Market Friday: Street Eats and Architecture in Cartegena

in #travel4 years ago (edited)


Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) I hope you will join me as we share different markets across the globe. Different and varied as the countries themselves, I always look forward to seeing what you send me. Come. Sit down. Relax. Enjoy the shortest trip around the world you ever experienced, taking in a market from somewhere different than what you have. And always remember #MarketFriday loves you!


0P2A3679 Columbia.JPG


In February and part of March, I visited the city of Cartegna in Columbia, South America. Cartagena has some of the most interesting buildings as you walk through the city. The architectural heritage includes Spanish colonial architecture, with the Walls of Cartegena being the largest group of Fortresses built by the Spanish Empire. The walled center is from the 16th-century and became a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1984.

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png

I realize that #MarketFriday is a challenge at this time. Many people are using memories, from days gone by or perhaps markets that they haven't posted. In these trying times, I am happy to see people still partaking in #MarketFriday. Use what photos you have. If you get to go shopping, we would love to see! Don't forget to take photos - whether it be the grocery, art galleries, or even the pharmacy, wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Don't forget to use the hashtag #MarketFriday and @dswigle.


0P2A3796 Columbia.JPG


Admittedly, they had some of the most incredible fruits I have ever seen offered up on the street. Copious amounts everywhere you looked. And the cups they were in were huge. Enough to feed a family of four. I must say that the strawberries, watermelon, and pineapple were simply delicious.

4od4FA9FGiMvFQSyyWGJrhZechDX2Kjzd5PYt6PT1jztCFzHuhksXCTm42yMbrJnSRZ2mpQqXGP1BeTgJkuR4F2mNoz82XbuH2W872Bnoc8JKkFSPEBRUmkCybsfPbSunrz7Pu7gu5xMAChyZDrYXE3x22NZSzEFxy4ENTr7B3X6DR4Ne92F5EnYPLJa1fig2zpW7GdX8uwdd83Aj7yuj.png

Please leave the link to your post on here so it can easily be found by others. They are easier to find in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much!! ❤


IMG_6599 columbia.JPG


This section is called Old Town where its history began in the 16th century. It is a walled part of the city and the gates close it up at night, leaving behind squares where commerce is sold, cobblestone streets and many delightfully colored colonial buildings.

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png

The walls were constructed in many different stages, beginning in 1586, This was to protect the city from the continuous pirate attacks. If you look inside where the girl is sitting above, you can see the different materials used to build it.


0P2A3986 columbia 2.JPG


It is interesting to see what remains of the walled city next to the ultramodern skyscrapers. It has been made popular because of its castles, history and its colorful culture. It was reputed to have amazing treasures, probably one of the reasons it was invaded all the time.


0P2A3900 Columbia.JPG


An emerald cutter. Colombia is well known for its emeralds in the rough being of the highest quality, having an intense green color that is pure.A few years back, I bought an emerald in Columbia and I have to say that they truly are of superior quality.


0P2A3821.JPG


I will be the first to admit that Cartegena is one of the first places I have been that the vendors are in your face every moment. I don't remember it ever being that bad and truly, it was only in Old Town. It was so bad, it actually made it hard to sightsee. I realize they need to make a living, but, I also needed to be able to see some of the beauty and I didn't want to be that ugly American asking them to get out of my face. No thank you didn't work. Not even in Spanish.


0P2A3899 Columbia.JPG


There were all sorts of stands wherever you went. You never had to worry about doing without. If you didn't like what you saw, walk ten more feet and you would find another. Not to be worried about it.


IMG_6529 columbia.JPG


Up and down the streets, Spanish Colonial buildings. You recognize them by their carved-wood balconies with brightly colored bougainvilleas tumbling off them. None of my pictures do them justice.


0P2A3892columbia.JPG



Ruffled dresses in the colors of the Colombian flag, their heads wrapped in brightly colored turbans, stroll through the square selling fresh fruit from the baskets on top of their heads.


0P2A3732 columbia.JPG


The fortress look out over the water.


0P2A3750.JPG


Don't ask me why I thought this was hilarious, but, it made me laugh out loud. A plumbing Store. Sort of like Home Depot on the go.


0P2A3663 Columbia.JPG


And, as always, there must be a flower. #alwaysaflower to color my world. And just like that, my post is over! Come back next week and we will do it again! Stay safe and please remember to use proper social distancing. Just remember #MarketFriday loves you!


891721_10151601481908832_632401837_o.jpg


Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge!

Here is how: How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, Clothing, Plant or Animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo or an art auction. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for a service. I once went to a nail salon.
Take pictures! Be creative (or not)
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture(s)
Don’t forget to hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle
Drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them
It is always interesting to see the different markets around the globe! C’mon! Show me your market shots! I eagerly await them!


I dedicate this post to all of you.💖 You bring joy to my soul and spread your love across the world. For this, I thank you. And just like that, this post is over..and just so you know, although we are throwing our love around the globe, I can guarantee you that there is still a little left to take us through the bad times until they can become good once again. Have a most fabulous day!

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPZLrtq4kEp1CHJrsGS6KNDyJPknBhtRth1ZZ9Qxocd1PR2m6jq15bNNdoWpHWHEzTu3caHoeWJ 3.png



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram



they set my aunts house on fire
i cried the way women on tv do
folding at the middle
like a five pound note.
i called the boy who use to love me
tried to ‘okay’ my voice
i said hello
he said warsan, what’s wrong, what’s happened?

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered,
"where does it hurt?"

it answered,
"everywhere"
"everywhere"
"everywhere"

warsan shire


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmp84wGSncUqQ4Qc5kgaoxTJpi8ETsaV4e6Qs8hVUTZRcWv4Yn8Kz6TQvoVC7k.jpg


Sort:  

We're maintaining quarantine more than 20 days, today i kept the mobile with me as i go to market for grocery shopping and most importantly forget to capture the photo, okay, i will post with some old photos later.

How awesome! It has been a little difficult to get pictures lately. I hope you stay safe at the grocery store!

Please maintain proper social distancing while out.

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @sheikh27! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday: Street Eats And Architecture In Cartegena Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you so much, Sam! I hope this weekend is a nice one for you! Thank you for dropping the link! Stay safe!!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @mcsamm! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you for dropping your link, Ace! @ace108

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

You're welcome

🎁 Hi @ace108! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

What a beautiful city and people.
Thank you for the photos, dear Denise.
Now it's probably not too soon before we can go somewhere.
But let's not talk about the bad :- )

This is my new post for #marketfriday

Oh, yes! Way too soon to go anywhere! I know that I am sad about that. Thank you so much! I did love the city and I hope to go back again, although I will wait for a while after it gets good again. I feel like everywhere will open up before its time!

These earrings in the picture are stunning! How different! I have never seen anything like this before! Thank you, once again, for dropping the link and for always being a part of the challenge!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @singa! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Nice photography of Architecture in Cartegena and their lifestyle. Here is my entry : https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@kamrunnahar/market-friday-meet-n-treet-restaurant-with-babyland-facilities
IMG_20170216_192043.jpg

Thank you so much for being part of the challenge and for dropping your link here. It is much appreciated! Please stay safe during this time.

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @kamrunnahar! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

It's so nice to be able to travel around and have fun.
Stay safe!

It's so nice to be
Able to travel around
And have fun. Stay safe!

                 - gungho


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thank you! This was from almost two months ago! I don't travel anywhere right now! Thank you for stopping by and be safe!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @gungho! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday: Street Eats And Architecture In Cartegena Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

We hope to see the streets bustling like this again real soon....Take care my friend and stay safe :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25