2017's Top 30 Adventurers Under 30

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Today I have received the honour of being included in OpenWorld Magazine's Top 30 Adventurers Under 30 for 2017.

The list is a truly amazing and diverse selection of adventurers, from fashion bloggers to wilderness warriors, online businesspeople to refugee camp volunteers.

The two biggest standouts in the article, to me, are Jade Hameister, who has already trekked to Everest base camp and skied to the North Pole at the tender age of 16, and Brando Yelavich, who spent 2 years circumnavigating New Zealand's coastline on foot!

I am truly humbled to be included in this list.

It's also fantastic to see countries like Pakistan, Iraq, Afghanistan, Libya and South Sudan mentioned multiple times. Unglamorous travel destinations for many, countries like these are a backpacker's dream, and it's fantastic to know that we can play our part in spreading a positive message about these places and change a few people's perceptions. I'm so excited to blog about Pakistan, Iran and Iraq on Steemit in the coming months.


Click on image to visit article.

Open World


Who is your favourite adventurer in the article?

Comment below!


If this post is more than a week old and you would like to reward me, please find and upvote my most recent post!


Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

I am new to Steemit and I have so many stories to tell about life on the road. If you enjoy my writing, please consider rewarding me for my content. An engaged audience makes for a motivated writer!
Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has checked the text of this post and it appears original!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy. Please note, it only checks the text component!

Hey, congratulations!!! That's awesome. I just read part of the article, and it is definitely an amazing bunch of young people. But I would say that your adventure certainly qualifies you to be part of it.

Good job! And I hope it brings you a few more followers to Steemit!

Thanks! And hopefully!

Honestly I feel like a small fry compared to some of the other amazing travellers there, but it's definitely nice to be included in something like this.

so now i know a celebrity? :p where is my autograph :P
hahaha the image of the last Jedi or that of a monk was the best thing!

also i really like the part than in the article you mentioned about steemit as a way of income!

Hahaha, I'll send it to you on a postcard.

Funny that you say I look like a monk; that photo was taken at the ruins of a Buddhist monastery in Pakistan.

Hopefully this article gets a few more people to join Steemit, and if I'm lucky, I might even get a new follower or two from it!

haha don't worry about the followers you will get more and more each day!

if you were with that outfit in front of the ruins of the Buddhist monastery the photo would have been epic

I'm gaining followers at a pretty steady rate - 162 in my first month - however there are still a lot of posts where you and @shawndove are the only ones that comment.

yes that's how it is, i have 800+ and most of the times my upvotes are between 20-100 and you can image then comments i get too :P I can understand that some people don't have the time to comment or even read most of our posts but the majority of our followers are, bots,dead accounts and just people who follow everyone expecting the same :P

My tactic is to check my feed, read the whole post or most of it upvote it and try to build relationships with the people i follow

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

You got a 28.94% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @donnymurph!

Hi @donnymuroh.. I loved this and of course you are my favourite. What a cool guy (nice picture of you btw in the article too). I am so impressed that you are fully self-funded by Steemit and your blog. So awesome. My boyfriend and I are actually going to be living the vanlife, so looking at ways of making money while we are on the go. I also admire your efforts to raise money for others less fortunate - it is so important to have a collective conscience. Thanks <3

Hi Roberta, sorry for the slow reply! I've been very busy with my course so I haven't been active on Steemit this week.

I wouldn't say I'm self-funded by Steemit at the moment, but it's definitely made a reasonable contribution so far, and it's a great long term project that will hopefully fully fund my lifestyle in the future.

How are you enjoying the platform so far?

Hi Donny,

No worries. That is great. I am enjoying how this can be of help to people on Steemit.
I am really loving it so far. Just learning the ins and outs and how things work. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44