Signal Hill Hike. Newfoundland, Canada

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

HISTORY OF SIGNAL HILL

Signal Hill was the site of St. John’s harbour defences beginning in the 17th century.
The final battle of the Seven Years' War was at Signal Hill. This is when Great Britain gained the Eurpoean power in North America.

Signal Hill is also where the first transatlantic wireless transmission was received.

HIKING

This historic site is now a popular place to hike in Newfoundland. You can see the beautiful harbour and overlook the city of St.John's. Cabot Tower is located at the top of the hill where there is now information on all of the Signal Hill history. Furthermore, there are exhibits at certain spots along the hiking trail that gives an overview of the history.

These are a few picture I took on my phone from this hike. When you are at the top you can see my Nursing school and my place of work downtown!!

FOLLOW | UPVOTE | RESTEEM for more!!

IMG_0211.jpg

IMG_0201.jpg

IMG_1317.JPG

IMG_2149.JPG

IMG_2148.JPG

Sort:  

Enjoy the vote and reward!

Very beautiful!

Thanks!
Follow, upvote and resteem for more pictures :)

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

I loved going here last year!

It never gets old!
Were you visiting here??

Awesome! Good for you! I'll check it out :)

Yes! I am a musician (singer-songwriter-- I have a bunch of videos up here :), so we were on a tour across Canada. We literally drove all the way from Saskatoon to St. John's except for the ferry crossing.

Nice. Considering I'm in New England I should really get up there some time and do tons of hiking.

Definitely! If you ever have questions about Newfoundland send me a message!
Follow, upvote and resteem for more pictures :)

Beautiful, I gotta visit NFLD one day! NIce to connect, I'm an artist from Montreal. Found this post with the "Canada" tag :)

You definitely should! If you ever have any questions about Newfoundland send me a message!
I would love to see some pictures of Montreal.
Follow, upvote and resteem for more :)

I am falling in Love with Newfoundland. Awesome views !

I hope one day you get to see it :)

Thanks, and I will definitely plan may be this summer

That would be awesome! Let me know if you do and I can definitely give you a tour :)

Thats an offer I cannot resist , Thank you.Will let you know :) . By the way I am running a new contest this week see if you are interested. Check here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35