. I love the landscapes the most. Looking forward on more travel posts from yah.

@dawnsheree thank you for stopping by, and for the appreciation. You would like it I think, but then most travelers like anywhere! Right? :)

I love anywhere! ^^

I figured as much.

Enchanting! I really love how you lay out your post. I use my Iphone which sucks! Maybe soon ill make enough steem to get a decent computer.

@jonyoudyer thank you so very much, your words are very kind. I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment. I use my iphone too and yes it does suck. Yes steem and computer would be great! :)

Just keep steeming and I’ll always try to pop my head in.

Of course! You are welcome anytime. :)

I just hit 420 followers and doing a giveaway check out my page if you want to join the fun ! Lol

Whaaa yay! I'm always open for some fun and games. Woop. :)

This post has received a 10.25% upvote from thanks to: @eaglespirit.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.


The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45